We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous setting but.........” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Horwood House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Horwood House to your Saves list
Horwood House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mursley Rd, Little Horwood MK17 0PH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Horwood
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous setting but.........”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Beautiful location spoiled by cramped room, a toilet that didn`t flush and staff with a very poor attitude to their guests. Needed a map to find the room. Breakfast was acceptable, but this was the only redeeming feature.

Room Tip: Book the local Travel Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEast, General Manager at Horwood House, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your stay, I am disappointed of course that we did not meet your expectations. I would very much value the opportunity to understand the issues you experienced with my team, as this feedback is very much not the norm and I need to address any feedback you can shared with me

Thank you in advance, please do contact me at the Hotel

Lucy Talbot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    141
    157
    105
    75
See reviews for
87
216
10
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Storrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here recently (November 2011) with friends (another couple) for 2 nights. Although both rooms were booked at the same time we were in room 220 our friends in 111. The problem being that this is a hotel for functions - 2 weddings and a graduation party on the Saturday we were there. Check, check and check again that the room you are allocated is NOTamongst the rooms for one of these functions. Why - because the (room) singage is awful. As a result, we went to bed at midnight and for the next 3 hours at 10 minute intervals had "happy" people passing and shouting out "Any idea where our room is"? The rooms are small but adequate. In compensation all staff were excellent - the best we have experience for many a year. The dining menu looked boring but in reality was sufficent in choice and the food excellent.
I had complained about our first night but the complaint had not been communicated to management. However on checking out the first night cost was eliminated. So I summerise/repeat - Excellent service, good food, plenty of facilities, lovely setting. Just double check your room allocation and you will be fine.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Everything about our stay was brilliant; the swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, the hotel staff, the grounds, the bedroom, bathroom, the dinner and the breakfast. Drinks were a bit pricey but we had a ball!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEast, General Manager at Horwood House, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to feedback, especially when it is all so positive, I will share your feedback with the team who will be delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Lucy Talbot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Last night, I lay awake in Horwood House, planning the scathing review I was going to post on Tripadviser. We were overnighting on a trip to Bletchley Park and arrived in the middle of a wedding. No problem there, except that later most of the younger guests seemed to be in our block of rooms and showed no thought for anyone else who might be staying there, and wanting to get some sleep. Doors banged, people screamed and shouted, and the chaos went on until gone 3 o'clock in the morning. I continued to lie awake, waiting for the next episode to start, and consequently got up early in the morning exhausted and stressed. So much for the relaxing atmosphere as advertised on the hotel's website.
However, when my partner complained to reception, the staff were most understanding and accommodating, and we received good compensation for the awful night we had experienced. We couldn't fault the service we received both in the bar in the evening, where the young lady on duty served us with a light snack which wasn't part of the bar's facilities, or at breakfast when there were so many staff waiting for the morning rush, that our every need was attended to promptly. The main hotel building is lovely, and in a beautiful setting. It seems to me that it would take only a little imagination and organisation to designate one block of rooms (the building is quirky and ideally suited to this) as a 'quiet zone'. This could be sited as far away from all other rooms as possible, so that late night revellers do not have to pass through it on the way to their rooms. Anyone having to stay in that quiet zone because all other rooms are full could have it made clear to them that it IS a quiet zone, and that consideration is both appreciated - and expected. I can never understand why so many hotel doors have to be so 'loud' either. Many continental hotels get round the corridor problem by having a double entrance to the rooms. Something is certainly needed here.
Last night, I felt that I never wanted to set eyes on the place again, but after the treatment we received in the morning, I would certainly consider another stay if the above idea was implemented.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a function on when you are staying, and request a room as far away from the party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEast, General Manager at Horwood House, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a balanced review, I am delighted that our team managed to assure you that we really hate it when things are not right! We have just put the finishing touches to a new booking process to better manage group bookings to avoid the discomfort caused by less considerate guests. I hope to welcome you back to Horwood House very soon

Kind regards

Lucy Talbot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I visited Horwood House for a corporate team event this week and stayed for one night only. I discovered after leaving that I had left my mobile phone in my room. I immediately rang the hotel and they found the phone and returned it to my by recorded delivery the following day. I would like to commend the Hotel staff for their excellent customer service - particularly Sarnae who went that extra distance to ensure that I got my mobile returned to me as soon as possible without the least fuss. Many thanks to Horwood House. The stay overall was memorable and all of the staff were very attentive and looked after us very well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEast, General Manager at Horwood House, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, I am delighted that a good event here was followed up by great customer care! We hope to welcome you back very soon

Kidn regards


Lucy Talbot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We booked last minute on laterooms which had some good reviews for the Horwood house, if we had looked on here we might not have booked and missed probably the most comfy bed we have ever slept in in a hotel..We arrived as usual late at night after a long day on the road, the receptionist was friendly and efficient...its true as people have said in their reviews the rooms are a long way from reception through corridor after corridor which would really benefit from some clear signs with room numbers..Our room 430 was a lovely size with as I said such a comfortable bed.. The en-suite was clean and had a really good shower in it.. We didnt have breakfast on this occasion as we were pushed for time in the morning but as we passed the dining roon it was full and it looked lovely.. We enjoyed our stay and it definately met all our needs and we would most certainly book again when in the area and hopefully next time get a chance to explore the beautiful grounds...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEast, General Manager at Horwood House, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, I will share this with our team as this keeps them motivated and focussed on guest satisfaction. Kind regards

Lucy Talbot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed here this weekend. So glad I ignored the comments on here. Firstly, yes there are over 500 rooms, not in a tower block, but spread over 2 floors, so yes there can be a walk to the rooms at the far end of the hotel. Hotel is clean, modern and our room had toiletries, hairdryer, iron etc. Yes the rooms are smallish, but more than adequate and of a high quality. The hotel food was 5*. Great taste, good service. Breakfast buffet was constantly being refreshed with more food. The drinks are pricey. A large wine and a pint of magners (in 2 small bottles) was £15. The swimming pool was clean and the spa was hot! Shame it only had 2 jets working, but you can see its well maintained and the water is clean. The changing rooms were very clean. The lounge has free tea/coffee/hot chocolate available 24/7.
While we were there an A list celebrity was also there. Won't name him as he was such a nice guy, there with his family, and he uses this hotel a lot. But if the hotel was as bad as some of these reviews say - would he stay there?? interestingly tonight (31/10/11) on channel 4 is a programme about trip advisor, and how people write bad reviews on here, on purpose, quite often without even visiting the place. BE WARNED!!

Room Tip: Ask if you would like a quiet room, or larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEast, General Manager at Horwood House, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and particularly that you enjoyed our food. We have invested in the Tempus bar and restaurant concept and find that most guests really enjoy the modern, quality menu. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind regards

Lucy Talbot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horwood House

Address: Mursley Rd, Little Horwood MK17 0PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Little Horwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Horwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Horwood House 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horwood House combines the best of a period Manor House, set in 38 acres, with the modern facilities of Tempus Bar and Restaurant, extensive meeting and function rooms and 185 bedrooms. Our swimming pool and gym are available for all resident guests to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Horwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horwood House And Leisure Club Hotel Little Horwood
Horwood Hotel And Leisure
Horwood House Little Horwood, Buckinghamshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horwood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.