We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go again and again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve to your Saves list
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
5.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   R72 Main Road | Riet River, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Will go again and again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I finally managed to go to a place which you normally just read about - everything was just amazing. The attention to detail and looking after your needs is superb, the decor in rooms is the best, views to die for from the suite deck.... Food was good and lots of time for relaxation. Saw lots of animals during game drive - did not want to leave at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    13
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
116
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Oceana is easily one of the most stunning hotels I have ever visited. Stayed in the beautiful private house, 3br, 3.5ba, full kitchen and bar, hot jacuzzi (rare! not just a cold plunge pool). Staff were amazing. It's not a big 5 game reserve, but we saw rhinos, buffalos and very rare sable antelopes. Food was inclusive and were pretty good. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Book the private house if you are traveling in group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We celebrated our 27th wedding anniversary here and it was wonderful. The staff were very attentive and friendly from when we arrived to when we left. The food was great, the view and rooms were amazing. Loved every minute there.

Room Tip: definitely choose the ocean view rooms - the view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

To say we didn't want to leave was an understatement. Time flys when you having fun and this was no exception. Game drives, walks on the touched beach, massages , breakfasts on the deck, private dinner on our balcony. What an experience !!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We spent four days at Oceana and it was really an excellent experience. The views - breathtaking, the food - every meal an adventure in taste, the staff - friendly, helpful, professional!!! We have never been treated this well in any other resort or hotel. Thank you!!! Coenie & Yolanda Roux
www.oceanareserve.com

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Oceana is a wonderful place to stay. We spent two nights and we stayed in the Private House, it's really fantastic. The rooms are very comfortable, with giant bathrooms, excellent decor and ambiance. You'll have everything you need there. The service and food are excellent. The views are breathtaking and everybody is extremely nice and helpful. It coudn't have been better. You can ride the game drives and see giraffes, rhinos -even from your room- in a beautiful environment. You can't walk to the beach, they drive you in a jeep, very short drive. High dunes and beautiful beach. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

our stay from the time we arrived was great. We were treated like royality the both nights that we were there. the staff are great and very helpfull. everything is si neat and 5 Star treatment.
Would love to go back for a longer period.
Mags and Vasi

Room Tip: lower rooms are very nice and quiet. we stayed in the Lagoon Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve

Address: R72 Main Road | Riet River, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Port Alfred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceana Beach & Wildlife Reserve is the product of a man who was brave enough to live his dream, and he extends an invitation to those who need a place to dream, be pampered, rejuvenate, relax, discover and be delighted by.After traveling the world, I discovered the place closest to my heart, Oceana. The first time I beheld the collection of natural wonders, something extraordinary happened, as I embraced the expanse of its exotic beauty, it embraced me. Rip Miller - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceana Beach And Wildlife Reserve Hotel Port Alfred
Oceana Beach And Wildlife Reserve Port Alfred, South Africa - Eastern Cape

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.