We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Subiaco Hotel

Subiaco Hotel
465 Hay St, Subiaco, Western Australia, Australia
9381 3069
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 65 Restaurants in Subiaco
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We ate as a family before going to the theatre. There was a hangover from the football crowd, but there was good separation, and it was not intrustive.
The food was up market pub food. We had turkish bread + dips, salt and pepper squid, and then mains - all reasonably done, very nice, if no spectacular. However spectacular food is not what this is about - it is pub-fare, but done well in pleasant surroundings.
The sevice was pleasant also, with cheeful and helpful staff, not as good as Ace Pizza (we ate there the night before), however certainly not bad in any way (as I have seen commented on these reviews).
Ovrall a good experience, and recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    73
    32
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food in good surroundings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We went for lunch on a Saturday. We didn't realise, but the dockers were playing a home match, so it was really busy. Even so, our waitress was friendly and service was prompt but not rushed. They are half way through the renovations, when it is finished the setting will be amazing.
The food was delicious, with our group having steak, lamb cutlass and grilled fish of the day. We managed to have room for pudding, the sticky date pudding was to die for! We will definitely go back.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
477 reviews 477 reviews
356 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Busy for good reason”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

A pretty good spot on all fronts, apart from the renovations meaning the toilets are a distance and porta loo's. An interesting menu with good honest food and a fair wine list. Service crisp, but nott super cheap, but neither is it ridiculously expensive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dreadful food in the cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just got back from lunch at their new cafe. Dreadful fish and chips, worst I've ever had, fish dry and chips lukewarm. Calamari also served lukewarm. Actually told the staff that it was dreadful which is something I don't usually do but when all three of us think their food's bad that's not a good sign.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food great, toilets a shambles. Won't return until renos completed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Have visited the restaurant many times and food is consistently good. Service is also always very good.

A pleasant lunch with a good choice and some interesting options for all tastes. It's a smart bistro-cafe-style of venue with linen tablecloths and napkins. Bustling atmosphere which is good for groups/families/friends rather than for a romantic liason.

MAJOR DOWNSIDE!! Renos are being done and the toilets have been reduced to a single portakabin cubicle. This is totally inadequate. Saturday lunchtime it was smelly, wet, dirty and the bin was full. God know what it's like on a busy Friday or Saturday night.

We won't be returning until the renos are completed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Subiaco Hotel also viewed

Subiaco, Greater Perth
Subiaco, Greater Perth
 
Subiaco, Greater Perth
 

Been to Subiaco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Subiaco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.