We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Island Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Holiday Beach Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Beach Resort
66 / 1 Moo1, Ko Mak 23000 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Ko Mak
Palm Beach, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tropical Island Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Located on the best beach on the island. Pom and Dara are wonderful hosts, very friendly and lots of fun. Dara cooks the most beautiful food. The beachfront bungalows are spacious with a fantastic view. The grounds are very well kept, so green and the beach is always clean. My husband looked forward to the 5pm frisbee sessions each day with Pom and the guys. We stayed for 9 nights and fell in love with Koh Mak and Holiday beach resort,cant wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The owner K.Pong, was such a fantastic guy, relax and always fair to guests.
As we stayed for an air con room, one day electric down, K.Pong just discount for us as non-air con, how's generous!

We had a great time in his beautiful resort, lovely garden and beautiful beach front. We definitely go back there :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This place is something special. It was, hands down, the favorite experience for all of our group of six.

The reviews you'll read about the rooms are pretty much spot on. They are simplistic, but clean. You'l have the bare necessities in lodging. However, why would you even be in our room @ this place?

Pom is the best host we encountered on our trip. He made us fill right at home from the get go. The restaurant is good, you can rent motor bikes, they help w/ transportation to & from the boats, & the beach is by far the best around. 100 yards in either direction & the beach is rocky.

My brother had good luck fly fishing, we all enjoyed Pom's kayaks, we snorkeled, motorbiked the island, and so on...There were not enough hours in the day.

THANK YOU Holiday!!!

Room Tip: You would do well to request a room w/ a fan & AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at this resort and the good, was the pleasant and obliging owners, about the best location on the beach.
Pom the owner is a very laid back type. In my estimation because he is laid back and charming he is getting away with shabby bungalows
They are in desperate need of a refurbishment but for laid back read lazy, he is happy to take your money and not do anything above basics ,no cleaning or sheet change while we were there for 4 days.
The location is great but infested with sand flies it is Impossible to sit on the beach chairs without being very badly bitten from head to toeLiterally! My wife had bites on her head!.
An indication of this problem is that they sell all sand fly treatments and anti itch in bar
Sorry to be so negative cos the vibes are good no grotty music etc Island offshore for kayaking to, just badly maintained old fashioned bungalows worth about 30 dollars a night which he is charging $50 and up for. and sandflies.
The sea is great but very shallow till you get out 50 metres.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Loved the place from the first minute because:
- Owned by the people you talk to
- Hammocks!
- Great shallow sandy beach perfect for our kid.
- No bad meals in the 5 days we stayed there, and we had every single meal at HBR.
- Relaxing atmosphere and a well kept garden and beach.

The bungalows are at a standard you would expect when paying a small amount of money, but a fridge would do wonders !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed at Holiday beach resort in March of 2012. This place is a great value for the money. The family who runs it is very nice. Khun Pom jai meh kawn sook mak. <Heart very happy>. The location is prime and the grounds are meticulously maintained. Every room really does have an ocean view even the worst room still can see a sliver of prime beach front. The shoreline is nice and sandy at least a few 100 yards out. In the evening you can almost walk to the Island across the bay. It is well worth a visit to the shrine on top of the hill.

I really enjoyed the hospitality of the owners. It is a welcome relief to be someplace that knows your name every time they see you. This is what makes a place special. As I mentioned before the grounds are well maintained and the owner understands the concept of scented flowers. The way we remember experiences in life are multi sensory the light floral scents permeate the area and adds that extra Suave da vi to the place.

There is hardly anything to complain about except for maybe the food prices being slightly a big high but then again this problem is remedied by the myriad of small eating establishments in the area. It is not to say their prices are even high by western standards just not in line with the great deal they have on accommodations. This is at the very most a minor issue and the wonderful time this place provides make it the most insignificant of issues. The rooms were well maintained and comfortable not to mention spacious with a hammock on the deck. This is a place you can walk around barefoot and not worry about stepping on sharp objects or rough ground. The water is absolutely perfect. It is shallow enough that the water temperature is almost bath water hot. The clarity is at least 6m to 10m and never more than 3m at the very deepest point at high tide.

If you are looking for that slice of quite relaxation then give Mr Pom a call he will be waiting with open arms and a smile.

Room Tip: They are all good enough to make most people happy. Beware of sand flies they are vicious. They do a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiddy
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This little place is basic,no fridge or tv however why want a tv when you have this little place.The idea here is to relax and relax we did.We had a large bungalow without aircon and we managed well enough.The bungalow was a" little worn "maybe but good value for money .Definately set on the best stretch of beach on the island and the warm water!!!! Lovely gardens here with lots of deckchairs and a few sunbeds and hammocks.Good porch to watch the world go by. and watch the afternoon "frisbee session"There is a lovely restaurant here where you can get good food at reasonable prices cooked mainly by Darra,the owners wife.(This island is so small everything has to be imported hence a slight rise in cost) Pom ,the owner is a cheeky chappie with a heart of gold and his staff are all so nice.
Thankyou Pom we had a lovely 10 days with you at your little place and we have returned home with such a lot of good memories

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea view and as the resort is so small there really is not much difference betw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Beach Resort

Address: 66 / 1 Moo1, Ko Mak 23000 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.