We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not something to recommend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Good Time Resort Koh Mak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Good Time Resort Koh Mak to your Saves list
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Koh Mak, Koh Kood District, Trat 23120 Thailand | Koh Kood District, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not something to recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The resort is spread over a large piece of land creating a need for transportation between the house and restaurant. The standard of accomodation is at a low level. The restaurant is small but seems ok. The swimmingpool is very small and our kids were very disapointed. You have to drive to get to the beach or be preparred for a long walk. For this reason we chose to find another place to stay. The owner was very serviceminded and helped us find an alternative accomdation and promissed to repay us for the accomodation. So far he hasnt lived up to that promiss, so I guess, he isnt somebody to thrust!

Room Tip: If you choose to stay secure a room close to the restaurant and main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerstin65, Owner at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for given us the chance to reflect our meeting at Christmas Season 2012.
You have booked your vacation through a Danish Travel Agency in Denmark.
The complete procedure, including the payments was done between you and the
Danish Agent.
A few days before your arrival, you have send us an email and asked us, to confirm “Two Beachfront Thai Villas”. We have replied to you immediately that we do not have “Beachfront Villas” and the booking was for only one Two-floor Villa.
We also informed your agency in Denmark about the missunderstanding between you and the agent.
When you arrived at Good Time Resort we picked you and your family up and welcomed you at the resort.
Right away we informed you again, that we cannot meet your expectations about being “beachfront”, but we will help you to find another accommodation (this was not easy around Christmas). You and your wife expected our Two-floor Thai Villa and you mentioned to me that the villa looks nice AND is well maintained, but because of your teenage children, you prefer to be right at the beach. This matter we understood completely.
So we are surprised you write now the villa has been in a bad shape. The villa was newly renovated and in my opinion one of the best we can offer.
When we met personally at the resort, I promised you to pay a refund, because we understood your situation about the kids. But I have also mentioned to you, that we check and confirm with the Agent in Denmark first, how much the refund should be and how to proceed. You have to understand and believe, that in most OTHER cases, the money from Agents will be paid AFTER the check out of the guests. Our resort have been very busy around Christmas Season, so at this point I have to apologize to you that your refund was not first priority for our team and it was also difficult to have full communication between Christmas and New Year with other involved parties.
I was personaly very disappointed to read your extreme negative review here and I was even more surprised to receive an email from you a few days ago, in which you offered me to remove your review AFTER we pay you the refund.
In our opinion, this was an unethical proposal and we do not want to accept your offer.
Until today, we don’t understand why you asked us to confirm “Two Beachfront villas’ prior your arrival. Also we like to take the opportunity right here to express, that we have never been obliged to pay you a refund, but we did have the intention because we are “very serviced minded” as you have written yourself at this review. Thank you for mention this. Indeed our entire team is “very service minded” but we should not be demoralized as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    38
    15
    10
    2
See reviews for
56
101
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights in January 2013 at Tamarind House, based on the great reviews I had read on Trip Advisor. My husband and I travelled with our 3 year old son. Pros: Spacious houses which are reflected quite accurately by the photos on their website, however they are in need of some maintenance (i.e woodwork needs varnish, doors jamming, outdoor bench broken), if you want to escape the sandflies on the beach front properties then this is a good location. The house we were in had a comfortable lounge area and DVD player, which was great on the days that we experienced a bit of rain. Above the restaurant is a library which has a huge amount of DVD's and books for guests to utilise. Michael the current onsite Manager was always pleasant and made an effort each day to have a chat. House keeping staff and gardening staff always greeted you with a big smile and were extremely pleasant. On the perimeter of the resort (street that goes down to the beach) is a little Thai cafe where we hired a motorbike for 200 baht per day (we did hire it for 9 days), they serve great food and they offered a great rate for laundry.
Cons: We had pre-organised with the owner of Good Time a limo pick up from Trad Airport, a speed boat transfer and pick up from pier as we were travelling with a small child so wanted to make everything as smooth as possible. Even though I had received confirmation from the resort that this was all booked, it wasn't. This resulted in us having to organise a more expensive transfer at Trad airport, having to get a later speedboat (which was not a tourist boat) and no pick up at the pier - not a first good impression of the resort, no apology when we arrived, as no one seemed to know anything about it. After the first night of sleeping in our house, the bed was unbelievably hard. This is the first time I have ever complained about a bed in all my years of travel, and we have stayed in many budget places over the years. My husband and I both woke up sore and the next morning at breakfast I asked the owners wife if she could please do something about the bed as we were there for 10 nights and there was no way that we could sleep on that for the duration. She told us that 90% of tourists like to sleep on hard beds and you could tell that she was displeased by us making a request for a change. By late that afternoon nothing had still happened re the bed, so after a second request of letting her know that we were not happy with the bed, house keeping finally stopped by to bring in a different mattress (still hard, but much better). I can't be certain but I actually think it was a box spring that we were sleeping on in the first instance, not an actual mattress. The bedding is really sparse also, there was one fitted sheet and the top sheet was a giant towel. I would expect better bedding for the prices that you pay at Good Time. Breakfast was pretty much what we expected, however we were not prepared for the rudeness of the cook. I understand that she did not speak very good English, but she pretty much threw the plate of food of you. One of the reasons we booked Good Time was because they had a swimming pool. It was really dirty when we first arrived, however by the time we were leaving it had had a huge amount of cleaning product through it and on the day we were leaving you could actually see the tiles on the bottom of the pool (10 days later).

