We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didn't have time to stay but came back for coffee and view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Anachoreo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Restaurant Anachoreo
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant Anachoreo to your Saves list
past the bus terminal | Left at T-junction, first road to your right, Santa Fe, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“didn't have time to stay but came back for coffee and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place is in a magical setting. We ate dinner one night it was delicious. Perfectly prepared fresh ingredients straight from the garden. We ended our meal with a cup of coffee. Local coffee from Santa Fe it was wonderful hot and fresh with our own personal french press not instant or drip. We came back the next afternoon just to have another coffee and enjoy the view of the fog rolling into the valley. We would have stayed the night but had to be on our way. Small place so call ahead, a little hard to find but really worth finding.
The lady was so sweet she had too many oranges and insisted we take a bag with us what a wonderful place.

Room Tip: They are a limited number of rooms but all have nice big beds with clean linens, hammocks, hot water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    11
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
24
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

It is worth finding. Peaceful and lovely. Good food. The couple who own the place could not be nicer and more helpful. My room was attractive. You have to make your own entertainment up here but if you are OK with that, this is the place in the mountains. No a/c needed as there is a cool breeze at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anachoreo, Owner at Hotel Restaurant Anachoreo, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. Considering your other references, we feel very honoured by your kind words. Thank you for pointing out there is no need for air-conditioning where we are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Coronado, Panama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The food was the best I’ve had in Panama (and I’ve been living here 1 year). The chef is Cambodian and the dinner was fresh, delicious and exquisitely presented. The curry was homemade with lemon grass and herbs from the garden. Breakfast was another delicious treat with your choice of eggs or unlimited Dutch pancakes (crepes).

This property is very basic in its structure, hence the rating, but the rooms are spacious and clean and comfortable with nice, soft sheets. The place is pretty new and still being worked on (don't worry, no construction noise or mess), so it’s lacking in detail and ambiance. But don’t let that deter you from staying here. The hotel only has 2 rooms for rent now, but more are being finished.

There was a constant rainbow on the grounds from the cooling mist. The clouds kiss the top of the mountains and the view is lovely. The terrace has hammocks and chairs for lounging and the hotel is conveniently located with just a short walk to the pueblo of Santa Fe.

If the view and the town and the anticipation of your next meal aren't enough to keep you preoccupied, there is wi-fi here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anachoreo, Owner at Hotel Restaurant Anachoreo, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your input. We will continue improving our building, so rest assured next time you pay us a visit it will only be better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Hello to all the happy travelers out there,
I can tell you, as I have been there…and altho it is now in a newer and bigger place, I have actually been to visit three times now with these fine folks. You see, the first two times it was in the old ( nice ) setting.
But they, Senith and Marnix, didn’t just upgrade the original site, they changed venue, left the old place in the proverbial dust. In any event this new place they built is only for those who truly want one of the best pananma-oramic vistas in a neighborhood that has wonderful variety of pretty sweet views.
What mostly counts, however, are the people who are Anachoreo [formerly Hostel Tierra Libre], which are the great quirky-funny team of Marnix and Senith, she hails from Cambodia, he the Netherlands.
Again, I know having stayed in this cute little town of Santa Fe approximately 5 or so months out of the last three years, that Senith is widely recognized as making, consistently, the very best food in the entire area, for those, as do I, that have discriminating tastes. Everything is way yummy and my only real complaint over the years has been that she puts far too much of all this way too good food on my plate. The last two visits I have had to tell Senith not to give me so much. This last summer, alas, I necessarily enforced the rule. 
Anyhow, you will not be disappointed. Oh, just as an aside, many of the veggies.herbs in her delightfully scrumptious meals are direct from her burgeoning and well-kept garden. She has a passion for plants and a very green thumb.
Their place always have some of the most comfortable mattresses I have slept upon in all my Panama travels, the kitchen is white glove clean and the entire atmosphere has that unique Dutch/Cambodian flavor, always. Hammocks are each and every time a nice lazy way to pass the sunny day reading and/or sleeping…so comfortable you do not even feel guilty. Cannot wait until they build that sweet pool from which to have a beer or wine or cocktail while watching the dark shadows crawl over the jutting green mountains as the sun sets …then maybe I will get out of the pool, dry off and sit down to a wonderful dinner…ah, such sweet memories and dreams of next year/the not too distant future.
If you are of the friendly type you will quickly become friends. They truly want you to enjoy your stay and will help make it so. They know what is happening all around Santa Fe and environs, they know everybody, they play some pretty cool tunes and if the projector is running, they even have movie/video nighs. Both are conversationally adept… even for those deep conversations should your inclination, or the wine, have the chat and banter flow in that direction.
Oh, this well run enterprise also has an able and convenient financial side should you need such assistance. Marnix handles the office part. He is quite knowledgeable in ways that can really be of assistance, especially to those who are unfamiliar with how things work this far south of the border. For instance, I finally found a property I wanted to own and Marnix assisted with negotiations, translations and those sometimes, maybe always, difficult transfers of finances down to Panama. Marnix can guide you through, he did for me and now I am a proud Santa Ferna-ian [ if that’s how you spell it ].
Prices are super reasonable, too.
Anyhow, two thumbs up for all the great times I have already had at the new place. Thanks so much y’all…hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I didn't stay at the hotel, but I toured it, and I ate at the restaurant. Friendly proprietors. Excellent food--probably the best in town, and very reasonably priced. Excellent view out back. A place to relax. Less than ten minutes' walk to bus terminal. Cabanas and a pool were in the planing stages. Should be wonderful when it's completed...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Restaurant Anachoreo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Anachoreo

Address: past the bus terminal | Left at T-junction, first road to your right, Santa Fe, Panama
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Anachoreo in Santa Fe Panama combines the luxury of a hotel with the home feeling of a family-run B&B. Relax yourself in one of our suites and experience fine dining in the only Cambodian restaurant in Central America. We guarantee you a relaxing and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Restaurant Anachoreo Panama/Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Anachoreo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.