We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best waitress ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marine Hotel

Marine Hotel
215 New Street, Brighton, Bayside, Victoria, Australia
+ 61 3 9592 1687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 69 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best waitress ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Going there regularly, mistakenly overpaid and the waitress came all the way to the car to give back my money! Best service, will be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food is very nice but the service was extremely disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have dined here for lunch a couple of times in the last few months, the food was very nice each time. They offer quite a good value Lunch menu including a drink, Seniors menu and Buy one, get one free (shopping docket) on their A la carte menu. HOWEVER YOU have to be careful to ensure YOU ask for the right kind of drink (i.e. post mix not in a bottle) to get the drink included in the deal or you get charged extra for the drinks.

It's too long a story to spell out here but suffice it to say when one of the wait staff use the phrase "it's your word against mine" when discussing the bill that's enough to make me reconsider ever going back again :-(

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food Good, Service Poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

It has been quite sometime between visits and while the food is reasonable the wait staff remain poor and not up to the task. Not many at the restaurant but very difficult to get attention, often requests are forgotten or overlooked. What potentially might be a good night out falls flat due to the poor service. I doubt they will see us again for a long time, if at all.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wow!!! An evening to remember.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Lovely warm welcome when we turned up for our booking for 4 on a Saturday night. Comprehensive menu with some great combinations. All 4 meals were faultless and my Duck 2 ways was truly yummy. Dessert and a must have was the the Creme Brulee(my favourite). It was perfect and served with a berry compote and a home made lemon gelati. Prices for main meals are around $30 but the servings are generous and given the classy decor and table service makes you feel like you are in a restaurant rather than a pub. So definitely worth it when one receives good portions of good food, great ambiance and service.Gold card in the Entertainment book a great bonus. Also, advertises with Shop a docket but not so good. Buy one meal & 2 drinks and get $23 off 2nd meal. But with such wonderful food I'll definite be back soon...very soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value, reliable and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

A Brighton landmark, the Marine is easy to enjoy. It has a large off-street carpark, drive-in bottle shop and several comfortable bars. Relaxed and spacious, we like the dining room for its reliable, diverse menu. Today, my mum and I had a 200g porterhouse steak each, a glass of house wine, and mum finished off with a creme brulee, all for $43! It's just not worth cooking at home when you've got this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marine Hotel also viewed

 
Brighton, Bayside
 

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.