We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep driving!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aktiv Zur Rose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aktiv Zur Rose to your Saves list
Hotel Aktiv Zur Rose
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brennerstrasse 30 | Steinach in Tirol, Steinach am Brenner A-6150, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Keep driving!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We chose this hotel based on reviews that it was a great place for Christmas.We specifically left it late to book anything, so we had an understanding of villages with snow already. Having emailed before booking, to confirm they were in the snow line,and already had lots of snow,which was our main reason for travelling there, we arrived 10 days later, to find no snow in the village or surrounds.The ski field was apparently open, but it was suggested by the owners mother, that we should just drive 26 km, and we could enjoy as much snow as we liked. Trying to explain to the owner, that we were terribly disappointed, and although the snow is not in their control, the fact I had specifically emailed before booking, explaining how it was very important to us to have a white christmas in a small village atmosphere. The village itself is non existing, just cars wizzing past the front door. Having said that, the chef for the evening meal was very good and worth going there for a meal. The breakfast one morning was very off putting with 3 long hairs found in the bread basket and the scrambled eggs, the cereal had white spots on indicating it was old. After mentioning it to the waitress, there was other cereal the next morning.
One lady who worked at the front counter was just lovely, and could see I was visibly upset when we arrived.She showed compassion and understanding, something the owner just didn't understand. The rooms were freezing the first night, and after mentioning to the owners mother, we were informed no one else complained however at the time, there was only one other room occupied.The next night was slightly warmer.To be honest, I think it was more their attitude to things we mentioned -again the owner's mother who was constantly around, told us we were jetlagged and not thinking clearly about there being no snow around anywhere. We ended up moving up to Seefeld on the tourist information office recommendation which was just lovely and had tons of snow and a gorgeous village atmosphere. Naturally we forfeited our unused nights minus half board and the owner can rebutt this being sour grapes, but given we had only just booked and we had specifically stated the need for snow having come such a long way, a few nights penalty instead of 100% would have shown heart and compassion. Life is too short to stay with moody, uncaring hotel owners.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We spent christmas at this hotel and were blown away with the holiday we had. On arrival the owner met us and our cases were unloaded and taken to our rooms, The hotel is in a lovely little village just off the brenner pass, it is warm, clean and kept to a high standard.The food was of the highest quality and plentyfull. The bar was well stocked and reasonably priced, there is plenty of parking round the back of the hotel. A nearby ski-lift provides transport up the hill for the more active skiers and sledgers. Ideal base for touring round the area with plenty of places to visit nearby (Innsbruck, Vipiteno etc...) Christmas eve was made very special by all the hotel staff standing round the tree lighting the candles and singing 'silent night' in german, the language in which it was written!! Would recomend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the tirol area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberaeron, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

The Hotel has been in the same family for several generations. The Hotel looked and felt like it had been recently upgraded to a high standard. We had six nights half board and although the breakfast had a limited choice and was fairly basic the evening meals were of a very high standard. Frantz the owner acted as our guide to the side valleys for one day, very enjoyable. We used the Hotel as a base for touring as it was very central.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

The website correctly gives the flavour of an entreprising hotel run in a business-like fashion: the location is not that attractive - a narrow street in a fairly dull border town that still doesn't seem to have recovered from losing all that through traffic decades ago. Restaurant rather brightly-lit and institutional, but decent food and pretty good value for money all told.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

We stayed at the Zur Rose in June 2005 and enjoyed it so much that we decided to return again.

In June 2006 we were on a tour of Switzerland and Austria. We had already visited Vienna and Salzburg so Steinach was an ideal base for visiting in and around Innsbruck.

This time my wife and I were allocated a small family apartment. It was clean and spacious and would be ideal for a family of two adults/two children.

My mother-in-law occupied a single room and paid substantially less than the double rate. Ideal for the solo traveller. The room had a single bed and was smaller than a double but it had all the facilities and was very comfortable.

Both rooms had a balcony with lovely views of the mountains with breath taking scenery. The Brenner Pass motorway could also be seen in the distance. However, there was no noise from the passing traffic.

The hotel is family run and the owner, Franz and his staff were as hospitable as ever and could not do enough to make us feel welcome. We took dinner in the hotel on both nights of our stay. Excellent, home cooked Austrian cuisine and not at all over priced.

The city of Innsbruck is a wonderful place. Very cmpact and easy to explore.

My wife and I would like to return to Steinach in the winter. The area looks to be developing the ski facilities. It doesn’t look to be an extensive ski range but probably ideal for beginner and intermediates and less commercialised.

Just one point if driving in Austria or Switzerland. You are required to purchase and display a Vignette (Tax disc) in the windscreen before you enter the country and use the motorways. A 10 day disc costs only 8 euros. These can be obtained from service stations just prior to entry or at the toll plazas.

You also need to pay tolls on the Brenner Pass and certain other sections of motorway. If you travel into Innsbruck from Steinach you are better taking the valley ‘B’ road and avoid paying high tolls for using only a short section of motorway.

The other points raised in my review of last year are unchanged. We would definitely recommend this hotel. We love Austria and will definitely return to Steinach and Zur Rose Hotel again in the near future.

  • Liked — Value for money - typical Austrian hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Tips/Secrets — Take a cable car ride into the mountains
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2005

Our party of nine travelled to Austria in June 2005 to compete in the Tyrolean Speed Marathon that ran down the Brenner Pass into Innsbruck.

Hotels in Innsbruck were expensive so we booked into the Hotel Aktiv Zur Rose in nearby Steinach just 14 miles out of Innsbruck.

We were not disappointed and found the hotel and the villiage of Steinach absolutely tremendous. What a good find! Comfortable rooms, spotlessly clean hotel, excellent food and very warm hospitality from the hosts.

We ate in the hotel and had three course dinner for 10 euros a night. The rooms cost 37 euros per person including breakfast based on two sharing. Singe rooms were 45 euros a night.

Our room rate also included a free tourist pass that gave us free use of local buses, cable cars up into the mountains and other admissions like local swimming and crazy golf. The hotel also had a hot tub, steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi and gym. All included in the price.

The hotel was a family run business and the English speaking host could not have been more helpful throughout our stay. There are plenty of walks in this locality both in the mountains and through the valleys.

Steinach was only a twenty minute train ride into Innsbruck costing only 8 euros return. You could also drive into Innsbruck with fairly inexpensive city parking. Free garage parking was available at the hotel.

Steinach itself was a very quaint, typically Austrian hill village with shops, supermarkets, bars and restaurants. An excellent base for a trip to the Innsbruck area costing half of that you would pay in the City.

The village was well located for the start of the marathon event that we all enjoyed on the Saturday depite a mixture of 90 degrees of sunshine followed by a huge electrical thunder storm!

I am sure we will return to Steinach, possibly in the winter where I understand there is affordable sking over some of the lesser known ski areas.

I would recommend the Hotel Aktiv Zur Rose and would be pleased to give any more information on a stay in this lovely part of Austria.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aktiv Zur Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aktiv Zur Rose

Address: Brennerstrasse 30 | Steinach in Tirol, Steinach am Brenner A-6150, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Steinach am Brenner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Steinach am Brenner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aktiv Zur Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Aktiv Zur Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aktiv Zur Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.