We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, fine hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Brighton On The Bay

Save Saved
You added Quest Brighton On The Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quest Brighton On The Bay
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   250 The Esplanade, Brighton, Bayside, Victoria 3186, Australia (Formerly Rydges Brighton Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Brighton B&B and Inns
Wirral UK
Top Contributor
431 reviews 431 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 232 cities Reviews in 232 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
“Lovely location, fine hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. They let us have a look at a number of rooms and we chose 13. They are all a bit different - some are smaller and have a balcony. Some are queen, some king.

We've stayed at a number of Quest properties. Most are apartments, but Quest did not build this hotel, but bought it, so it does not have 1,2 bed apartments etc, just rooms. Non of the rooms have sea view, just the penthouses, which are on long term lease.

The hotel is located on the beach esplanade. You just walk across the road to the beach, in either direction. Lovely CBD views across the bay. Nice pier to walk along. Sailing club and outdoor swimming baths opposite. All very pleasant. A few shops nearby, but for the main shops and supermarkets, you need to drive 2 mins to Brighton.

Large private underground car park. Efficient and friendly check in. Plenty of local information in reception. There is a restaurant, but we did not use it.

Huge room with very comfy king bed. Good size tv. Nice sofa area and spaceous dining area. Compact but functional cooking area with dishwasher. No in room washer/dryer, but free facilities available in the hotel.

Very large bathroom with his/hers sinks. Large walk-in shower and full size tub.

All very clean and well maintained.

If you want the action of the city, then don't stay here, but if you want a peaceful beachside location, then this is perfect. There is a fish and chip shop nearby and cafes opposite at the sailing club and baths.

We liked everything about the place. Helpful staff, great room, fab location. Could not find anything that we did not like.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    9
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
8
21
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here with my 2 sons (aged 11 & 14) for the Sabot Nationals held across the road at the RBYC. So very handy to nip back for forgotten items and to have a bite to eat. Our room was very quiet, spacious and comfortable, the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was huge with the biggest shower I have ever used. A small and efficient kitchenette was great, even had a dishwasher draw. The balcony useful for drying sailing gear but not so much for sitting out in as it was dirty and didn't get cleaned the whole time I was there, although house keeping came and made up the beds, tidied up and left clean towels and toiletries each day, which I very much appreciated. I was also able to leave not only my car but the boat trailer in the underground carpark even before and after check in and out. A short walk up the road is Church street for shopping, eating, movies, groceries and ATM's. Thank you to the all at the Quest for making my time in Brighton easy and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Hotel is ok, but simple. So is the breakfast. Location is nice close to the beach, but not to much more to see. There is a street up in Brighton where you can walk and have some food or drinks, but it is far outside of the city of Melbourne if you want to enjoy the city life. Good service, got some free snacks in the bar even if the restaurant was closed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stay here about 4 times a year for work. I cannot fault this hotel, the staff are friendly, the resturant is fabulous and the beds are THE most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. Looking forwrd to my next stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

On arrival the manager (I think) who is Spanish could not have been more helpful, my apartment is very nice clean and comfortable. You get to use the yacht club gym foc but to be honest it's virtually on the beach with a lovely costal path wher loads of people cycle and run so no need. The road up the side of the hotel and right at the end leads to some great shops and bars etc. Brighton is quite a wealthy area it seems with a thriving cafe culture and this hotel is perfect.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Maitland, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very nice hotel, with reasonably priced rooms - about half the price of one of its competitors less than a km down the road.
Reception staff were very good, and quite obliging. We turned up early (we advised previous), were able to leave our stuff in a secure room (reception office) until our room was ready at about 10:30.
Straight across the road (traffic lights right at front of hotel) was the beach, so we really couldn't have got much closer to the beach if we tried.
Minor issue with the milk in the room - I've never seen long-life milk past (kust) its Best Before date in a hotel before.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed as a family group which includes 2 teenage boys. It was perfect for our needs. A clean well maintained modern property with an ability for us all to stay in one apartment. The location is beside the water in Brighton with good parking on site and walking distance to the busy Brighton shopping precinct. We found the staff helpful and friendly. This is our second stay here and we would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Brighton, particularly families.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest Brighton On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Brighton On The Bay

Address: 250 The Esplanade, Brighton, Bayside, Victoria 3186, Australia (Formerly Rydges Brighton Beach)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Bayside > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Brighton On The Bay 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Brighton on the Bay (formerly Rydges Brighton Beach) is located in one of Melbourne's most desirable and well-known suburbs.Quest Brighton on the Bay is a modern 4 star rated (anticipated) property with apartment style guest rooms. Only 20-minutes from the city, Quest Brighton on the Bay allows guests to enjoy the seaside suburb's atmosphere while being close enough to the city to stay in touch.Quest Brighton on the Bay features meeting facilities, onsite car parking, Verve restaurant, guest laundry and Endota Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quest Brighton On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Brighton On The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.