We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be awesome with just a little bit of work.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat to your Saves list
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
50 / 5 Moo 2, Ao Pai Beach, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Ko Mak
South Pole
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good but could be awesome with just a little bit of work.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The bungalows are very nice, clean and well designed but lack a few things, a few lamps and some nice lighting, lamps and so on would really go towards making the rooms feel a bit more homely and less spartan. Some extras like dressing gowns, soaps, handwash, beach towels and tea and coffee would also take the hotel to the next level.

The resort is well designed and nice enough, nothing super special, it reflects the price mid-range well. The beach isn't great but the pool is really nice and makes up for this.

Breakfast again matches the price, it's not amazing but at this low price you wouldn't expect it. They have some pastries, 2 types of fruit, bread, butter and so on and also a free a la carte selection from English Breakfast, American, pancakes and muesli. Some more options for vegetarians and some cheese and peanut butter would be nice to go with the toast.

The resort is fairly remote but it's a small island, you can get to the centre of the island in about 7 minutes on a moped, we rented mopeds for 250THB a day.

The staff were very nice and very willing to help. The cleaners were good too, room was cleaned immaculately every day and the bed linen was always clean and fresh too.

Restaurant isn't cheap but isn't wildly expensive and the quality is good, a soft-drink is about 20THB ($0.60).

All in all, a decent option at a fair price probably the nicest option on little Ko Mak. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    38
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
97
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at Plubpla for two nights in January. This was the beginning of our trip to Koh Mak and Koh Chang. Overall, I think it was a great start to the holiday. First thing to note - Plubpla kindly picked us up from the Koh Mak Resort pier after our 45 min speedboat ride to the island. Do request a pick up as it makes everything a lot easier when you arrive. We originally booked the beach front villa with jacuzzi through bookings.com but later received an email from Plubpla to say it had already been booked.. we were disappointed but accepted the most "basic" room which was the superior sea view villa. The room was the furthest away from the beach, but it didn't really matter as we could still see the sea and we were close to the pool and bar/restaurant. The room was good, but it felt like there were a few things missing bearing in mind this is a five star resort. The decor was quite plain, there were no tea and coffee facilities, no phone (therefore no room service) and no welcome pack of any kind. Additionally there were gaps between the front door and windows but luckily we had no problem with mosquitos/bugs. The staff were very kind and helpful but there was sometimes a bit of a language barrier. We rented what we thought was a "car" to tour the island which ended up being a golf buggy! At first we were a little embarrassed but in the end we had a lot of fun driving around the island - there is a wonderful remote beach on the North East tip of the island - ask reception for a map of the island and ensure you visit! The pool area was great, we spent most of our time here and the beach was OK. We ate in the hotel restaurant both nights we were there and the food was good but perhaps not the most memorable. They do make a good Pina Colada and G&T though! All in all, we had a lovely relaxing stay here - a great introduction to the island. I would recommend the hotel but only for a few nights of R&R as it is quite far away from anything on the island.

Room Tip: Even the most basic room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights at the Plubpla in January. Overall, I felt there was something missing for the price, but if you're after a spectacular setting and good modern facilities, then you'll be happy.

The rooms were good, but I felt certain things were lacking in a 4000bht a-night beachside bungalow - only 2 towels, no complementary sandals nor tea or coffee. There is a MASSIVE TV in the room which only shows local Thai channels and no DVD player. It left me wondering that if the Plubpla's main clientele are foreign tourists, what's the point in the huge TV?

The restaurant was 80% hit and 20% miss - loved the pancakes at breakfast, but certain cocktails tasted nothing like they should.

The reception staff were pleasant and spoke relatively good English. They were helpful except this one time - me and my wife wanted to visit Koh Mak Seafood, a very good local restaurant, and we asked front desk to book us a table. They refused!! Sure, they booked us a taxi and we later found out from islanders that the owners of Plubpla have a long personal feud with owners of 'Seafood'. We didn't know at the time, and were baffled with the refusal. And yet, this 'experience' was mixed with great service - e.g my wife needed cream for sunburn and they drove me all across the island looking for an elusive tube of aloe vera.

