We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's true what everyone says !!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Milton Keynes Hotel

Save Saved
You added Milton Keynes Hotel to your Saves list
Milton Keynes Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Milton Keynes Hotel
Buckingham Road | Open Pastures, Deanshanger MK19 6JU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Deanshanger
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's true what everyone says !!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Was booked into this hotel by my company for one night whilst working in the area , all other hotels were full. I drove past it first, looks run down paint flaking car park empty, thought i would eat first . Upon my return it didnt look too bad in the dark !. Parked the car ,well had the carpark to myself , glad it was a company car ! . Has i walked to the entrance you could smell the cigarette smoke coming out from reception although i smoke myself i dont think its the done thing.The chap behind the desk seemed ok no issue with him ,asked me if i wanted a smoking or none smoking room ,didnt think i could have those now .Anyway took a none smoking room .
The room needs updating and a fresh coat of paint. Sat on the bed mattress very thin and worn ,bedding seemed clean , tv working , but a few of the light bulbs out . A big mirror on the wall near the door which i think staying in other hotels is for the use when getting changed , but with this one there was no light above or anywhere near so youre in the dark. Came to use the toilet well you have to pump the handle a few times to get the water flowing has the loo rocked from side to side .Not fixed to the floor !. Off to bed and woke up about 4 freezing could'nt drop off again. Anyway to the shower spent about 10 mins trying to get it working had to use a bit of cardboard to keep the shower plunger up ,(hard to explain) otherwise the bath taps came on .(trick learnt from saying in greek B & B's ). Water nice and hot could'nt fault . Then the towels !! off white ,would have been white one day . A bit like drying yourself with sharp sandpaper ,good for removing dead skin . On to breakfast restaurant nice, clean and modern .Staff friendly but could'nt speak or understand English , so after trying to explain what i wanted for 5 mins i went for the full English which was all the waitress could say "Full English , Full English" eatable not the best or the worst ive had .No one on reception to check out with ,so left room key with the waitress back in the restaurant.
I think they are trying ,with a nice new restaurant but need to spend some money on the rooms bathrooms , Details light bulbs out (Toilets and showers working correctly) before its too late .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    1
    10
    32
See reviews for
6
11
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night. The room was the most horrendous place I have ever stayed in my life!!! There was no hot water, the carpets were stained and dirty, the bathroom was mouldy, broken and dangerous electric switches all round..... The room was damp and freezing with a non-functioning antique storage heater under the window.....when I went to reception to ask for another room ...i was greeted by a rude and obnoxious character behind reception who was wearing dirty and stained clothing....who snarled at me that I was just picking fault, and that the electric switches WERENT DANGEROUS (Ill let you decided from the attached images whether that was true!!) They took more money from my account than I was invoiced for, and when I phoned a few days later to highlight this issue, the same man swore at me and was absolutely foul (Same man) Pay in cash if possible and don't trust this hotel with any bank details! TAKE A SLEEPING BAG AND SOME BOTTLED WATER TO BRUSH YOUR TEETH!!

Room Tip: Dont stay in room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Damp and cold room, no TV.
Owner coughed and hawked so much I asked him if he was OK - dribbles down his shirt after spitting into a hanky. Gross. Then served wine.
Smelly hotel. Only saving grace was clean bed linen.
Slept with the en suite light on all night.
Was gald to get out of it. Didn't stop for breakfast after my experience with dinner the previous evening. No wonder the place is empty.
Only one socket working in hotel, little or no mobile phone service. Have never felt so vunerable.
Please avoid at all cost.

Room Tip: Don't go there at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I started a new job in Milton Keynes and couldn't get into my preferred accommodation so booked in here for 4 nights in early october 2011.

What a pit.

Now in fairness I knew it was 'budget' accomodation but still paid £55 a night - and what a night.

The room was very worn and tatty., there was no tv - just the shelf where the TV used to be.

The 'aircon' consisted of an old and dodgy looking fan which worked but noisily.

The beds were old and lumpy and just about fit to sleep in tho' at least the linen was clean

The bathroom was very old and tatty and the shower unit was dismantled and the parts neatly laid out on the side of the bath.

Overall cleanliness was hard to assess because I was a bit put off by all of this.

Likewise the food - I just didn't fancy it though it could have been very acceptable. Fortunately there's a good curry house next door.

Now I know perhaps I should have complained and maybe got another room but my impression was that if they let out a room in such a state, the others would only have been marginally better at best.

So the next morning I cancelled the booking and checked out.

