We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“below average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Don Juan Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Don Juan Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Abraham Nunez St, P.O. Box 1348 | Boca Chica Beach, Boca Chica, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Boca Chica
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The food is absolutely terrible ........... short on glasses, spoons ... low quality typical dominican food ... the place is dirty ....... do not stay here ............... Very few towels in the bathrooms ... no water or anything in the small refrigerators ... cannot lock the patio doors ... a/c broke twice while we stayed there ... ceiling fan was broken .......

Room Tip: go somewhere else ! do not stay in Boca Chica !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    116
    100
    59
    40
See reviews for
66
100
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Don Juan is an older complex of buildings. It's right between the city streets and the beach. The airport transfer bus drops you off on the street. The first impression of the resort is scary. The entrance is very poor looking. There is no feeling that you are walking into a quality or luxury resort when you arrive....you feel more like you're about to get mugged. The place improves once you get off the street and out of the reception area to where the gust building are located. Most are four story buildings. There are no elevators in the resort so be warned about the amount of luggage you take and your physical abilities.

The buffet food is not good but it's about what you can expect from a resort of this quality. They have a small pizza oven snack bar by the pool that probably has the best food (pizza) in the place. Quite good actually.

The "captain's" rooms generally face the ocean/beach. My room was nice enough but keep in mind that the resort does NOT replenish any beverages in the room and they do NOT provide bottled water. You must get your own water from a dispenser located on each floor. Obviously do not drink the tap water.

The beach is not private. guests are constantly bothered by the locals to purchase their goods. CONSTANTLY. Every 5 to 10 minutes is not an exaggeration. if you wish to lounge on the beach you WILL be pestered constantly...probably to the point of giving up and moving to the pool area. The beach is not spectacular anyhow. It's the weekend local hotspot though so it gets very crowded with locals on the weekend is totally TRASHED by them. They send in local cleaners to pick up the garbage from the beach when the weekend is over. It seems to be the local culture to just drop your garbage wherever you happen to be.

My biggest surprise was to learn that the Don Juan has a reputation as a sex tourism resort for pedophiles. There are young pre-girls constantly around the resort looking to service clients. You will often see old, single men hooking up with these 13 - 15 year old girls on the resort, by the pool and on the beach. Local authorities do nothing about it. If you see it happening though, report it nonetheless. Be vocal about it. Take photos and videos of it for the authorities. I would not bring my children anywhere near this place.

If you are a scuba diver, there is a great shop called Treasure Divers nearby and some really nice dive sites including wreck and deeps dive. There are also some awesome freshwater cave sites with spectacular haloclines to experience.

There are not too many resort options in this area and all likely have the same issues. The prices seems surprisingly higher than other Dominican resorts in Punta Cana that are on some of the best beaches in the world. Go figure.

If you fly into Santo Domingo airport, the drive to the hotel is quick. Most flights land in Punta Cana though which can be a 4 hour drive to the resort from the airport…making for a very long day.

Room Tip: The captain's club rooms face the ocean and beach. You can stand on your balcony and watch all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My travel agent a native of DR suggest that we visit Don Juan in August 2010 & that we would love it. He was exactly right. D resort was smaller than d previous resort we stayed @ b4. Had 1 pool & a smaller pool close by d disco. No swim up bar but did have a small food area where u could have pina colada, pizza & on d beach area u could walk over a small pier & have hot dog or s drink. Water rides u had 2 pay 4. Snorkeling& a few more activities .loved d nightly entertainment. At d disco d staff will show us hoe to dance, just haf a wonderful time. What d resort didn't have in appearance d staff made up 4 it by being really nice to us. Poolside staff employees like Raphael, Ray, Marleni were great with the guests, especially Raphael. He's one of best persons I have meet, he's caring,loving &kindhearted, he makes that resort what it is, d owners should give him a big fat pat on his shoulder along with a big fat salary increase. This resort is #2 on my list of resorts in Dominican Republic.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I love Republic Dominica... Been all over the island and had an Outstanding time at the Don Juan, Boca Chica!!! The staff were wonderfully pleasent and willing to help, My suite was Nicely cleaned and straighten'd Up everyday. A variety of delicious foods and fruits to eat everyday plus Entertainment provided by the staff and guests!!!
My only complaint is reading these DUMB reviews by close minded people.. If you want Top Notch service then go to a Top Notch Hotel... Nothing Perfect. You're in there country, so do as the Romans do!!!

I'll be back Don Juan!!!

Room Tip: Every room is a Good room.. You're on Vacation!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We spent a short time in Boca Chica, and we decided to play it up a bit from our usual budget-concious residence policy. We were given a regular twin room. It was very clean and very, very comfortable. It is on the quiet edge of the beach so we were'nt harrassed so much by hawkers, unles we walk deeper into town.

The dinner was fine, but I thought I should be getting more variety basing from how much we paid. Not much meat in the buffet. well, there was only chicken as the meat choice.

We had it all-inclusive, so we had their delicious ice-cold barely alcoholic drink, that seemed to be more of a sherbet. But it is great. There's free pizza, and hotdogs all u can for midnight snack. They also have a show which is actually very good and entertaining!

