We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food Spalding!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gurkha Oven

Gurkha Oven
12 B Sheep Market, Spalding PE11 1BE, England
+44 1775 712010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 98 Restaurants in Spalding
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Gurkha Oven (Finest Indian & Nepalese cuisine)Gurkha oven the first Nepalese & Indian restaurant of its kind in the town of spalding. Bringing you the best Nepalese & Indian cuisine with unmatched ambience & setting that truly mesmersing.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food Spalding!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had another fabulous meal at the Ghurka Oven Spalding, yesterday evening. The service is second to none. Best indian food I've eaten. The Mo Mo dumplings shouldn't be missed. We had a mixed platter and the Mo Mo for starters, followed by Nepalese Chicken Jalfrezi and the Lamb Bhutuwa curry, Ghurka Nan Bread, pickles and Poppadoms and a beer. On Wednesday and Thursday for £9.95 Three Course Meal

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    30
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
spalding
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SPALDING HAS GREAT PLACES TO EAT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a really lovely restaurant, my second visit I have been for lunch and last night a meal with friends. The food is really tasty and very good value for money and they are very flexible to change dishes to your liking. For four of us we had poppadoms and chutneys and starters, main course with rice and Nans and puddings and wine for £88.00. The portion sizes are large, so you probably wouldn't need 4 courses! but hey it was a night out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Most recent visit with friends yesterday evening to celebrate birthday. Have been many times before and as usual the food was varied, tasty and the staff were very happy to vary dishes to individual tastes regarding spicy heat. Both quantity and quality were excxellent as usual.
We were made very welcome, the staff are always polite and cheerful specially Owner and very helpful and they always ensure that we are happy with everything.
They go out of their way to accommodate.
Both as to food and service I would recommend anyone to try the Gurkha oven. My friends and I will certainly be returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Have been to this restaurant 3 times now, twice as a couple and once as a family, and waited to write my review. Have to say that each time has been just as good as the previous.

My only negative would be that they have their special on a Wednesday and Thursday night which is advertised on their website but having visited twice on a Thursday they have never mentioned it and it isn't on the menu - feel a little uncomfortable checking that it is still on!

Would most definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurkha_Oven, Owner at Gurkha Oven, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Kibongi 1965,
Thanks very much for your kind words, good to hear that you have enjoyed your 3 visits with us.
We still have Wednesday and Thursday night deals, I’m sorry to hear that you couldn’t take advantage of special deal. Please just let member of staff know that you would like to have special deal on your next visit.
I understand your point but difficulties we are facing is when costumer come for special occasions (anniversary/romantic meal etc.) they feel uncomfortable to hear the deals. We used to let our costumer know in past but some costumer replied I don’t bother or we are here to have good meal not a deal or etc. etc. So we have decided not to inform until costumer ask.
Sorry for any inconvenience
Thanks for your feedback and see you soon!
Kind regards
Ram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nepali food at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The light subtle Nepalese dishes are a continent away from the boring 'Masala sauce with everything' offerings from other restaurants.

As a curry aficionado I warmly welcome this great addition to Spalding's restaurants. Courteous staff, great atmosphere and good food. What more could you ask for!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Oven also viewed

Spalding, Lincolnshire
Spalding, Lincolnshire
 
Spalding, Lincolnshire
Spalding, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Gurkha Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gurkha Oven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.