Room Tip: If I were to return to Koh Mak, I would probably book only a night or two initially and then hire a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerstin65, General Manager at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. Sorry the pick-up service from the airport did not work out in your case.
We offer this service for our guests, because -as you mentioned yourself- it is more expensive if you order a taxi from the airport without reservation than if we order for you. The taxi company which was in charge for your pick up probably forgot your arrival. Sorry for this bad experience. Normally a phone call could have solved this problem.
After you mentioned the mattress were to hard for you, we have exchanged them but apologize we did not do this right away - but in the afternoon same day. Our property is pretty big and the staff took some time to find a good, softer mattress for you from another property. Koh Mak is a remote island and there are unfortunatelly no shops which sell mattresses.
To be honest, mattresses is one of our few weak points. It is a matter of taste. Some like it soft, some prefer it hart. A few 5 star hotels offer a "pillow menu" and you can choose the degree of "softnees". We do not have this service (yet) but every time a guests prefer a softer mattress, we do everything possible (same in your case).
It was a surprise to hear about your experience and your impression about the cook. I assume it was just a missunderstanding. Most Thais are very friendly - every body should be in our business - with no exception and no tolerance.I have no answer for your impression about her, but we will try to find out if the cook has an explaination.
Thank you for pointing out a few good things about our resort, too. Your "dislikes" we will try to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed in March 2012. We booked a 1 Bedroom Thai House and paid USD 480 for 5 nights.

The resort made a minor error with our booking, which meant that we had to spend the first night in a Teak House (lesser category than we booked), but were upgraded to a beautiful stone Thai villa for the remaining 4 nights - which we didn't mind at all!

Hotel - the gardens are beautiful and very peaceful. The only downside is that mosquitos can be a nuisance. Also, a torch does come in handy at night.

Room - Or Villa rather. We loved it. It was tastefully decorated with Thai wooden statues and furniture. All the windows had shutters on the outside in addition to mosquito protection and windows itself. Great to have air-conditioning to chill things down a little at night if you like to. The roof terrace was wonderful to enjoy a cold Tiger on warm evening! Spacious and clean bathroom too. The cleaners came every day and did a good job.

Location - This is not a beach resort. You are bang on the middle of the island, but both of the two main beaches are only a 5-minute walk away. Some people may not like that if you are really looking for beach holiday in the purest sense of the word, but the upside is that things are more peaceful and spacious in the resort. One of the managers (Josh) came to pick us up from the pier when we arrived and gave us a lift back there when we left. It is not too far to walk, but was handy with the luggage.

Facilities - There was a problem with the pool and it was out of order when we were there. We didn't care, but I suppose it might have been a let-down for families with children. We really liked the main house/lobby/restaurant area and its relaxing atmosphere with plenty of lounge opportunities. The food was all right - pretty much toned-down Thai dishes. We are at some of the other resorts as well during out stay, that is no problem at all.