The beach is beautiful, and that is where our focus was.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

While we had an overall good vacation, I was very upset to wake up with bites on my legs the first morning. When I got home I found out they were from bed bugs. The staff's personalities varied hugely. Some staff were exceptionally fun and friendly however others were very pushy about trying to get my friend and myself to leave the resort area with them or to kiss them which was very disturbing. There are tons of people on the beach who persistently try to sell you every and anything but the water is honestly just perfect. While DR is a beautiful place to visit, I would not stay at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: All of the captain's suites overlook the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I've been to the DR 15-18 times and all over the island. We stayed here for a week mid-April after Easter. I would say it is not for the fancy traveler and that, while it lacks some things, it has everything and more to have a relaxing, fun filled stay. Comfortable, safe and clean...I had no major complaints and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Our check-in started badly as there was nobody to help us with baggage but that wasn't a big deal for me, it just wasn't normal because it also implied there was no security at the front gate. However, it turns out that the place is very calm and seems extremely safe and they don't really need a gate keeper like most places have. Any who....the check-in after that was fast and efficient and someone helped me with the bags to the room.

The room had some dated furniture and the bathroom was stark compared to some of the fancy resorts but the room was large, very clean and comfortable. Better yet, was that it look right out on the beach was very nice. The water is a calm, tidal pool and I have stayed at the far end of it before and never thought much of it, but down at this end it is very nice and there is a little island you can boat to. We had a fridge and the standard in the DR now seems to be extremely cheap about what they put in it but we were never far from a restaurant or bar so it didn't matter. This room is part of Captain's Club which I would recommend from what I have read.

Pools are small but well kept with both sun and shade and lot of chairs. Very close to the bar although there's no pool bar, it also close to the restaurant and very close to the beach so you can go back and forth. They play music at the pool and there is some activities in the late afternoon but mostly it is very relaxing and don't look for action. The beach is nice with trees for shade if need be and very nice water to wade out to, as well as boats and things that can be rented. The hawkers are annoying or kind of good people watching depending on your general mood of the day or outlook on life but there is a lot of them. They did offer decent deals and it wasn't all crap so I didn't mind. There is a bar in the marina that was very relaxing..."sitting by the dock of the bay"....like....lazy, drinkin' in the mid-day. There was a activities by animacion on the beach, lots of chairs, massage by outside people if you wanted one.

Restaurants were decent but not great. I never went hungry and a couple of very enjoyable dinners. I would say the house wine was horrible which was not a shocker in the DR but its cheap to buy wine. The staff were very accommodating, we met some nice people to dine with and the dinners were quaint and enjoyable. There are only two restaurants here and some nights you have only one to choose from which I thought was a drag when I arrived but it's nice because everyone was together and you could get to know people. As well the show was on the terrace in front of the restaurant so it was well attended. Mostly it was nice not to have to book or worry about a reservation and such, we just showed up - which I'm told was party because we had "Captain's Club". Breakfast got boring and lacked variety but there was always fresh coffee and food. Could use more types of juice in my opinion and more fruit given the DR produces so much of it. Lunch was always the same but very edible. Best part was the pizza bar in the afternoon. If I had one too many rum's it was nice to go for some pizza around 3 or 4 pm.

Bars were decent but not fantastic. The staff were nice and responsive but selection was limited and often didn't have the type of rum I wanted or the mix, or a lime, etc etc. Still no major complaints there as the staff made up for lack of choice. Ohhhhh no Presidente....malo! but you can buy them right next door.

Night life was good here. The shows weren't great but they were campy and fun and lots of guests participated and danced which made it more fun. The animation crew was fantastic! Personable, funny and remembered your name and such. The disco which is not well attended in the DR at most resorts was full some nights and lots of people danced.

The best part of the resort (after the staff) is the location. I have been to Boca Chica several times and always found it tacky and blah, but i never took the time to go to the far end of the beach and the town. It is quiet and tranquil during the day, the beach has lots of bars and things to do and it was quite pretty at the far end. The people, including the vendors where very nice. We spent a few hours walking in the town site and people watching in the town square. Better yet it is very close to Santo Domingo which is a great city to check out shopping and historical sites.

All-in-all I was booked this because it was cheap. While I was prepared to be disappointed Don Juan it was a pleasant surprise. We met people from all over the world, the staff treated us like family and it was extremely relaxing and yet fun. In the end it was great value and I wouldn't hesitate or recommend it to someone looking for a value orientated (3.5 star) vacation. No it is not five star, and you get what you paid for, but I feel like a got a great deal and even somewhat guilty at just over $100 per night for two people all-inclusive is very affordable. Take care, and enjoy!!

Room Tip: Captain's Club is like VIP service here, the rooms over look that beach and have a great balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Don Juan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Juan Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Don Juan Beach Hotel Boca Chica
Don Juan Beach Hotel
Hotel Don Juan Beach
Don Juan Hotel Santo Domingo
Don Juan Resort Dominican Republic
Don Juan Beach
Don Juan Beach Resort Dominican Republic/Boca Chica
Address: Abraham Nunez St, P.O. Box 1348 | Boca Chica Beach, Boca Chica, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Boca Chica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Boca Chica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Juan Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Don Juan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Juan Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.