We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A HUGE disappointment, the place is Faulty Towers reincarnated.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Mak Cococape Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Koh Mak Cococape Resort to your Saves list
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
1/8-1/9 Moo 2 Tambol, Ko Mak 23000 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Ko Mak
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A HUGE disappointment, the place is Faulty Towers reincarnated.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Within 10 seconds of arriving the curt manager demanded full payment in advance before even being offered the chance to unload baggage. There is no beach. Unlike other Thai resorts where the service is always impeccable, meal orders were wrong, late, cold or didn't arrive, even their own set breakfast!
Staff would argue and dispute everything even minor details such as what room you were staying in saying 'no Sir you are wrong'!
Food is overpriced and dull, so after 1 day we opted to walk the 20min walk to the far superior Ko Mak Resort to eat and drink.
Everything has a charge and 10% service is added even to items you get yourself!
The pool is nice...
AVOID THIS PLACE like you would avoid Rabies.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    30
    8
    10
    7
See reviews for
20
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We chose the cheapest room which was a bungalow on stilts over the mangrove. It was actually too small as it was impossible to walk down the sides of the bed without walking across the corner of the bed. There was only one plug socket which was needed for the fan so we could not charge phones etc.. My girlfriend found the mattress too hard. The mosquito net was not quite long enough so we got bitten by mosquitos during the night. By the fourth night I started to get irritated by the complete lack of hooks or anywhere to hang or put stuff. The room didn't really feel cared for.

The room was cleaned every day but the shared bathroom was not cleaned one single time during our stay. The same toilet paper was in the bin next to the toilet for the 4 days of our stay and the floor had the same patterns of sand on it. Luckily it was quite quiet so there were not many others sharing the bathroom.

The staff were not really friendly. Definitely no "land of smiles" going on here. And there was some internal politics going on between the Thai staff and the German/Swiss guy running the western kitchen ("Diner Hut"?), so we were not even told his kitchen was open during the afternoon when we were hungry, when in fact it was. He was angry at the Thai staff over that.

On the positive side it was nice to sit on the end of the pier. You could swim off the end of the pier or at the beach around the corner but there are lots of submerged rocks and zillions of sea urchins. I stung my finger badly. Be careful!

Also there was a computer upstairs at the restaurant with working internet.

All in all, expensive for what we got and we'll look at other places next time.

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 cuz of steel pillars taking up space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

This is one of the most satisfying resort i've ever stayed. Well located on the cape of the island. Although it has no sand beach in front, the rock is smooth and we have no difficulty walking into the water from the rock. The water is crystal clear and you can see small fish inside. I don't know why others say it's windy, because during my 3 days stay, there is no wind at all on this side of the beach, the sea is so quiet and calm, while on the other side of the island there is wind, but definitely not cococape. The seaview is fabulous and the private pier is one of my favorite. We can enjoy the sunset as well as snockling around it. If i come back to Koh Mak, i will choose to stay in Cococape again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

This was our third trip to Ko Mak and our first to the Cococape Resort which is just wonderful.

We booked in for 3 nights R&R after a testing trip from Sihanoukville and ended up staying for six nights. We love Ko Mak because the "five families" who have owned this beautiful island for the last 100 years try so hard to keep the worst excesses of tourism out and this also applies to CocoCape.

If you want a soul-less high-rise corporate hotel with 24hr room service, disco bars, jet skis and fast limousine transfer to the nearby airport - try somewhere else. This is not Ko Mak and hopefully never will be.

Dont be surpised to bump into doctors, lawyers and financial types from Europe and Bangkok but you will not see any suits or Gucci handbags. This is a very laid back venue.

Cococape is about as plush and fancy as Ko Mak gets but it still more shabby chic than slick uber luxury, which suits us fine. We found it charming, relaxing and superb value. There is something Robinson Crusoe style about the place, particularly if you stay in the Baan Talay thatched bungalows for about 1300 BAHT per night, perched on stilts above the sea. Close your eyes as you swing in your hammock on the small private deck and doze of to the sounds of waves washing around you. It really is that good.

