We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel at the Dead Sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dead Sea Road | P.O. Box 941806, Sweimah 11194, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sweimah
HK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel at the Dead Sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is near the northern tip of the Dead Sea and is about 40 minutes away from the international airport. Hotel lobby, environment, grounds are excellent. Our room was a Junior Suite and is also very good but not quite the best we've stayed in for a Kempinski. The hotel has no shortage of very very nice swimming pools for you to enjoy in the grounds leading down to the Dead Sea.

Whilst the "beach" is very rocky, the hotel has placed 2 steps with handrails leading down to the water. The Dead Sea is an incredible experience and the waters are actually quite clean and clear. One could float on the sea with absolutely no effort whatsoever - awesome sensation !

The service from the hotel staff especially the Concierge is truly second to none - they were extremely courteous. knowledgable and helpful even BEFORE we checked into the hotel (we had asked for all kinds of information to plan our trip to Jordan) - congratulations to the hotel management for having such great staff. One of their recommendations and arrangements was for us to visit the Ma'In springs and spa which was EXCELLENT - more on this spa in another review.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Benny,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    303
    137
    63
    59
See reviews for
272
588
60
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

sunset is a must..plan to be there at least for one sunset during your stay
avoid Italian restaurant..excellent setting, but food is teririble /service slow and expensive
avoid rooms that have access to the garden/pool. they are very noisy.
ask for a sea view room

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Dasa,

Warm greetings from the lowest point on Earth,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This Kempinski is on the Dead Sea with facilities for floating (swimming not possible in Dead Sea) and mud bathing. Aside from that 5 restaurants and a bar with great views over the Dead Sea to Israel on the other side, 2 infinity pools and two more extensive pools a spa etc.. Rooms are well laid out and staff very helpful. Only problem could be a little impersonal it is so big. We went in mid October weather was superb low 30s during the day and warm enough to sit outside in shirtsleeves in the evening.

Room Tip: Many types of room from main block to duplex villas we has a superior room in the gardens with a ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Nigel,

Warm greetings from the lowest point on Earth,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were staying just one night october this year. And it was a mistake!!! We should had stayed much longer. This hotel was great, great, great.............and one more time GREAT!!! We had a great time, staff was extremely helpful and polite. Food was delicious and fresh. Sea and mud was very relaxing. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. I will definitely come back and enjoy again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Zuzana,

Warm greetings from the lowest point on Earth,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed earlier this week for two nights and the service was appalling, food mediocre, very expensive and so big that it took forever to get to the beach, (unappealing) and the pool. The room was very unattractive with cage like shutters on the box like balcony. Could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Scarborough2013,

We are disappointed to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. We would like to offer our apologies for not being able to meet your expectations, as this is not the level of service we are known for providing our guests.

We would appreciate you contacting our Executive Assistant Manager on the email below in order to better understand your frustrations.

Warren Goadby
Executive Asisstant Manager
warren.goadby@kempinski.com

regards,
Henk Meyknect
General Manager & Area Director of Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a disappointment, booked 3 nights and we're on day 2 and thinking of heading back to Amman. It's not all bad, the suite is great with a spectacular view, particularly at sunset. The pools are clean and not too busy and the service in the lobby bar is very good. Unfortunately that's about it.
Dinner 1st night in the Italian was disappointing, bit tasteless and overlooked pasta, it' just not 5 star.
Breakfast day 1 - sat outside, birds I could cope with, the flies were everywhere, probably because the table was dirty and hadn't been wiped down after the previous people. Food was good and plentiful but the restaurant is like a school cafeteria, very noisy, people pushing and children everywhere. We have a suite in the main building and still have to troop down to the obelisk even though breakfast is served in the main building.
Service at the pool, we ordered a coffee and two waters, over 20 minutes later the coffee arrived but not the water. Ordered a Pepsi and the water again, neither arrived. We eventually went to the bar to get it ourselves. I realise it sounds daft,but no spoon with the coffee to stir in the sugar, it's not 5 star service,
The prices here are very high, a glass of Chiliean wine will set me back 16JD. I can get over that and drink beer instead.
Booked a hair appointment as I fancied a bit of relaxing treat. 20 minutes (yes, it's quicker to get your hair cut here than get a coffee) I emerge to my husbands laughter with my uneven hair cut. One side is about 1/2 inch longer on the side and I have split ends at the back, the bill was ridiculous, so high I could cry at the expensive of around 80JD. I am crying now at the thought.
Buffet dinner was good, lots of choice and great salads and England qualified.
Day 2 - breakfast, sat inside with a clean table - yay. The noise was awful, children screaming and running around, one boy is lucky not to be wearing my pot of tea, I just managed to avoid flinging it over him as he crashed by. It's okay, because the water isn't that hot to make tea so it wouldn't burn. I was physically pushed out of the bread section by someone who was obviously very hungry and couldn't wait.
I'm by the pool now, brought water and coke down with me, so I'll be okay for drinks.
Hang on a mo, a bit of redemption. Ordered a Pepsi and a coffee whilst typing this and it turned up within minutes, thank you Ibrahim, perhaps there is hope for this expensive 5 star hotel? And yes, there is spoon.

Room Tip: I hear the Marriott is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Timtamkl,

We are disappointed to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. We would like to offer our apologies for not being able to meet your expectations, as this is not the level of service we are known for providing our guests.

We would appreciate you contacting our Executive Assistant Manager on the email below in order to better understand your frustrations.

regards,
Warren Goadby
Executive Asisstant Manager
warren.goadby@kempinski.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Address: Dead Sea Road | P.O. Box 941806, Sweimah 11194, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#2 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#2 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar gives you the opportunity to enjoy its riches where Queen of Sheba and Cleopatra once strived to unravel mystery. Situated gracefully on the shores of the largest spa in the world the Dead Sea, unique for its ozone-rich air, mineral sea water and ultra-violet filtered sunshine. Surely there is no region on earth where nature and history have more wonderfully conspired, where so exciting drama has obtained a so beautiful theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Amman
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea Jordan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.