We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resting spot in Port Alfred” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MyPond Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added MyPond Hotel to your Saves list
MyPond Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 van der Riet Street | Eastern cape, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Port Alfred
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best resting spot in Port Alfred”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Fantastic Service, Hugo the manager went out of his way to assist me which was late one night and came to introduce himself the next morning to insure that I was completely satisfied and to see if I need any further assistance

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
14
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

What a treat to stay two nights in a family 'room' here - two rooms actually, both with televisions and superb bed linen. Spotlessly clean, warm (ecofriendly geothermal heating) and comfortable with a real upmarket feeling. The riverside setting is hard to beat with the whole place opening straight onto the river bank. A sun trap to watch local birdlife and boats go by. Very short walking distance to shops in town, or a 1 minute stroll along the river to Barmuda (terrific bar restaurant). Many thanks to Hugo and his team for making us feel like welcome friends. We will be back when we can.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

MyPond is definitely not an ordinary hotel. The decor is funky and the hotel is full of interesting quirks. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean and well equipped. We stayed here twice (on our way up to the Underberg and again when we returned). We also got bumped up to a suite on our first stay. The river side suites have an awesome view.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Stayed for a long weekend with my two older children in a family suite. Perfect size for us all, comfy sleeper couch(Im told!)nice quality linens. Modern chairs which despite looking really uncomfortable , were very cosy to sit on. Bathroom only had shower but it was a good one!
Conveniently located in a part of town you could safely walk to the shops from. Sadly the resturant was closed in the evenings(off season) but there is an Ocean Basket almost next door.Breakfast in hotel was okay...Friendly polite staff, happy to help with anything any time.
Only gripe is that the suite was located at the top of the main stairs down to lobby. All the floors had that shiney hollow sound so they should ban high heels! Also scraping furniture below us was a slight annoyance .Fisherman yelling along shoreline on Sunday morning also not appreciated but these were the reason why I graded the sleep quality so low- the bed was very comfy!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

We are from Gauteng and we spent 3 nights at the MyPond Hotel in December 2009 - from the booking online (which was completely hassle-free and convenient) to the last evening, was absolute bliss.

The room we stayed in was comfortable, clean, air-conditioned and had all the amenities you'd expect from a four star hotel and more. Every one of the staff members were friendly, helpful and professional and they went out of their way to deliver excellent service. The atmosphere is wonderfully peaceful and we were relaxed from the minute we arrived, until we had to leave ;-(

Early buttermilk and pecan breakfast pancakes were heavenly outside in the peaceful morning hour next to the tranquil silent river. Lunch and Dinner was just as exquisite.

What made us enjoy the trip even more, was knowing that the MyPond hotel is "green" as well and are doing their bit to save our planet.

We will definitely be back - hopefully soon!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Great room,s great people, great service.. definetly stay here again

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemanus South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

I can highly recommend MY POND HOTEL. We stayed here twice in July, on the way to and back from the Transkei. The rooms are stylish, not stuffy as is often the case with small town hotels, and are fully equipped with all we could need and more. Hugo and his staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome.
We stayed in the adjoining family suite on the first occasion, which was more than spacious, and had a very comfortable double bed sleeper couch for our child.
The food in the Etare restaurant was unique and delicious, and extremely well prices.
On our second stay we had to do an (very) early departure - 4am. This was no hassle at all for the night watchman who got up to see us off.
All in all a fantastic stay, highly recommended, and we will surely be back.
Rosanne

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MyPond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MyPond Hotel

Address: 33 van der Riet Street | Eastern cape, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MyPond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MyPond Hotel is an exciting, newly built hotel on the banks of the Kowie River, in Port Alfred. The emphasis of the accommodation is on comfortable, and affordable, luxury. All hot water, the swimming pool and air-conditioning is heated/cooled using innovative and very enviro-friendly geothermal (heat from the earth) technology – a first for South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your MyPond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MyPond Hotel Port Alfred, South Africa - Eastern Cape

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MyPond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.