We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cley Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cley Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Cley Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   22 High Street, Spalding PE11 1TX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Spalding B&B and Inns
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Have stayed on business a number of times. Charming reception rooms and friendly staff. No wifi and staff unable to put through an international phone call to my room. It was a very cold day and unfortunately bedroom was cold in the annexe and whilst heating was turned up in the block no staff felt able to bleed radiator in my bedroom. The blinds in the bedroom did not fall properly and the pelmet was coming off. The reception rooms would benefit from a fire. I would like to have seen some lighter meals on the menu. The owner did not return my phone call. So, disappointed with the service on this occasion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Cley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you were disappointed. With regards to the call back I did in fact leave two messages on your phone and am unsure what happened to these. We do have lighter options on the menu for example fish, pasta, risotto. Many people choose to have starters as main courses and of course if people ask we try and accommodate if we can. I am sorry about the pelmet and have spoken with housekeeping to ensure that maitenance issues are reported dealt with. each day which is our standard. The heating, it was a very cold day when you stayed and if you had mentioned that you were cold at the time we could have provided an additinal heater. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    15
    8
    7
    7
See reviews for
12
19
3
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I treated her parents to Sunday lunch to celebrate my mother-in-law's birthday. This was our first visit to Cley Hall which is an elegant ?Georgian-style former residence situated directly opposite the River Welland. It has two main reception rooms, one with an adjacent bar where we enjoyed a leisurely drink on comfortable sofas prior to being ushered into the dining rooms. The restaurant is a compact room, with infinity mirrors (but not all!), sympathetically and stylishly decorated; we were seated at a large table facing the garden.The covers were immaculate with spotless white tablecloth and balloon wine glasses etc.
Our starters were thoughtfully presented, especially the smoked salmon 'roses' which had been portioned generously. Unfortunately, the accompanying rocket salad (I opted for the warm goat's cheese) was decidedly gritty and should have been washed (and tested?) prior to serving. To be fair, we were asked several times if everything was ok but it was only towards the end of our completing the starters that we all remarked on this and in any case I had not considered it sufficient a problem to warrant having to send mine back. For the mains we all chose the roast beef.This was far too well done for my and my wife's liking but I accept that this is purely a matter of personal taste and we had after all not given Chef any prior notice as to how we preferred our beef. Awkwardly, the cuts had not been properly trimmed of the copious adjoining fat prior to plating up; a serrated knife would also have come in useful. Otherwise, the beef with horseradish sauce was attractively presented on a bed of mash with roasties and the veg was cooked just to our liking, still just a bit crisp and 'al dente'. The desserts were excellent and very fresh. My father-in-law and I had the slightly tart and tangy fruit crumble with a light and delicate crème anglaise - sadly mine was served on a twice-chipped "wow-factor" type rectangular plate - a careless oversight given the high standards to which this restaurant clearly aspires.Service was efficient and enthusiastic without being at all intrusive.Overall we thought our meal represented good value, the surroundings and service were most ageeable and with the possible exception of some necessary fine-tuning as outlined above we would readily return to this hotel/restaurant. We award it 8/10.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for business for 4 nights and it felt very homely, cosy and warm. We stayed in the annex just next door to the main hotel and the rooms are modern and decorated nicely with all the features you'd expect - flat screen TV, tea/coffee making facilites, nice linen and pillows. The best thing about this hotel is the restaurant and the quality of the food. The restaurant has great views of the lovely gardens and you can eat your breakfast outside when the weather is warmer?!
Overall the best place to stay in Spalding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hotel room is small which is fine but is also cold, which is absolutely unforgivable!

Carpets are shabby
Veg with meal was microwaved
Wifi is non existent in hotel room
Service was enthusiastic which is only redeeming feature.

Not impressed!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Now under new ownership and management this hotel has a superb restaurant that really cant be faulted, would definately return and recommend to others. First Class, situated along the River Welland with parking facilities right outside, thats a bonus too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

upon my arrival the staff showed me to my room that was beautiful,clean and plenty of room the bathroom was lovely and clean.food was to die for excellent.staff and owners very friendly and could not do enough for me to make my stay so welcoming.the garden was very beautiful and i sat out there in the early evenings it was very relaxed and homely hotel also the very intresting features they had at the hotel like the fire place ect.what a amazing hotel i will go back again one day fab .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent four nights in Spalding on a family holiday and stopped at the beautiful Cley Hall. The family room was large with all the facilities you would require to make it home from home. This included a hairdryer with a diffuser that impressed me immensely! The decoration in the room was lovely and the bed was so comfy we were always last for breakfast! Speaking of the breakfast there was so much on offer I tried something different every day and it all tasted beautiful. The staff were all very helpful and friendly especially with all our needs for our young son. The owners were very approachable and went out of their way to ensure we were happy with our stay. Overall we had a really lovely stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cley Hall Hotel

Address: 22 High Street, Spalding PE11 1TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Spalding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Spalding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cley Hall is one of Spalding’s most historic hotels and has been transformed following a refurbishment. The Cley Hall Hotel is a unique 18th century boutique hotel full of character and history.Whether you are looking for a place to stay, a place to dine, a meeting room, a stunning venue for a special occasion or a spa experience, the Cley Hall Hotel here in Spalding has something to offer you.We offer a friendly, welcoming, professional and affordable service to all our guests. Not pompous or pretentious in any way, our aim is to ensure that every guest enjoys their visit whether for a meal in the restaurant, an overnight stay, a meeting, celebration or simply a drink in the bar and that we exceed expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cley Hall Hotel Spalding, Lincolnshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cley Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.