We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out, thoroughly enjoyable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Lakes Safari Zoo

South Lakes Safari Zoo
Broughton Rd, Dalton-in-Furness LA15 8JR, England
441229466086
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
MANCHESTER
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great day out, thoroughly enjoyable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Visited this park on a wet cold March day, however weather forgotten about once we started our tour and went into see the giraffes. What a great day, kids loved it as did my husband and I. Considering this is not a very large park, the variety of animals is good and area to walk is not too vast. Our 2 year old grandson didnot have time to get fed up because you can get so close to the animals. will definately visit again if staying that area of the Lake District.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    717
    233
    72
    39
    49
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
wallsend
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic day our”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I'm not a fan of zoos but was very impressed with the wildlife park, the majority of the animals were roaming freely around large enclosures and mixing with lots of other breeds if animals. There was plenty of places to sit and watch the animals which is very important when visiting an attraction with an elderly person with walking difficulties. Loved the arial walkways which meant i good get some really good photigraphs without bars in the way. It was great to be able to get so close to some of the animals and although you can't touch the lemurs you could still get very close to them. Highlights of the day, feeding the giraffes (very slobbery), having an emu eating from the palm of my hand and watching nina the tiger refuse to go back into her den, preferring to bask in the sunshine! Beware though, if you bring a picnic and leave it on the bottom of your buggy in the buggy park you might come back to find a gang if ringtailed lemurs has helped themselves to it which we saw today LOL A great place to visit, highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a great place to visit. Here animals are in large open enclosures with the chance for you to get up close on boardwalks as well as get in amongst the like of emus etc.
Our two children love it and we have visited several times over the last three years.
My husband and I are not fans of zoos in general, but this is a pleasant attraction as here many breeds roam free here around you.
There's a little train ride which little ones love and you can feed some of the creatures here under your own steam and at dedicated feeding times.
On previous visits we've fed a kangaroo as well as watch others boxing each other!
It's definitely worth a visit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Don't judge this place by their car park, which looks like a building site at present. Also don't judge it by the multitude of warning signs you encounter on your way to the ticket booth. Inside, the Wild Animal Park has obviously been build with a lot of love and care. There is a wide range of animals - lions, tigers, monkeys, rhinos, you name it - plus some more familiar British faces such as donkeys and ducks. Wherever appropriate all animals run free, and if not their enclosures come with an explanation notice and are clean and of decent size.

The layout is imaginative - slightly confusing at times, but build with the best of intentions: to give you the best possible view of the animals, and provide them with more space.

The family restaurant comes with pleasant staff, basic food and, bizarrely but not unwelcome, endless country music. The toilets were environmentally and family friendly, plus clean.

We would return if in the area again, and would recommend to other families and/or animal lovers.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Ubertastic..!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This place doesn't disappoint. It manages to get around all the health and safety madness that we live around and basically let the animals roam free. There is a mega area within the zoo that has lemurs, goats, rabbits, ducks, marmosets, emu's....all roaming around you...no bars, nothing.

Awesome.

All themoaners that complain about mud or cold etc just need to be told to go visit somewhere else...moaners...just get rid of them - this is a great place for kids, they love it, very educational and conservational.

Well worth a trip.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Lakes Safari Zoo also viewed

 
Newby Bridge, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to South Lakes Safari Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Lakes Safari Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.