We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge in the Vale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lodge in the Vale to your Saves list
The Lodge in the Vale
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Legburthwaite | St John's In The Vale, Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Thirlmere B&B and Inns
Preston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked the family room which was a good size, comfortable and clean with a good sized en-suite. The hotel has enough parking a comfortable coffee bar style breakfast room and lovely views. The breakfast buffet offered plenty of choices of breads, cheeses, fruits, pastries, cereals etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay at the Lodge. We are very pleased to hear that you had a positive and enjoyable experience. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    54
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
34
65
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

had a lovely stay in this hotel, it was in a great location and obviously newly built. The rooms were of a size you would expect from an average hotel, great big bed, and a decent size bathroom with a hot powerful shower. Only thing to point out is the rooms are quite warm, and if you wanted to sleep with the window open then the road can be quite noisy in the morning if you have a room at the front. We just pulled our window shut in the morning and went back to sleep but if you find this annoying request a room at the back of the hotel.
Fantastic breakfast- fresh croissants, pastries, muffins, and delicious bread to toast. Five different cereals, fresh fruit, dried fruits and nuts, yogurts, big selection of cheeses, ham, boiled eggs, etc. All help yourself or a friendly member of staff to help you.
staff were friendly and helpful and available until 9.30 in the evening, the cafe was also open until this time, so lovely to come back from having a meal to have a cup of coffee.
Great location to get to keswick, grasmere, cockermouth, and if you are a walker then there is a route up to mount helvellyn- tough climb but worth it for the views.

Room Tip: if you feel cars on the road might annoy you, ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments.We hope you visit us again soon, by the sounds of it you had a brilliant time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for three nights in a room at the front, picking it because we wanted to avoid the usual Lake District chintz.

Unfortunately, although modern there is nothing about the place that makes me able to recommend it.

As others have mentioned, the rooms are seriously tiny. The road in front of the hotel is reasonably busy with cars and lorries passing regularly.

Because the room is not airconditioned, leaving the window open means it's either noisy or hot. I imagine this is less of a problem at the back so I'd specify a rear room when booking.

The standard of finishing is poor. The hook on the back of our bathroom door was hanging off and the shower leaked and didn't drain properly. It felt as though it had been done on the cheap.

All of the above would not be so much of an issue were it not for the high price of the rooms, making it very poor value.

If you're passing through for a night or can get a cheap deal then it may be worth it, otherwise avoid.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The staff couldn't do enough to help.The reception and dining areas are very light,airy and modern.The room was the family room with extra single bed,plenty of space and pleasant.Quite stuffy in the room,but exceptionally hot spell,and a fan was provided on request.All in all,spotlessly clean.Well situated for Grasmere and Keswick,lovely walk around Thirlmere nearby.
Enough choice of breakfast stuff but shame no hot food.Would stay again,if there are offers,as room rate quite high with no cooked breakfast

Room Tip: Family room nice(5) but my daughter was in standard double and says it wasn't very big
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights purely because it was the cheapest available at late notice. We were greeted at the reception by a friendly member of staff on arrival.... Went to our room which was tiny..... I'd read reviews before going about how small the rooms were. There was not enough room really... It was full of large items of furniture not ideally suited to the size of the room, just the one skylight window on a slanted roof which made the room even smaller and not very airy..... It felt very closed in. The showers were very confined too.... Overall though the cleanliness and facilities in the room were excellent, just the size let it down. We went down for the continental breakfast in the morning into cafe bar which was staffed by two females who appeared to not have a clue what they were doing and were not bothered about being there. Coffee was watered down and there wasn't adequate seating for how many people there were to have breakfast, I personally don't like having my breakfast on the sofa or on a stool at a bar. There was no atmosphere in this hotel and it had no character.... It is obviously a new build fit for purpose but it wasn't really in keeping with the Lake District charm... It had none...... We did not hang around the hotel much on this basis and didn't stop for breakfast the following morning. It served a purpose in that it gave us a bed for the night. It wasn't my idea of an idyllic Lakeland getaway hotel.... Well located though within 10 minutes of Keswick...... Wouldn't stay here again though unless I got a really cheap deal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A friend and I booked this for one night to be near Keswick for an appointment at 9.30 am the next day.The place is easy to find and parking is easy. The room was clean, modern with everything you could need. It was VERY hot generally at this time and as with many B&Bs the bed had just a duvet, which would have been too hot for me. (I always take a sheet with me (!) and it was needed. I wish B&Bs would take this into consideration, however this is not really a complaint aimed at The Lodge in the Vale specifically.) The breakfast was fantastic. I hate the smell of the 'Full English' and there was no such creature here. However, had you wanted that you could have gone down the road to the Kings Head which has a 10% off deal for meals for people staying at the lodge which we had taken advantage of the night before. So, at the lodge there was plenty of lovely cereal, fruit, toast (fantastic brown bread) eggs, croissants, tea an d coffee...just lovely. would recommend this to anyone, and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at the lodge for two nights and was really looking forward to it. On the outside, it looks great and its in a fantastic setting! The reception area looks nice, but we did not receive a great welcome, the staff were bit cold hearted and doing the bare minimum. Our room was on the ground floor facing the road which was quite disappointing as there was no privacy. The rooms themselves are very small with very badly thought through furniture- such as a big dressing table chair that blocks the route to the bedroom! The furniture was also wobbly- the bedside table, the bed etc. The shower was very small and fittings loose. The room was very hot and there was no aircon but there was heating- no offer of a fan from reception when we brought up the issue. The breakfast was good but the staff were again very impersonal, with minimum effort. I had tried to use the wifi (which was advertised as a feature of the lodge) in the room and upon checking out to plan the rest of our journey, and could not log on. The receptionist rebooted it but it was still very weak. There is a lot of amazing accommodation with excellent customer service in the Lake District that this place is not worth it! Building new accommodation there, especially a lodge, should be done with good quality materials and workmanship and good customer service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge in the Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge in the Vale

Address: Legburthwaite | St John's In The Vale, Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Thirlmere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thirlmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge in the Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Lodge in the Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge In The Vale Hotel Thirlmere
The Lodge In The Vale Thirlmere, Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge in the Vale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.