We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum Yum Yum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chill

Chill
Walking Street, Ko Mak, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 20 Restaurants in Ko Mak
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Richmond, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum Yum Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

On Koh Mak, this is a bang for your buck! Pok and his wife make great homey Thai food that will keep you craving more. I know this first hand because I still craved their own spin on the mamapad khi mao that I couldn't find anywhere else in Thailand. Whenever we were abroad in Thailand, Cambodia, Indonesia during our 3 month travel and was eating at a overpriced restaurant we always fantasized about their meals. We stayed on Koh Mak about a 10 min walk away and would walk there about 3 times a day to eat there. It was close, it was priced well, it was delicious! Their smoothies and strawberry lassis were heavenly.

The location is like a large patio and they even have hookah/sheesha in a few flavours for you to enjoy the cooling of the night which sipping on a beer. Pok is a really friendly guy if you take the time to talk to him! We always regret not talking to him more because it absolutely adds to the already yummy experience. We left a shell there with our names on it (though his daughter took it and enjoyed colouring over our writing haha), so if you stop by tell him we say hi! You may even be greeted by his daughter who in her quiet manner will drop off the menus, don't worry just keep smiling at her and she'll warm up to you!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic food and awesome frozen mojitos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great little local restaurant, serving good selection of Thai foood ( the serve western food, but we don't eat that in Thailand! ) diagonally opposite Baan Thai beach resort.
I can highly recommended Mamas green curry, penang and pad ke mao, delish and authentic. We ate here a few times and it was always consistant.
Try the frozen mojitos, never had a frozen one before and was fab!

Anyway great restaurant, nice vibe and very affordable food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Little gem on Koh Mak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Great find on Koh Mak. Laid back atmosphere, cheap menu with good choice. We went each day for the juices (coconut milk shake is amazing). Located on the main street.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A real gem, great food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stopped off here to have a couple cocktails and a quick bite. Thank god we did, best cocktails on the island( try the frozen mojito, excellent) and also some of the best Thai food to be had.
A nice place on the main walking street, it has a few tables overlooking the road. All the currys are great and the stir frys so tasty. Prices good and service from the owner Pok is great, all with the obligatory Thai smile. I highly recommend this place, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic local food, plus awesome frozen Mojitos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Situated on the main Walking Street diagonally opposite Baan Koh Mak Resort, The Chill serves fresh delicious local food (along with western dishes, but really? Why on earth anyone would want that is beyond me, stay at home and crank the heating up perhaps...??)

Anyway the Mamas Famous Green Curry is awesome as was Gai pad King (chicken and ginger) and their version of Pad Ke Mao we thought was delicious. Pok, the owner is really welcoming and makes the finest frozen mojitos I have had, all for 120 baht!

Great find. Can’t wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chill also viewed

 

Been to Chill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.