We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but needs a bit of an upgrade on aircons!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MyPond Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added MyPond Hotel to your Saves list
MyPond Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 van der Riet Street | Eastern cape, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Port Alfred
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely but needs a bit of an upgrade on aircons!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at MyPond Hotel and really enjoyed it. We booked the honeymoon suite but was disappointed by the aircon that is so noisy you cannot sleep therefore we had to switch it off. It was 30 degrees in Port Alfred! The staff were fabulous and the setting is really pretty with the boats going by. We ate at the Baracuda restaurant (50 meters away) but would rather prefered the Ocean Basket right next door. Will visit it again.

Room Tip: When checking into your room put the aircon on to see if it works softly and/or at all. One cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre S, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Good afternoon

Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time to send us your views about the hotel.

I sincerely apologise for the unacceptable experience you had regarding the airdonditioners. It certainly is a huge irratatation when these not working properly in the very hot conditions we were experiencing.

Thank you so much regarding for your comments regarding for the rest of your stay and I really appreciate your intent to visit us again.

Yours sincerely

Andre' Steyn
Hospitality Projects
Stenden University
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
14
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Wow – what an amazing place, the suit was very spacious and clean. The views over the river were amazing! We even did some fishing of the river wall! It was very peaceful and comfortable. A delicious breakfast was served on the river and one of the best eggs benedict we’ve ever had. We were only due to stay one night but had such a lovely time we stay and additional night. The hospitality and service was warm, helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back! Thanks especially to Thomas who was more than hospitable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I had a great time here. The staff was top class, the food was tasty and the suit I stayed in was very nice. Couple that with the location and you get a winner... I only had a one night stop over but next time ill definitely stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre S, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your accolades regarding our hotel and particularly the friendilness of our Staff.

It is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Andre' Steyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

On our first stay in December 2011 the room had a wet moldy smell. And the dinner was not up to boutique standards! The creme brulee however was very good.

On our second visit in December 2012 the air conditioning unit was broken,they where help full in sorting out a temporary unit however the window had to be open and we spent the rest of the night emptying water from the machine to keep it working.

We did not have dinner on this visit however we had breakfast, the continental breakfast was mediocre and was not covered, The cooked breakfast was cold, there is a franchise in Port Alfred that does a better breakfast and a fraction of the cost.

On numerous occasions service staff where seen behind the bar on their mobile phones. I realize that the hotel is run by hotel students but that does not excuse this type of behavior.

If the hotel is to be a training hotel and I am not against this but I don't believe you should charge the same price as one that has qualified staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre S, Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest

I sincerely apology for the unacceptable service that you received during your stay ay MyPond Hotel. Both the standard of the air-cinditioning and the breakfast quality as descrobed is certainly not our normal standard.

By way of apologising and and as a small token I would like to invite you bck to the Hotel as my Guests on a complimentary basis for 2 nights including breakfast.

Please make use of this small apology becuase it is comments from discerning Guests such as yourself that encourages us to pursue the high standards that we strive for.

Yours sincerely

Andre' Steyn
andre.steyn@stenden.ac.za
Mobile: 0828070533
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan Valley
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a sparkling clean, new hotel located on the waterfront in a quiet location not far off the main road. We stayed in a large room overlooking the river. Comfy bed, beautiful bathroom and breakfast outside in the morning by the river. Great breakfast and service. Staff very friendly and helpful - great place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay in a room overlooking the river - beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I've stayed at MyPond several times and every stay has been a pleasure. A hotel run by young, efficient people who know how to look after their guests. Breakfast was always a treat, serving what I think is the best coffee in Port Alfred.

MyPond is a wonderful advert for this quaint seaside town and will make any holiday (regardless of the time of the year) delightful.

The rooms are spacious, full of light and offer everything you need.
What a pleasure. Every time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Hotel is run by hotel management students from Stenden Hospitality College; if you know anything about Stenden, then you would know that you are in good hands.

Breakfast is hearty, and supper is a real delight all served at the lilly restaurant; service with a smile, and good quality food delivered quickly and with flair.

We went for the classic family room; the decor is breath taking and spacious, with a fantastic view of the estuary. Has fast internet access (WiFi) which worked well, and an iPod docking station !

Hotel is just round the corner from the main shopping center, and next door is ocean basket if you wanted some nice seafood.

It doesn't much look like a hotel from the outside, more like an upmarket guest house, but don't be fooled once you get inside you realise that it is indeed a hotel. We felt welcome, totally at ease and at home at this hotel; its home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to MyPond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MyPond Hotel

Address: 33 van der Riet Street | Eastern cape, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MyPond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MyPond Hotel is an exciting, newly built hotel on the banks of the Kowie River, in Port Alfred. The emphasis of the accommodation is on comfortable, and affordable, luxury. All hot water, the swimming pool and air-conditioning is heated/cooled using innovative and very enviro-friendly geothermal (heat from the earth) technology – a first for South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your MyPond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MyPond Hotel Port Alfred, South Africa - Eastern Cape

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MyPond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.