We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 7132 Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vals
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
7132 Hotel
Save
You added 7132 Hotel to your Saves list
Poststrasse, Vals 7132, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Therme Vals)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Vals
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The main advantage of staying here is the included therme admission, especially the 7-11 am guest exclusive hours. There are relatively few dining options in Vals, and you'll probably end up eating at the hotel. While the food is good expect to pay 50 CHF a person for dinner at their cheaper Chessi restaurant, if you plan on eating at the red restaurant, book the meal along with your hotel for a better price.
Breakfast is not extravagant, but everything that was included was fresh and quite good. There were a selection of local cheeses, crude ham, boil-it-yourself eggs, a good selection of breads, yoghurt, jams, and other standard breakfast bits.
The threme is, needless to say, great. There are pools of 14, 30 (32 in winter), 33, 35, and 42 degrees celsius. There is also a three level sauna, as well as a nude are, if that's your thing. We went during the morning before outside guests could go and it was quite empty.
If you stay at the hotel, your therme pass can still be used until to get into the therme until 12 noon even after checkout so in theory you could stay all afternoon at the therme.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest room option, it's definitely not jumbo yankee sized, but it's more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    77
    32
    15
    12
See reviews for
16
168
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The surroundings are beautiful. The hotel is nice enough, pretty quiet, with good restaurants (and included breakfast). The rooms were clean with newly updated bathrooms. The staff was all nice and helpful. I'd stay again.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Unique thermal baths (with stunning architecture and a minimalist atmosphere made just for relaxation) in small and picturesque eastern Swiss town....beautiful and quiet and calm. Well run hotel with exquisite food in the Red Room restaurant (quite fancy....5 stars for sure...all ingredients delicately chosen). Lovely breakfast with lots of choice, beautiful tea selection. There is also a less formal restaurant with regional food. But the food is not the best if you are trying to detox--lots of dairy (cheese, cream), cured meats, wine and other alcohol, breads, etc. but is delicious! The place stays true to its 60s architecture, which is quite funny at times...but everything is meticulously chosen and the management displays attention to detail and excellent customer service. A lovely retreat, highly recommended (even if expensive).

Room Tip: Would recommend the renovated rooms, because the others seem old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I went there in January 2013 with a friend. I want to explain to non Swiss that Vals is a very typical and small village, don’t expect shops like in St. Moritz, Davos,etc. The village is very nice for walking. The hotel , as well as the thermal baths, are at the beginning of the village when you arrive from Ilanz.
If you want you can reserve a parking (is not very much expensive) or otherwise park in the main parking and then take the elevator to reach the reception of the hotel. As we booked a garage I called the reception and they provide us a porter to help us with the luggage’s. We booked a “Provvisoria” room that is the best type of room (renewed by Arch. Zumthor) and they are in the main building with direct access to the baths (in this kind of room you will receive slippers and bathrobe). The rooms was simply amazing a mix of modernity and 70’s!! We had a balcony with a superb view over the valley and the size of the room was fine. The bathroom was a little bit old dated but I think that is fine as it is. Overall the bath complex (included the hotel) is a 60-70’s style but I really enjoyed it. In the evening there is the piano bar and the hotel even organize small concerts in the hall. The breakfast is amazing with a lot of products for the valley of Vals that in my opinion is really a big plus. We had dinner in restaurant Chessi (that is the other restaurant not in the main building) that is a typical Swiss “stube” the food was amazing also considering that for half board the extra to be paid was not so high. Let’s talk about the price…..mmmmmmmmmmh in my opinion, even if in the price is included the access to the baths, is a little bit too expensive even if I don’t have complaints about my stay. Finally a few word about the baths, there are sauna, Turkish bath, swimming pools, etc. but the main aspect is the architecture of such thermal bath designed by Arch. Zumthors: is an excellent job using the stones of Vals’s valley. In my opinion they are fine for a few days not for a week of wellbeing as there are other thermal complexes with more choice. In any case for a week or 3 days, or to visit once, is a lovely place.

Room Tip: Book a Provvisoria one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had been planning to go to this famous thermal spa for years and felt so lucky that we finally got there and it didn’t disappoint me at all. Loving the simple but yet complex design of the architecture. The use of local stone together with bronze fittings and glass is natural but elegant. Different combination of the spas pleases all your senses. And in the outdoor pool, you can float in the spring water while look at the picture-like Swiss mountain. In the night session, it gets really romantic with the bright stars and the bubbling sound from the water. The hotel building itself is very basic with interestingly designed folding furniture. But you won’t spend much time here anyway. We bought some nice candle holders from the hotel shop, which were made of the same stone as the building. Just wanted to keep something as a memory of this special place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The drive to the Hotel is nothing else than espectacular in fact the best part of the trip. A new renovated room , corner for a better view of the mountains is a must (#701) . Bathrooms are very humble and not ventilated, not a 5 start on that department. They do pay a lot of attention to details like linens , flowers and turn down service. The pools / spa is very nice when is only for Hotel guest other wise is crowed and messy. THe staff is nice and polite and the uniforms are very chic. Breakfast is superb , not a detail missing and very well served. Food a the Red restaurant is too fancy and complicated not proper for the place and its architecture. The simple typical restaurant down the hill was very good and proper for the place. The skiing facilieties in town are not well maintain and very rustic.

Room Tip: corner new renovated room , #701. to enjoy the pools book mid week when the locals are not around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Depending on which of the buildings you choose to stay. Regardless, on a 2nd visit (in 6 years) we found it far less pleasant than we remembered. Though we had a very nice room in the main building, we will probably not go back. Not for the current room prices, anyway.

Most disappointing aspect was the "Red Restaurant" which we thought was great first time we've been in the Hotel Therme Vals. This time though we found it offered an incredibly average menu, with a slightly pushy service (the profit margin on alcohol is huge, so reject any offer, or at least ask in advance), and vey many dishes which were way to salty.

The thermes themsvels look unique only the first time you see them. This time it looked a little bit messy, and dirty. Guests leaving their towels all over the place, and floor covered with water.

Room Tip: Preferably in the main building. It's cheaper elsewhere, but then not that great value either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 7132 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7132 Hotel

Address: Poststrasse, Vals 7132, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Therme Vals)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Vals
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Vals
Number of rooms: 140

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 7132 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.