We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel France (separate building from Hotel Ariane)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ariane

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ariane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ariane
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Bd Clemenceau, 50170 Pontorson, France (Formerly Hotel de France et Vauban)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Pontorson
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Hotel France (separate building from Hotel Ariane)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Unlike some of the other reviewers, we had no problems with checking in and found the staff (I believe the owner, who checked us in, and the buffet waitress) quite nice and polite. I would agree that the breakfast is less than perfect but we followed a huge bus tour so maybe that had something to do with it. Parking was free (and I was able to park under a tree for shade!). It was easy to find. The room was a little run down, but clean and fairly spacious. Close to Le Mont and a good location. And, yes, it's close to the railway tracks, but the trains must run quietly during the night so I didn't hear them. If you go there, check out the old house just "kitty corner" to the hotel. It has the most amazing water tower - looks like a tree grew up around the cistern!
One complaint - would have liked to take my coffee on the hotel patio but signs on the buffet said taking food out of the dining room was STRICTLY forbidden!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    32
    19
    16
    16
See reviews for
20
35
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is clean, and the rooms are bigger than most hotels we came across in France. Tooks us a long time to check in because there was nobody at the front desk. Finally caught a maid and asked her to find someone. She didn't have any luck either. Finally got a room. No air conditioning, but it was fine for one night. They have a sister hotel around the corner and just across the railroad tracks that is suppose to be a better value, but they didn't have any rooms available there.

Room Tip: Walk across the railroad tracks and check their sister hotel for a room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Ariane is similar to what you might find in the Alps; a cut above dormitory. Clean, functional (mostly) but boring. Just a place to stay. We arrived at about 20:00 (8pm) and the buffet dinner (which smelled very good) had already stopped taking people. The check-in person asked if we would be having breakfast at the hotel (9 euros I think?) and I said no, we'd be getting it on the road, to which he replied, in an unfriendly manner, "Why? It's much better here." He could have presented it as an option we would have considered, letting us know what they offer etc., but his brusque mannerism was off-putting.

If you're from the US, please note this place has a euro-style shower/bath facility that you're likely going to have issues with. No shower curtain, and the shower head is attached to a long flexible hose that you have to hold yourself. Trying to do so without getting water on the floor is nearly impossible; it's almost a two-person job. You'll frequently find "interesting" shower arrangements in France, but most have compromised over the years to offer an approach that works both ways (the flexible hose attached to a fixture so you don't have to hold it if you wish, and either curtains or doors).

If this is where you've got to stay, it's not terrible, but it won't be a memorable high point of your trip either.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

When we booked the hotel their website displayed a beautiful old facade of a French building. When we arrived this building had nothing to do with hotel ariane. Plus it has a railway line running along side it. On arrival to check-in we were met by a disgruntled member of staff, short tempered and very unhelpful. He apparently had to look after the bar and the reception area at the one time. Definitely not value for money here. Quite the opposite. Breakfast was not included and they charge well,over nearby cafe prices. Very expensive for second rate

Room Tip: Unless you like trains running outside your room or don't mind sleeping without any air
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for just a one night stop over. Pontorson is a very small town, not much going on. But the hotel was great , friendly staff clean comfortable rooms and great restaurant. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

2 minute walk from the train station. The rooms were spacious, clean and well maintained. The restaurant, if you can get a seating is amazing. We had an excellent value meal with delicious food, I highly recommend the knuckle of beef in cider. The #15 bus leaves from the station and is approximately 15 minutes from Mont saint Michel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Location is perfect to visit both St. Malo and Mont st. Michel.When you stay there you should take
Half Board, the food is outstanding and velue is great. We where 9 people and everybody agreed
it was some of the best food that we had on our trip. Rooms are very quite and clean. Pascal the owner and his wife and daughter are running the hotel as a family and it shows.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ariane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariane

Address: 50 Bd Clemenceau, 50170 Pontorson, France (Formerly Hotel de France et Vauban)
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Pontorson
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Pontorson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ariane 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ariane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariane Hotel Pontorson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ariane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.