I know it's just been renamed and so maybe these are new owners and it might improve, but I'm guessing not. I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Where do you start..... we were welcomed by a pile of empty Stella bottles in front "garden" of the hotel, and a seating area made up from tatty old chairs, empty beer bottles and some sort of covering.....Check In was awful and took nearly an hour as the rate suddenly tripled - we were being held to ransom as it being Silverstone Weekend there was no where else to stay - if the car had been big enough that would have been a better option!!!!!

The manager was a unkempt, dirty, badly spoken, rude person who carried on eating his dinner as he checked us in - but at least he had stopped smoking to eat!

A Vodka and a beer was over £9.00.......we never risked the restaurant.

The room had a dirty feel about it and i never took my shoes off just in case.........

Trying to look on the bright side i can't think of one positive thing to say about this stay - other than Silverstone was brilliant!!!!

Avoid this place, a tent in a layby is a better option!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stayed here for a few nights whilst on Business in Milton Keynes. With the exception of a most friendly bar man in the evenings this was possibly the poorest hotel I have stayed in to-date.

It's actually not close to Milton Keynes at all, so beware. The rooms are pretty crap and my door handle kept falling off.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

I dont recall seeing the signage for "This way to the Trenches of The Somme Mustard Gas Appreciation" experience, and therefore why the owner of this hotel feels the need to subject his guests to the trauma of such an experience in his reception is beyond me!

A reception by definition is the first impression of the interior of your home-from-home and perhaps that first impression should have been heeded...

From the outside the place looked innocuous enough, but history will tell you there are swatches of innocuous looking buildings scattered around, behind barbed wire in Upper Silesia!!...It doesnt necessarily mean you want to go in there!!....This place doesnt even have barbed wire to stop you stumbling in there by mistake!

Once i had resigned myself to tertiary lung-cancer - I was then left hanging around for 10 minutes whilst the 'sweating-smoking-controller' finished his urgent phonecall with his distant cousin in some far flung field...

Then the fun really started! The comedy started when I was advised that there was no working Television in the rooms of the hotel, due to a fire at the Television station...."Total load of cr*p, but what the heck.." Apparently the same fire didnt affect the Television in the bar area where you can be half a pint of lager for £3.30.

I was then given the key to room 3 and told I was in Room 6 - which would explain why i spent 20 minutes kicking the door and screaming for help, Eventually I got into Room 6.

A cursory glance around revealed one overhead light not working, one plug socket totally not working, one plug socket which will work but you have to put up with smoke coming out of it and a bath with NO COLD tap!!...No tap at all...gone, disappeared, missing in action...

Back to the reception we go - where I am met with ridicule!..I must be mistaken, "How can the tap be missing off the bath???"...'Slightly-less-sweaty-but-clearly-subservient-to-sweaty-smoking-controller' comes with me to the room and discovers that there is NO TAP ON THE BATH!!! - and I am told that , joy of all joys, i am being upgraded to room 9, which is further away from the SINGLE internet router which we all have to connect to in order to get our "business grade internet connection". A check around reveals all is initially in order, we have none smoking plug sockets and a bath with both taps...HOWEVER if you run the bath, even with the door shut you WILL set the smoke alarm off and it WILL take 20 minutes with your window open to clear the room of steam!. You will, in the meantime, discover that your bedside lamp will not work!

You will also discover that there is NO internet access as the "man who comes to fix the router doesnt come until Wednesday"....

Eventually , you will fall asleep...You will wake constantly with fear of the hotel plug sockets internally combusting, or someone running a bath causing the hotel to burn down....But you WILL sleep...

You will then get up for breakfast, and taking your broken bedside lamp with you (which you unceremoniously slam down on the reception counter) you will make your way to the dining area....You will be told that "... there are NO EGGS!"..You might be offered Orange Juice or Apple Juice, both of which they wont have and you will need to pay for that second cup of sludge (coffee) which is washing down your 1 and a half sausages, half a mushroom, table spoon full of cold baked beans and half cooked hashbrown....

Apparently the one and a half sausages was because there was no egg - I got an extra half a sausage for free. The sausage has been sent for DNA Analysis, because if any part of that was once an animal then i will walk stark naked down Pall Mall and kiss Liz's bare ar*e cheeks...Dont even start me off on what was meant to be bacon!!...

Was it worth £55 per night?...Well for the reader of this sorry tale, most probably but not for me!!! Totally horrendous!!

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Milton Keynes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton Keynes Hotel

Address: Buckingham Road | Open Pastures, Deanshanger MK19 6JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Deanshanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Deanshanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Milton Keynes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Deanshanger
Deanshanger Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milton Keynes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.