We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"lovely food and people"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Orchid

Blue Orchid
The Square, Aspley Guise MK17 8DF, England
01908-282877
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The building is an attractive traditional Grade II listed brick built property built 1837, and lies within a conservation area. The property is divided into areas with distinct characteristics to provide luxurious and intimate areas, as well as more open areas for larger functions. All rooms have been dressed with traditional Thai furnishings, exotic foliage, and have retained some of the properties original period features such as high ceilings and covings. The restaurant also has a large garden which has been enhanced with palms.
England
2 reviews
“"lovely food and people"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have been working in Milton Keynes for awhile now and have eaten all over MK and find this little place is great

Ive been twice to the blue orchid and found the food really nice and well priced. the staff are friendly and make you feel welcome cant fault it and will be going back soon

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    51
    14
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I went the other day and ate in the 'Little India' room. The food was excellent, and a welcome change from the rather standardised menu you get in so many Indian restaurants. Service was also very good, with delightfully gracious staff. Both dining rooms - Thai and Indian - are pleasant, peaceful, cosy and elegant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just learnt of poor hygiene rating”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've been going to this lovely restaurant for seven years, since moving into the area and have recommended it to many people. I regularly go with a colleague, who in recent months, has complained of an upset stomach on three occasions after we've eaten there. However, she has always put it down to her sensitive stomach. A couple of months ago, we sent back our Pad Thai because it tasted bad, but this didn't stop us going.

A couple of weeks ago, my colleague Googled the restaurant's number and noticed that it had been awarded a 1/5 food hygiene rating by Bedfordshire Council. I sincerely hope that the restaurant's owners get on top of their cleaning and food rotation because the staff are lovely and the food really used to be stunning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_Mannan_786, Public Relations Manager at Blue Orchid, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We are sorry to hear of your experience and thank you for your custom and chance to reply.
We understand your concern regarding the rating, and we would like to reassure you that we have taken this very seriously.
We were inspected in July of 2012 and the council made several recommendations that mostly related to the structure of the building and record keeping. Issues that were complicated to resolve in a listed building and are not the traditional concerns that customers would primarily relate to food preparation. We spent a significant amount of money and effort addressing their concerns which included replacing the guttering on the outside of the building, installing a new boiler and getting all equipment electrical safety tested. The remedial work was carried out quickly yet we remain waiting for the council to revisit to amend the rating. Unfortunately this is at their discretion and we frustrated and powerless to speed this process up. The rating is not a reflection on the cleanliness of the restaurant and its kitchens, in our opinion, and WE WELCOME ANY OF OUR GUESTS TO VIEW THE KITCHEN AND FOOD PREPARATION SET UP.

We hope that you might revert back to your original impression to see the restaurant for what it is. We continually strive to make every guest feel special and aim to provide exceptional food and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Although we live locally this was our first visit to the restaurant....and we were not disappointed. We had excellent food, excellent service and we look forward to dining at the Blue Orchid again and again! Based on our experience of just one visit we would definitely recommend the restaurant to everyone,.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_Mannan_786, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Orchid, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated. We are so glad that you enjoyed your first visit and hope you will return again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Oasis of Good Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I think I have eaten in every restaurant in Milton Keynes and this is by far the best.

The staff are so friendly and the food is always wonderful - if you leave something on the plate they always ask if there was something wrong with it but there never has been.

Our family go there for all birthdays and special occassions and we always take our visitors there and everyone is always impressed by the food and the decor and the staff.

I don't understand the number one hygeine rating as only last night we took a friend from South Africa there and the staff were happy to show her all around the restaurant including through the kitchen where everything looked fine and I have had dealings with kitchen inspections before.

We are looking forward to our next visit already!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_Mannan_786, Public Relations Manager at Blue Orchid, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. We endeavour to use the freshest ingredients as well as herbs and vegetables from Thailand so that we can provide you with an authentic Thai dining experience.

We thank you for your positive feedback and hope to see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Orchid also viewed

Woburn, Bedfordshire
 
Aspley Guise, Bedfordshire
Woburn Sands, Milton Keynes
 

Been to Blue Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Orchid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.