We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family celebration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Hotel

Save Saved
You added Woodlands Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodlands Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Pinchbeck Road, Spalding PE11 1QF , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Spalding
Deux Sevres
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent family celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Travelled for a Golden Wedding Anniversary celebration. The afternoon meal was served in a private room which was decorated to the couple's choice. The food was excellent. There was a choice for all three courses and all our party commented how much they had enjoyed their food. The service was excellent also and we were not hurried but at the same time there were no gaps in the service - the staff kept an eye on proceedings from a discrete distance. Highly recommended for a celebration meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambrish C, Owner at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive review, it was our pleasure to look after all your guets and look forward to seeing you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    28
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
29
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked into Woodlands as a family member was holding anniversary celebrations there. We spent two nights at the hotel and had an excellent experience. We stayed in Room 7 which was light, spacious and quiet. The breakfast was absoluetly fantastic, all freshly cooked to order (extremely tasty sausages!). The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Overall we had a fabulous stay and would recommend this hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glos
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We enjoyed a very comfortable night here. The breakfast (which was included in the price) was cooked to order rather than pre-cooked and left lying in heated dishes to dry up. The price was very reasonable. We also ate an excellent evening meal, cooked to perfection. The Staff were helpful and attentive. The room was clean, well equipped and comfortable. Our only suggestion is that bottles of water be placed in the room as we were not sure if you could drink from the tap. We stayed on a hot night and unfortunately the fan was not sufficient to cool the room down. There again, these kind of nights do not happen too often. A Hotel to be thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambrish C, Owner at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your Positive review and look forward to welcoming you back at The Woodlands in Future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hotel was great to liaise with regarding the original booking, upgrade and early check-in request. Room well equipped; wonderful power shower (over bath); best we've experienced in comparison to many other short-stays all over the UK. Fantastic breakfast and all in all we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. We very probably will have the opportunity to do so with family in the near vicinity. Almost resident taxi service immediately on hand. We enjoyed our stay and will look to stay again when we are next in Pinchbeck. Thank you :-) :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambrish C, Owner at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you very much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your Celebrations here, It was our pleasure and look forward to welocoming you back here.

Ambrish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

stayed here on business, and what a little cracker this is. the room was small a single but to be fair what do you need? it was beautifully clean, lovely bathroom excellent power shower, (had a slight issue with the door getting out but nothing major, service was brilliant all staff very polite and friendly. food in the restaurant was lovely, a little priceybut im a believer in you get what you pay for. breakfast was stunning, cooked to order really hot and proper Lincolnshire sausages, not had those since I left my home town of Lincoln and moved to Sheffield. I will definitely be returning here and I shall bring my husband, this place was recommended by ram, owner at the gurka oven and is really good value for money, 65.00 with breakfast included. the owners of this hotel have got it so right, thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We did not stay only ate in the restaurant. Unfortunately we were the only ones in the dining room but as it was business and pleasure we could talk openly. The service was very good and the food was cooked as we liked it. All our dishes were different and faultless. The prices were in line with most hotels in the area. One tiny criticism, the cutlery needed the water stains polishing off after drying. Yes we would go again, as the title suggests, perfectly ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Rude, smug, horrible horrible man. My gran died and I urgently needed to cancel the booking to be with my family. The owner basically laughed at my desperation as I broke down needing the money back to travel to see my family. Devastated. He was just smug that he was getting my money without having to do anything for the room. He deserves absolutely no future business. I just hope people around him have mor empathy when some thing terrible happens to his family. Disgusting behaviour.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gan s, General Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We take all customer feedback positively as we strive to put things right for the future. As you can see from all other reviews, that we will do our upmost best to accommodate any guest’s request.
In this instance, Ms Ali Moult booked a room at a special rate for Sat 22nd June and then informed us that she got the arrival date wrong and could we move the booking to the following Saturday. We agreed to this. Again on Saturday 29th June, Ms Moult called at 2.30pm and wanted to cancel the room due to a death in the family. We apologised for the sudden death in her family but informed her politely that we will be charging her cancellation fee for the short notice as we could have sold the room. Our cancellation policy is well advertised on all websites. She started shouting and became abusive and threatened to give us a bad review. Please appreciate that we are only a small hotel with 17 bed rooms and we cannot waive any cancellation charges. Our cancellation policy is no different to any branded hotels or airlines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Address: 80 Pinchbeck Road, Spalding PE11 1QF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Spalding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Spalding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant, beautiful Edwardian Hotel, Spalding, retains many of its original features and characteristics. The Woodlands Hotel has a feel of elegance and times gone by, where all its staff are on hand to welcome you and make your stay in Spalding a treasured experience. The Woodlands Hotel features the Oak Leaf Restaurant, the Silver Birch meeting room, the Willows Bar and Patio Garden area, a Bridal Suite and five sumptuous en-suite bedrooms and eleven further well appointed bedrooms, with en-suite facilities. One of our rooms on the ground floor is designated an accessible bedroom for disabled guests. The Woodlands Hotel is happy to cater for any individual requirements, be it Weddings, Christenings, Seminars, Conferences, Birthdays, Christmas, New Year, Valentine's Day, Murder Mystery nights, or any other occasion you care to mention. Friendly, courteous staff are always on hand, to help make sure your special occasion runs smoothly. The Woodlands Hotel looks forward to welcoming you, whether it's simply to dine in our restaurant, have a drink in the bar, or to arrange a larger, more personal occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Spalding, Lincolnshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.