We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, facilities & dead sea experience (except for the flies)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dead Sea Road | Dead Sea, Sweimah 11194, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sweimah
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great service, facilities & dead sea experience (except for the flies)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Overall, great hotel for a perfect dead sea experience in Jordan.

The good
- Very good location, right on the dead sea (as opposed to some of the places on the other side that are now ~1 mile away due to the receding coast line)
- Great facilities - 4-5 different pools, number of restaurants, etc
- Great service - everyone was very friendly and helpful
- Delicious breakfast
- Very nice rooms (rooms in the up front villas are much nicer as compared to the rooms in the main hotel)


The not so good
- I know people have mention this (and it is not hotel specific, and I am not sure if there is anything the hotel can do about it) but the swarms of flies make it difficult to relaxant enjoy everything else (remember to bring some sort of bug repellent)
- No Spa - that is the spa is ran by a different company, and is available for an extra fee. From a 5 star hotel I would expect their own spa facilities

Overall would recommend this hotel to everyone, and we will try to stop by next time we travel through this part of the world.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Atomic1111,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    325
    148
    69
    63
See reviews for
299
641
70
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Living in Amman, Jordan I go very often with my family to all the hotels of the Dead Sea. Kempinski Ashtar has always had the most luxurious facilities (views and landscaping are out of this world) but service was some times better at other hotels. As it has been almost two years since my last stay, I was happy to discover that this has completely changed.

The attitude of staff towards guests was remarkably attentive, polite and efficient. Every one was doing their best to make my family feel comfortable and happy with their stay. The food, which was Kempiski's weakest point is now of excellent quality.

Here is what to expect:
- The hotel is in fact divided into two sections. The "Main Building" and Ashtar. Ashtar is also known as the Village, down by the pools and closer to the Dead Sea. Ashtar is the more luxurious more expensive part of the hotel. The main building is very decent, but Ashtar takes you to the next level. We stayed at Ashtar. The ameneties in the rooms are all Dead Sea products, fruit basket, chocolate box and directly by the pool. The rooms are large and comfortable. The weather was superb, so we did not need much air conditioning but it works well.
- The hotel has many pools, most are public and open to every body but some are "by invitation only" and reserved for Ashtar guests. The kids pool, infinity pool and the "semi-private" pool were all heated (and believe me, you need it this time at the dead sea although the weather is warm). We were told that "sunk-in pool also gets heated but later on when the weather gets cooler.
- Sun beds are plentiful and lifeguards are attentive and helpful. Towels are abundant and brought to your location by staff as many times as needed. Free water bottles are distributed on the beach and pool areas for every body. The beach is nice and sandy (artificial) while the Dead Sea is very accessible and mud is readily available. We did not try the Spa, but we heard from other guests that it is nice.
- Landscaping is incredible: old olive trees every where, greenery and plantation. The Dead Sea and mountains of Palestine can be viewed from every where. This is a true Holy Land experience.
- Having a baby stroller will be a problem though as the terrain is not very helpful, still a club car can be ordered and I have seen the staff carry strollers over stairs.
- The Kids Club is well equipped, but there are no outdoor activities for kids and entrance to the club is expensive for what it offers.
- Food: This is where I experienced a quantum leap with my last experience two years ago: The Main Restaurant offers breakfast and buffet dinner which are absolutely superb. There are plenty of choices and the quality is excellent. We also tried the Italian restaurant which was of very good quality. The hotel features other restaurants but unfortunately we did not try them out. Restaurants are a little bit expensive by local standards but that can be offset by booking half board. Rooms have a free minibar which is refilled every day.
- Check in and checkout were swift and staff were very kind and attentive. Ashtar has its own reception area.

In conclusion, I was extremely pleased with the improved service at Kempinski Dead Sea, the hotel in my opinion now has a big gap with other hotels in the Area in terms of facilities, service and scenery. That is where we will be going, from now on. I strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: If traveling with children, choose Ashtar ground floor rooms next to the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Mohammed,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Can't fault service or location. Room was pleasant, although facing onto a main swimming pool/courtyard which was awkward for changing etc. The room is also very dark- perhaps because it was facing public area? It was unbelievably expensive though, far beyond london prices or skiing prices. Food included, but drinks not and a basic soft drink was £5.50, alcohol was just silly and any spa treatment i.e massage was about £100 as a starting price, which is bonkers as the average Jordanian salary is £90 for a month. The room inc supper and breakfast was £200 but with a few drinks (non alcoholic) and lunch the next day it neared £300. Bizarre and not worth it for a paddle in a salty lake!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Jbruhew,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