Overall, we have fond memories of our stay at Good Time Resort on Koh Mak. It is a tranquil island but not down to the shoestring level. You can have a very relaxing and comfortable stay there without worries as long as you are not looking for 5* luxury or freak out when there is a gecko in your bathroom or something like that.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Koh mak is a beautiful island and the good time resort is definitely worth a stay. The new manager is quite keen and tries his best to ensure the guests are accommodated. The kitchen staff are very helpful and the food is pretty good. The swimming pool and grounds are well maintained, which makes it quite picturesque. The only down side off course is the buzzy things which were hungry when we were there. Also the bed linen is a bit skinny and perhaps a spare cover would be advised.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Two years ago we met the owners and staff of Good Time Resort - they were all friendly and helpful - so much so that we returned in 2012 to spend yet another week with them. The Blue Orchid Room was our home again - a beautifully appointed spacious room. The chef (Gebhardt) encouraged us to rent a motor scooter (which we had never done before) and we had a wonderful day of touring the island. Hopefully we can return again in the near future. We appreciate the warm hospitality of Yodying and Kerstin!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This place had very helpful staff(sometimes we felt we were being pressured to do organized stuff on the island), very good breakfast and nice kitchen staff. We found our villa nice. Only complaints there was that our full bed seemed to have a tiny baby blanket and no flat sheet, and the very large spiders that inhabited our outdoor bathroom every night. We did however overlook these things. We liked the pool and we thought the distance to the beach was fine, a 10 minute walk maybe.
However, upon leaving we noticed some missing gold jewelry, which was disheartening. We never received a response back from the owner after reporting this to him. So no, we would not recommend this hotel. Despite the many good things it has going, dishonest staff/stealing obviously ruins the experience.

Room Tip: Try the rooms/food across the street at Thaidaho!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KoMak, Owner at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for giving me a chance to respond to your strong accusation: You checked in with a group of friends December 6th and checked out December 13th. In December 19th (13 days ! after you checked in and placed your cross-necklace somewhere) you wrote me an private email about your missing cross necklace. We are not allowed to publish your email -what is a pitty for us, because the facts look different from your own email you sent to me.
Maybe you have been disappointed, because we did not reply to you. Sorry for that. I have been travelling myself and have not been on the island when you checked out and sent the email (6 days after you checked out). As soon we received your email, we did search for the necklace in the house (new guests had checked in already) and my staff did not find the necklace.
Each house and room have a safe and we recommend to every guest to lock cash and values in the safe. Also we recommend to report missing values right away and not in your case 2 weeks later. Anyway the criminal record on Koh Mak is very low and our staff work for us since several years. We interviewed our staff and I am certain they did not steal your cross necklace. Please do not make such accusation to anybody again if you are not sure. We are sorry for your lost and hope you will find the cross necklace again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My family (6 people) had great expectations - it was supposed to be the 'relax on the beach' part of our first Thailand (and Asia) trip, after the 'hectic urban' Bangkok bit. We loved every minute of our 10 day stay (we extended it after having booked for 6 nights), including the (5 hour) mini van trip from Bangkok and the hour long speeboat ride to the island. We stayed in the 'Chilli house', a comfortable three storey chalet with a view and a terrace that made me want to spend the rest of my life there. The closest beach ticked all the right boxes (quiet, beautiful, gentle tiny waves, coconut trees), and the whole island has the kind of beauty and peace that can only be described as paradise. We had lots of fun: rented scooters and kayaks (cheap!) to explore the island and surroundings, me and my daughter took part in a brilliant cooking course in an afternoon and the restaurants in the island and the one in the hotel (beautiful view) were quite allright. The rating has to be 'excellent', but I think it's fair to point out some minor glitches: the electrical problems in the chalet and the noise of chainsaws cutting trees in the morning (although I was the only one in the family bothered by that).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Good Time Resort Koh Mak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Time Resort Koh Mak

Address: Koh Mak, Koh Kood District, Trat 23120 Thailand | Koh Kood District, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Time Resort Koh Mak 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Good Time Resort on Koh Mak nestles charmingly on the ridge of a small hill between two beautiful beaches, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to enjoy the tranquility and refreshing breeze from the Gulf of Thailand. The message is clear: You are here to relax and not be disturbed by the masses. The Good Time Resort includes a little library with a communal office available along with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Good Time Resort Koh Mak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Time Hotel Koh Mak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Time Resort Koh Mak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.