We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ropewalk

The Ropewalk
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spalding
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ropewalk
Save
You added The Ropewalk to your Saves list
54 Pinchbeck Road, Spalding PE11 1QF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Spalding B&B and Inns
Withern
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We came to Spalding by accident but oh how beautiful it was! After thinking we would be sleeping in the car we came to Ropewalk. Wonderful welcome with tea & cake. Beautiful house & people. Couldn't fault it & just wish could have stayed longer to enjoy the facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ardeche France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

How lucky were we to book in at The Ropewalk purely by chance!
We couldn't have been made more welcome by our hosts Jackie and Vic and the first class accommodation was immaculate and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, beautifully presented with so much choice.
Everything you could ever want in a Bed and Breakfast was provided and more!
If there is anything you need, such as local information, you only have to ask and Jackie has the answer.
Great location for a number of restaurants to suit all tastes.
Rita P.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've been returning to Jackie's home for two or three years now and I can honestly say its the best in town. A warm welcome is inevitable because the hosts, which includes Jackies husband, Vic are genuinely pleased to meet every guest that arrives.
The spacious house is lovely with a large communal kitchen area where most people congregate on arrival for a cup of tea and a slice of home made cake. However, when your looking for a bit of piece a quiet you can either sit in the large private lounge, conservatory or the pleasant garden if the weathers good enough.
All the rooms are great without exception, even the twin which doesn't have an ensuite but you are supplied with lovely white robes to use if your crossing to the bathroom which isn't shared because it's the only bedroom without an ensuite! And it's this attention to detail which really makes this B&B stand out from the rest.
Needless to say the breakfast is great with as much choice as you could ever need.
In conclusion, this place is exceptional and I recommend all my colleagues to stay here when their in Spalding which brings me to the only issue. Getting a room is not easy! Book early or you will miss out!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying with Jackie and Vic for a few days a week, every week for over a year now. There's a warm welcome waiting for you at the Ropewalk and the tea and cakes are to die for ! Couldn't think of a nicer place to stay when I'm away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Picked on the basis of a prompt reply, this is a house run by a hospitality fanatic. If you can't think of anything you want, Jackie'll spring a series of suggestions on you, and if anything's not on the menu (early breakfast, bike parking, wind direction forecasts), it'll happen straight away. A big, swish, comfortable room and an unforgettable breakfast. Wonderful!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We chose this B&B due to the proximity to friends who lived in Spalding but also because Jackie was the only one to respond out of all the enquiries we made - how glad we were. We were greeted by Jackie and given the choice of the double rooms available. We chose the loft room which actually runs the width of the house and is very spacious. The stairs to go up to it wouldn't be suitable for someone with limited mobility but this was not a problem for us. The room was excellent, the bed very comfortable, clean, the bathroom good and the shower excellent. We wish we had spent more time in it but as we spent most of the time with friends, it really was a place to sleep.

On arrival we were offered (and accepted) a cup of coffee and cake which we had in the garden. Jackie was really welcoming, friendly and made you feel like you were home from home.

Breakfast was outstanding, beautiful fresh fruit salad, cereals, freshly cooked hot option which was really nice, plus toast and coffee. Really couldn't fault it.

If you are going to Spalding stay here - we will be going back.

Room Tip: They all looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ropewalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ropewalk

Address: 54 Pinchbeck Road, Spalding PE11 1QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Spalding
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Spalding
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Ropewalk Spalding, Lincolnshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ropewalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.