We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Sabaay

Baan Sabaay
Walking Street, Ko Mak, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 21 Restaurants in Ko Mak
Cuisines: Thai, NorthWestern Chinese
Restaurant details
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I loved the place and the owner was very friendly. We had vegetarian friedballs and it was delicious. The atmosphere is really cooooool. It's the perfect place to chill out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southern Gulf Islands, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Rennee and his wife do a great job of looking after people at Baan Sabaay, good food, friendly service and great atmosphere, I thoroughly recommend it...

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh mak
1 review
“Very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Really amazing.
The food is great.
Try the massaman curry.The best curry ever.
Great place for a beer and good food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane Province, Laos
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great first impression...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

First night I had the massaman curry, it was divine! We returned 2 or 3 times after trying to find other things up to the same standard, but to no avail. I ended up getting bits of plastic in my food on 2 separate occasions, mentioned it to the waitress the second time and got an "oh..." in response. In short go for a massaman curry then try elsewhere

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinjarra, Australia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Great Massaman but poor service and chain smoking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Probably the best Massaman curry I have ever had. More spicy than the traditional Massaman, but in rich coconut cream. I would have gone back a second night for a repeat, it was that good, but for two things; such a pity. Service. Our order was taken promptly and the food arrived quickly and then after, we were person non grata as far as getting any follow up service for drinks, desert or even paying the bill. In the end (a good 15 minutes) my wife had to go up to the hostess sitting at the bar and ask for the bill. They probably couldn't see us through the bushfire thick smoke from all the chain smoking Europeans, which is another reason why I would not go back. Mind you it doesn't help when the host and hostess are part of the chain smokers who like blowing their cancerous smoke over your food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baan Sabaay also viewed

Ko Mak, Trat Province
 

Been to Baan Sabaay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Sabaay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.