We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Excellent, pity about the food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dead Sea Road | P.O. Box 941806, Sweimah 11194, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sweimah
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent, pity about the food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Excellent/wonderful resort with fantastic facilities
Excellent large rooms, with free drinks
Very good service/staff
Very good free breakfast
Poor F&B offering/quality (We had to walk to nearby Marriott or Movenpick for restaurants)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henk-Meyknecht, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us.

Our guests feedback are always helpful in allowing us to continue providing the most excellent experience to our guests, we are so disappointed to learn that you didn't like our variety of restaurants and food, I have shared your feedback with the concerned departments and I can assure that for your next visit everything would be faultless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    301
    137
    63
    59
See reviews for
272
586
59
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I have just came back from 3 nights stay at kempinski Ishtar. And my stay was perfect. The check in and check out took minutes. I stayed in the main building. Before arriving I read many comments that it was a far walk to the pools but I was happy to find out it was just an elevator and short walk. The place is beautifully designed and we were happy to walk the short distance to the pools and obilisk restaurant ( breakfast area) . The turn down services is a bonus . The service in the hotel is perfect all around the hotel. We stayed on half board basis but I would recommend a full board as the prices of food are high. The hotel on weekend is more busy and loud. The anantara spa is very good .. The facilities are good the building and outdoor pool and lemon garden are beautiful we tried the aromatic message and it was very good but prices are high.. Over all our experience at the kempinski Ishtar was very calming.. We did not stay at many places that we could describe as perfect stay and breath taking views the kempinski Ishtar is all of that can not wait to go back

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman Governorate, Jordan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

It was a great experience to stay in this hotel , the staff is really helpful friendly customer oriented and efficient . Pools are very clean and I was very impressed with the in-pool service where staff handed out fruit , towels , cold water sprays and cleaning the sunglasses while sunbathing ! Me and my friend were well pampered . This resort is well deserving of a six or even more star rating . I highly recommend it I can personally say that I will be visiting kempinski Ishtar again :))

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henk-Meyknecht, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you liked our pool and beach exclusive service, our aim is to make our guests feel so special and pampered. We are honored we got the chance to welcoming you and we are looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Nice architecture. . Good facilities and the round swimming pool is the best. Always perfectly heated and great view.
Checked in but had to wait for 1h30 in the lobby for the room.
Hotels in deadsea usually do the check in around 2 or 3pm but we mentioned that we are arriving at 12pm, however here's an advice : get your swimm gear ready , check in and go enjoy swimming in the deadsea & pools till they call you when the room is ready, it is allowed.. we did that after we gave up waiting.
I have to mention that the next day they allowed us to check out late at 2pm.

The beach was nice & they cleaned the rocks.. but you should always wear swimming shoes.. rocks in deadsea are usually very sharp..
Rooms were big and the bathroom's huge..

The food was ok. .
the waiters had poor knowledge of wine and it's service.
Staff were so friendly.

Good hotel will definitely be my choice again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henk-Meyknecht, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you are planning to visit us again. As you have mentioned in your feedback, our check in policy is at 3:00 pm and early check in is subject to availability and has to be confirmed by our reservation team according to the hotel occupancy. In addition, we have shared your comment with the concerned team members regarding your food and beverage experience in the hotel in order to constantly maintain our excellent food and beverage image we provide to our guests.

Once again, we are glad we got the chance to welcoming you and we are looking forward for your next visit in one of the most spectacular spots in the world, The Dead Sea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We got here 50 mins ago . The front staff told us room is ready when we arrived and checking was done in 15mins.
BUT we are still waiting at the lobby to go to the room. :( WHY !!!??
We asked one of staff at the lobby what are we waiting for. She told us she 's from F&B but she will check for us but no one has came back to us until now.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henk-Meyknecht, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I would like to extend my apologies for your experience with us, would you kindly provide us with your room number in order to investigate about this delay occurred.

We hope that you are enjoying the rest of your stay with us and please ask for me personally in case you have any other concerns. Our guests’ thoughtful remarks are always helpful in allowing us to continue to deliver the most excellent experience during their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

II think the Kempinski is resting on it’s laurels. The check-in was fine, but the check-out took forever. The staff doesn’t speak English well at all. Believe it or not, the baggage staff spoke the best English. The front desk, concierge and butler - not so much. And the waitstaff could barely understand English unless we pointed to the menu. And, they take forever to bring you water or order a drink, let alone your food.

The building is getting a tad bit run down. We had a suite with a porch and a private pool. The table on our deck was cracked and a bit dangerous. The lights to the outside of our door was out so it was hard to see at night when coming back to our room. The sliding glass door to our room wouldn’t lock and that a felt kinda weird sleeping with it unlocked. The lounge chair at the pool broke as we tried to move it. The wheels went rolling away. The towels the laid on the lounge were dirty. There was trashed in the landscape. The beach area wasn’t well maintained. It’s just not a 5 star, or even a 4 star hotel. It’s overpriced for what it is and has a Club Med kind of feel. A little cheesy.

We looked at the Marriott and it seemed much nicer. Even the Holiday Inn, believe it or not, seemed nicer. I heard the Movenpick is nice too. All of them are less money than the Kempinski.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room that is closest to the water. Otherwise you will spend your entire vacation wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henk-Meyknecht, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are so disappointed to learn about your experience with us. May I kindly ask you to provide us with your room number in order to do the necessary maintenance? On the other hand, I would appreciate if you contact me on: henk.meyknecht@kempinski.com as I would like to hear more details from yourself to make sure that for your next visit everything would be faultless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This last monday me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel on the way back from Dubai and we are still amazed by the beauty of this place, at first you will feel like you are entering a prison facility because of the facade , but DON'T LET IT FOOL YOU! the moment you step foot inside this paradise you will be instantly in AWE. The beauty is indescribable and you will experience a kind of service that is above and beyond anything you have ever experience before. The hotels is STUNNING, MAGNIFICENT and MAGICAL. From the room service to concierge they won't stop to surprise you in the way the handle customer service. If you need to make any arrangement for a tour I HIGHLY recommend a concierge named Anas Algharabli.This gentleman will go over anyones expectation to satisfy any need you won't even think you'll have. Simply incredible. The Italian restaurant is INDEED something you can't miss, the food is superb, just like service and scenery. Without hesitation I must say that from 100's of hotels around the world, this is the ONLY one I am looking forward to go back to. And my boyfriend feels the same way. Thank You Kempinski Staff once again.

Room Tip: Loved the Ishtar terrace room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henk-Meyknecht, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing this extensive review with us.

On behalf of the staff, I would like to thank you for recommending our staff and the special recognition for Anas Algharabli. I have shared your feedback with the team, who feel so proud and happy that they succeeded to accommodate you and your boyfriend with a memorable stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Address: Dead Sea Road | P.O. Box 941806, Sweimah 11194, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#2 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#2 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar gives you the opportunity to enjoy its riches where Queen of Sheba and Cleopatra once strived to unravel mystery. Situated gracefully on the shores of the largest spa in the world the Dead Sea, unique for its ozone-rich air, mineral sea water and ultra-violet filtered sunshine. Surely there is no region on earth where nature and history have more wonderfully conspired, where so exciting drama has obtained a so beautiful theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Amman
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea Jordan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.