But despite the room omissions, the hit and miss service, I do feel bad about my complaints because the view from our beachfront bungalow was amazing, and pool is particularly impressive. The resort is a very attractive mix of natural beauty and modern design. Go if you want total relaxation...but don't expect perfection.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in early January with our 2 children and we LOVED this resort. The rooms were great, the service was wonderful and the food was good. With only 18 bungalows the resort never felt crowded. We loved the beach and it was very clean since I saw staff raking it every morning. When the tide went our we loved searching the tide pools in the rocks just off the beach. We had planned on leaving the resort and exploring the island but once we got the resort and "checked out" we didn't see a need to leave. The food was great; it was really good and simple Thai food. A lot of times resorts try and fancy up the Thai food but this resort served very good traditional Thai food. Their tom yum soup (with coconut milk) was one of the best I have ever had. So glad we decided on Koh Mak instead of the madness of Koh Chang. Excellent service and I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed 4 nights with my family at this beautiful resort. Very friendly staff and lovely bungalows. I got stomach sick after a restaurant visit in Koh Chang and the staff at Plubpla helped me to find a doctor and translated into Thai. They didn´t even except the tip I wanted to give them for driving me there. Lots to choose from the food menue but the food was variyng depending on chef for the day.

Positive that we could stay all in one room even thought the extra madrasses on the floor were quite expensive (1000 Baht per night for two madrasses).

The beach isn´t very big but its quite enough since you rather stay at the pool area which is very beatiful.

What surprised me was that there were some stuff that needed repairments but that nobody seemed to care about (like several wood pieces were missing on staires and terrasses and some paint in bath rooms had fallen off) but the area is very exotic and chic in general. Koh Mak in general isn´t an island to go to if you are looking for a lot of action - but if you are looking for piece and quite this is the place.

+ The Bungalows
+ Very clean
+ Helpful and very friendly staff
+ Beautiful area in general - very exotic
+ Never problem to find a sun bed
+ Good breakfast
+ Free water in bungalow minibar

- Should play lounge music instead of thai christmas songs
- Hard beds (but I realize all hotel beds in thailand seeams to be that way regardless standard)
- Satellite TV didn work when we were there. We could borrow a dvdplayer but they didnt have any movies to let.
- Expensive for extra beds

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I found this hotel while searching on an internet reserch page. When I saw the pictures, wow, I did not hesitate a bit! So I booked a beach front with jaccuzi and for the other couple traveling with us I booked a sea view. Both rooms are identical but one has a jaccuzi in the front and its right on the beach... 2 meters from the water on high tide. As for the other sea view, its about 10 meters from the beach but also has a beautiful view of the sea. Comparable to the beach front view. There is one thousand and two hundred baht difference in price between both rooms. Honestly, next time (if theres a next time) I would book a sea view. Secondly, the breakfast is in my honest opinion, extreamly rinky dinky. Don't expect much here! You have been warned. As for the location, if your the type of person who likes to kick back next to the pool and read a book and only hear the noise of the small waves break on the shore, this is for you. If your a party animal, this is not a place for you and you should prefer the monkey resort which is better situated close to the somewhat city of the island. Do not rent a scooter from the Plubpla reception, as the staff will overcharge you one hundred baht a day more for the rental. Take a taxi and rent one close to the monkey resort. Expect a three hundred baht rental fee for 24 hours. In one day, you have had largly the time to go arround the island. So up to you if you wish to keep the scooter. Taxi cost about fifty baht one way per person. Food in the evening is ok but don't be in a rush as they are very slow! And lastly, YOU HAVE TO PAY YOUR ICE IN THE RESORT! This was the cherry on the cake. It's the first time in Thailand that I have to pay ice.

Room Tip: When you exit the Plubpla resort, turn right and stay to your left, pass the stop sign and follow th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed 3 nights in the low seasons there. But it was still awesome. We were picked up by the hotelmanager at the pier and got a great service during our whole stay. There was no breakfast buffet I guess because of the small amount of guest but you could order american, english, club sandwich, burger, muesli+fruits etc. and all in good nice and clean quality.
The rooms are clean and beautiful as shown on the pictures. We rent a motorbike and explored the whole island. After we had a look at nearly all resorts we thought we got definitely choose the best. It is very private, nice small clean beach, clean and well designed rooms, very nice garden and a extensive menu. I would only sleep there on Koh Mak!

TIP: From Coconana Resort with a small boat to KOH KHAM for 300 Baht. WHITE SAND ...perfect paradise

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat

Address: 50 / 5 Moo 2, Ao Pai Beach, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the most beautiful resort on Koh Mak, even by the other resort owners on the island. All beach, sea view Villas on a serene private beach. Amazing endless swimming pool with jacuzzi seat and always enough sun chairs and tables in the restaurant. The Koh Mak Retreat is truly a place where you can get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat Hotel Koh Mak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.