There is a substantial wooden pier and at week-ends they open a small cocktail bar at nightfall and throw some floodlights on the sea so you can sip drinks and gaze at the stars above you and fish beneath you. After a three week tour through Cambodia in derelict buses, this worked for us very nicely.

The hotel also throws in a lot of complimentary services- boat trips, bus transfer to the village, kayak hire, snorkels, WiFi so you never feel you are being ripped off or trapped.

The staff are great and the food is helped by the addition of "Geppy's Diner Hut which offers good quaity western cuisine as an alteranive to the resort kitchen's Thai and Asian menu. It sounds ridiculous to recommend a pizza in Thailand but you have to try Geppy's. Even Italians go back for more.

The beach is very small but there are so many fabulous beaches nearby, a nice pool and easy swimming off the pier so this really is'nt a problem even for beach lovers like us.

A university team from Bangkok is rebuilding the reefs off the beach and stay at the hotel several times per year.

On the last night here we upgraded ourselves to a Suite which really was luxurious (but more expensive of course). Four poster, sea view balcony, jacuzzi, stylish decor etc. Fabulous treat for those that like a little luxury with their escape.

If you want to escape for a few days as a couple or as a young family and prefer Thai charm, tranquility and natural beauty to corporate loyalty points, escape to Cococape.

As they say around here, "arrive as a guest and leave as a friend" . It may sound corny but in Ko Mak, at least for now, it is still true.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

The hotel is beautifully built and decorated, with wide price range from shared bathroom cabanas to stilish big rooms and villas, including one made from an ancient boat. All rooms are different and well integrated in the beautiful surroundings. Our room was one of the most expensive, it had full sea view, very nice private verandah, hige bathroom, mosquito nets everywhere. The hotel is located on the northern side of the island, the beach is tiny and not sunny and it's very windy (which is from my point of view an advantage since it's never too hot). Free transport is provided to the more attractive Southern beach (15 min. uphill - downhill walk). Your sleep may be disturbed by extremely noisy little frogs, apparently protected species, which have found a home in the little decorative ponds in front of the rooms (we had them one night on three).
Staff was nice and helpful. Only negative point the breakfast, poor and not varied, if you don't want egg you are left with bad toast and poor quality jam. Coffee particularly bad (soluble). We did not use the restaurant (many nice places available on the Souther beach). Place ideal for families and those looking for quiet.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

We looked at a few places on Koh Mak and found that the Cococape Resort really was the most beautiful place to spend the few days we had on the island. Cococape is made up of several different huts and lodges, we stayed in one of the tree house style huts which was wonderfully rustic (and really quite cheap) - just what you look for when travelling around Thailand. We were initially booked into one of the water side huts (hut on stilts partly in the water) but it was quite windy for a couple of days and the very helpful staff upgraded us as they thought we would get a better nights sleep in one of the tree house huts. The Thai food at the resort was also amazing. We cant speak highly enough of the staff and the resort as a whole.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed at this resort for 3 nights in one of the 3 Baan Thai Suites. The view over the bay is great, but to have the view you need to climb many steps to get to the room, which leaves you out of breath at the top. The staff had surrounded outside the room with ant powder and this kept them away.
The Thai food was very good much better than the western breakfast and quite good value for money for being on an island. We walked to Koh Mak resort just around the bay they had a more extensive menu but they include service charge where as Cococape do not.
The sandflies where not to much of a problem although we did get bitten once.

We hired a kayak and visited the nearby island Koh Kham, you have to pay 100 bht each to land there, but you do get a free can of drink. The sea is really flat and great for snorkling here. We then kayaked to koh pee (ghost island) which had some fantastic coral surrounding the island..

The walk into the centre of Koh Mak from the resort is up a very steep hill and took around 15 mins but there was a shop to buy drinks half way. In the center there are 5 or 6 restaurants available although we where there in the low season and only 3 were open.

Next time we visit we would hire a motorbike to tour round the island

Remember when you visit the island that they do not have any ATM's to withdraw money from.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koh Mak Cococape Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Mak Cococape Resort

Address: 1/8-1/9 Moo 2 Tambol, Ko Mak 23000 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Mak
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Koh Mak Cococape Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Mak Cococape Hotel Koh Mak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Mak Cococape Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.