As for your point regarding the prices, I would highly recommend you provide us with your email address in order to update you with our promotions and special offers that will be more suitable for your good self.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

the hotel has all kind of pools, main heated pool, the river pool, the lazy pool, the infinity pool, and semi private pool for some rooms which our room was one of it... the hotel has direct access to the dead sea with available mud to do masks. wherever you stay there is always someone at your service, everyday there is a different cocktail they offer you during the day if you are staying by the pool or the beach, a piece of fruit also... the rooms are clean big enough just there is no enough lighting.. it was too dark... just good lights in the bathroom.

Room Tip: if you have kids choose the room with semi private pool, your kids will play all day long with barel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Ms. Joanne Karameh,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Overall we liked the hotel. Great location, great views, the dead sea... However I was looking forward for a great massage but when I checked the spa a bad smell welcomed us :) the receptionist tried to explain it but didn't make any sense. I ended up no not having a spa service however I had a lot of products from one of the shops. And here comes the real complain..... The shop owner calculated the merchandises which came to $69 instead he said $96. When my husband questioned him he agreed that was $69. My advice don't trust the shops people. Check again and again and make sure they don't trick you.. We experience the same treatment in other shops too. However the Kempinsky chain should be careful who they lease their space too. This can degrade the hotel image and is sad because the hotel employees are pretty nice and helpful at least to us. Another inconvenience is the wifi that us not available in the rooms. Routers can help boost the signal as it is available outside the room.

And lastly we enjoyed the Pissy at the Italian pool deck. So friendly. We will miss it... :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Camellia,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

As for the shops and their pricing issue, we have taken a note of that and will make sure they are aware of the unpleasant experience our guests are facing due to such incidents.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel needs some competition. The owners are clearly keeping down staffing costs and investment in the rooms to extract a good profit. Can't blame them, that's business, but it comes at a price. We can't recommend it.

It is beautiful, with a great setting and big pools but it is lacking in personality and charm. The staff are friendly and helpful but there are not enough of them to make it a five star experience. They did not check us in, in the correct part of the hotel, turn down service in the evening only happened occasionally, they forgot to restock the minibar and what there was, was simply thrown in.

The restaurant at breakfast and dinner was always understaffed and lacked organization - again the staff were friendly and helpful but you were shown to a table and then left without anyone picking up the next stage - drinks, explanation of the buffet and so on.

The room was very worn (comfortable bed, however) with lights not working (never repaired despite requests that it be done) the wardrobe lights would never switch off so we had to jam the doors closed every night (again, asked for the fault to be rectified but never fixed).

It's a nice hotel but it is four stars (with faults fixed) not five stars. And it is very, very expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Terry,

Dear Nataliec,

Sunny greetings from the Dead Sea,

We are disappointed to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. We would like to offer our apologies for not being able to meet your expectations, as this is not the level of service we are known for providing our guests.

Rest assured that your points have been taken into consideration and that the concerned team members of our management have been notified to ensure your comments are being handled with immediate effect.

Once again, we do apologies for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again to ensure you spend a memorable experience at one of the world's natural wonders, the Dead Sea.

regards,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

stayed for 3 nights. great hotel but the bedrooms would be better if the lighting was brighter - there are just no options to raise the lighting level - energy efficient but not very functional. otherwise a great place to chill out after touring Jordan. spectacular pools and the Italian poolside restaurant was a great location for dinner

Room Tip: go for ground floor Ishtar pool villas for peaceful stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear WorthiesHale,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

As for your comment on the lighting in the rooms, I have addressed this point with our engineering department to take action where needed.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Address: Dead Sea Road | Dead Sea, Sweimah 11194, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar gives you the opportunity to enjoy its riches where Queen of Sheba and Cleopatra once strived to unravel mystery. Situated gracefully on the shores of the largest spa in the world the Dead Sea, unique for its ozone-rich air, mineral sea water and ultra-violet filtered sunshine. Surely there is no region on earth where nature and history have more wonderfully conspired, where so exciting drama has obtained a so beautiful theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Amman
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea Jordan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.