We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Just Acceptable” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Malligi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Malligi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Malligi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 / 90 J.N. Road | Hampi, Hospet 583201, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Hospet
nottinghamshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Only Just Acceptable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

We have just come back from India and had 1 night at Malligi in Hospet so that we could visit Hampi. Their website makes it look much more attractive than it actually is. Room and all other facilities were "just" acceptable. Service in the restaurant was "just" ok as was the food. Hotel room overlooked an expanse of land that that was used for grazing pigs and cows as well as the local toilet facility for people less fortunate than ourselves. We did wonder why the curtains were closed when we arrived during thye day!!! However at all times you have to remember that this is India!
We stayed in the new wing, dread to think what the rooms would have been like in nthe older "cheaper wing.
One major tip:-
Book the room once you arrive in India if you can, we made enquiries via their website before travelling and were quoted DOUBLE what we were quoted once in India and made the same enquiry via another hotel reception/email. the paperwork however quoted rates for Indian nationals but we still got it at the same half price rate.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest, We thank you for choosing Malligi during your recent visit to Hospet. We regret that your experience with Malligi was not to your satisfaction Sincere apologies for the same.

The uniqueness of Malligi is in its ability to cater to a guest irrespective of their budget. Athiti Devo Bhava in its true sense. So the budget rooms may not match up to the majority of the luxury rooms that hotel has. But Guests always has a choice.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

Thank you once again from all our dedicated team. (Sundeep) stay@malligihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    149
    45
    12
    4
See reviews for
119
98
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

After having used tripadvisor for a while, I though it was time to contribute back.

We stayed for one night at Hotel Malligi. It is split into 2 parts with a cul-de-sac road in between. On one side is the restaurant and pool, the other the rooms.

Warning: they do 24 hour check in at this hotel. Which means that they were going to charge us for 2 nights, because we went over 24 hours. Eventually we negociated a 26 hours stay for the charge of 1 night.

The new block rooms are large, relatively clean and modern with a big shower and tiny shampoo bottles! This is India folks so, if you're a light sleeper, bring some ear plugs as there is some noise. We had asked for a double bed, but got 2 singles put together.

The 'fun' started when we went to their restaurant: "Waves". The waiters English and sense of service was very bad. Both the dinner and the breakfast took a very long time to come, and this is in the low season. Boiled eggs arrived cold. We sent them back and they came back in hot water. They weren't freshly boiled at all. Curry arrived cold. Waiters were all over the place but never available!
We were a party of 4, and one of us ended up going into the kitchen with the curry to get it heated in our frustration.

Otherwise, the general store or tuck shop (selling chocolate etc) was closed. We were told come back in 30 minutes. Of course it was still closed then!

They did let us keep our luggage at the hotel after we checked out, which was good. And we were able to use some of the old block rooms to freshen up in, in the evening. These look like prison cells so don't do the old block, unless they are dirt cheap.

PS It is called Hotel Malligi, with an "i", and not MallAgi.

  • Liked — Size of room, price
  • Disliked — Very slow chaotic restaurant
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Malligi during your recent visit to Hospet. Your feedback is appreciated as we are always looking for ways to better the quality of our service and standards.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

With warm personal regards,
Sundeep
Hotel Malligi - Best of everything
stay@malligihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2007

good choice in this town ; choose the room in the new part !! large and clean
good quality of service; restaurant is good , a big pool not so clean;;

  • Liked — clean except the pool
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for spending your holiday here with us at Hotel Malligi. We greatly appreciate your review!!!

Guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. And thank you for letting everyone know that we did it right.

We look forward to serving you again and we assure you the best of services as always.

Sundeep
Hotel Malligi - Best of everything
stay@malligihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Malligi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malligi

Address: 10 / 90 J.N. Road | Hampi, Hospet 583201, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Hospet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Hospet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malligi 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover yourself by stepping into a world of timeless elegance at Malligi. The first and the finest Star Hotel in the World Heritage Sites of Karnataka. Malligi, Where past meets the present” is an epitome of classic elegance and warm hospitality, at Malligi we are dedicated to pamper our guests with exemplary personal services. Hotel Malligi has been awarded “The Certificate of Excellence Award 2012” by Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Malligi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malligi Hotel Hospet
Hotel Malligi Hospet, Karnataka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Malligi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.