We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just don't” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Milton Keynes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Milton Keynes Hotel to your Saves list
Milton Keynes Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buckingham Road | Open Pastures, Deanshanger MK19 6JU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deanshanger
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just don't”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Now, you are probably doing one of two things.
You are either looking at Trip Advisor and wondering if anything could be this bad (and take it from me, the answer is 'yes'), or you are like me, sitting in this hotel wondering why the heck you didn't check it out before hand (in which case, let's both learn from this mistake).
In reality the hotel is miles out of Milton Keynes, situated between a car wash and an empty industrial building and at the back, it overlooks a hedgerow that appears to be a dumping ground for fly tippers.
On arrival we were met by a man in shorts and t-shirt who gave us our key and we moved with some trepidation to our room.
The bedding is a delightful shade of grey and has numerous small holes and stains, while the room has an underlying smell of stale tobacco. Everything others have said about the plumbing is true but you do get exercise in the shower alternately running around to try to get wet while avoiding the burning temperature of the water. The loos are an equally useful means of building your strength up - multiple flushes are required to empty the toilet bowl!
Yes we have a tv that works but don't expect HD. I haven't had the courage to ask for a password for wifi.
Sadly, MK appears to booked up tonight (although I am not sure why anyone visits Milton Keynes) so sadly we can't escape and find somewhere else to stay but under the hedgerow looks relatively appealing at the moment so maybe that is where we will head.
But joking apart, I hope the owners look at these reviews and take them very seriously as this type of operation is just not good enough at any price.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    15
    36
See reviews for
7
11
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

No hot water( used a kettle to get hot water), broken bed, unclean bathroom, terrible service, door to room didn't lock, very cold and had a damp smell !! Many customers where up and down to complain about different things! DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL the only plus was the receptionist gave us a few beers on the house! But it wasn't enough I wanted my money back! I wouldn't even pay £10 a night!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Deanshanger hotels

Northants
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just returned from a really disappointing stay at this hotel. We were attending a friends wedding over the road so thought we would book into this hotel as a cheaper option for- £50 for the night seemed reasonable. When arriving into our room, we were greeted by a slice of half eaten pizza still on the room floor proving it had not been thoroughly cleaned prior to our arrival. The bed was the most uncomfortable thing I have every slept on and the bathroom was disgusting. Very overpriced at £50- would never return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

What ever you do do not book this hotel. We went for my boyfriends birthday as he was going to Silverstone races. It is not even as near as advertised to Silverstone. When we asked when the restaurant would be open we got told it wouldn't as the boss had gone to Prayer evening. They offered a take out menu to our horror. We had to book another Hotel as we wanted a sit down meal in a Restaurant. They would not refund the money for the room. Their customer service is shameful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very little to add to previous reviews and doesn't really deserve more than a list: Several lights not working, large hole in the wall, bedroom card didn't work so they had to provide a key, shower a dribble, nigh on impossible to flush the toilet, TV didn't work, WiFi didn't work, towels thin & grey, bed linen old but clean (!), bed lumpy, room freezing, sound proofing non existent. If we'd had a choice, we would have gone elsewhere.

Just don't do it - the whole place is grubby.

Room Tip: Anywhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here on Saturday night as we were visiting family in the area. This dank, out-dated building was a less than warm welcome. Scattered chairs, broken gas bottles and a falling down arboretum is impressively placed on the front lawn.

In reception, an agonisingly long wait for the man with broken english to finally understand our names. The hotel bar was about the only thing that looked well looked after - in that it had more alcohol crammed in one cupboard than I've ever seen in my life, but I wouldn't have a drink in there if you paid me. Pop music blarred out of a make-shift bar area and a nicely drunk man (who we later saw walking barefoot down the motorway next to the hotel) stumbled out into the reception area.

The room - horrific. Our pictures show that the ground floor room that looked out onto the car park. The windows to the room - had no locks, or the locks that had half-heartedly been put there - were broken. Thank god I was not a lone female guest as the safety aspect is appalling.

We left quickly to spend the evening with the family, returned at 2:30am (trying to minimise the amount of time we spent in that place) and then left at 10am the next day. Just awful, please please go to the Travelodge down the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

3 members of staff, £80/ night, a bar man who doesn't know how to open a wine bottle, need I say any more?....

Yes

The tv doesn't work, the bed is [--], the shower is a dribble, the manager tried to add drinks I've paid for to the bill, the menu is a take-away, the toilet leaks. It's making me grumpy!

Just go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milton Keynes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton Keynes Hotel

Address: Buckingham Road | Open Pastures, Deanshanger MK19 6JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Deanshanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deanshanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Milton Keynes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Milton Keynes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Deanshanger
Deanshanger Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milton Keynes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.