We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New menu is no good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Subiaco Hotel

Subiaco Hotel
465 Hay St, Subiaco, Western Australia, Australia
9381 3069
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 64 restaurants in Subiaco
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Perth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“New menu is no good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This has always been a great place to eat but lately something has changed. There is a new menu which is much less appealing and some of the sensible favourites have gone. Why remove the tasting plate which was always great? Why not just change what was on it? Many of the new dishes are poorly designed. For example, sides are usually shared. However, new lettuce side dish cannot physically be shared due to poor design. Sides were presented without any serving utensils. Are we supposed to use our own knife and fork in the serving dish? Yuck. I asked for serving utensils for sides and was given one fork and spoon which was apparently meant to be shared amongst all the sides. More requests and eventually got more forks and spoons. Then had to request knife to cut up lettuce salad because it consisted of 2 large iceberg lettuce leaves stuck in a bowl, yes seriously, so we couldn't share it without upending it out of the bowl onto a plate and then cutting it up with the hard to obtain knife.
Whoever designed and styled the latest menu must have been the work experience student.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    30
    62
    29
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“You will need to go to Macca's on the way home......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Small serves with big prices in the restaurant. Looked enviously at the food going to the bar area.
Busy though. This place relies on its reputation but unless it lifts its game or lowers the price, I won't be back in a hurry. No need for the loud music through the speakers either, quite noisy enough.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The well-known "Subi" hotel on Perth's endless Hay Street is worth a visit for the quality of the food. Small tables inside, a wee bit crowded and close together while they refurbish, but nice enough. Chirpy and efficient service from bright young things. Typical Australian place - everything works well but you pay for that.

I met up with two old friends from my MBA class and managed to con them into paying, which was a lifesaver as (by South African standards) it was startlingly expensive. Mind you, most of Perth is too. Main courses in the thirty dollar region, I had the best fish and chips of my life and our Subi Plate shared starter was delicious. Toilets out back off a courtyard which is where the smokers huddle. Parking is a major problem generally in that part of town, and even though we were drinking Hahn 3.5% I suspect taking a cab there might be the best option.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Footy Crowd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very crowded when there's a footy game going on but decent pub and hopefullya bit airier and brighter once the renovations have finished.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I guess that's one way to pay for renovations........”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My partner & I had occasion to attend the Regal Theatre and thought we'd have a drink and light meal before the show. As the Subiaco Hotel is adjacent, this seemed like a good idea. Wow, did I get that wrong. While the champagne and beer were average priced, the grilled Turkish break and dips were outrageous. $25.50 for two bits of Turkish bread and three small bowls of dip. When I wanted to order more bread, this was just $3.00, so this makes these dips $22.50 . The bowls were 6cm diameter and 5cm deep. I guess that's how they will pay for their renovations.......... We will certainly not go back there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Subiaco Hotel also viewed

Subiaco, Greater Perth
 
Subiaco, Greater Perth
Subiaco, Greater Perth
 

Been to Subiaco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Subiaco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.