We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dead Sea Road | P.O. Box 941806, Sweimah 11194, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sweimah
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Breathtaking experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stay over one night. The ground were beutiful, well kept. The location is surreal, the architeture of the place is magnificent. The Dead Sea was a walk downstairs. The pool was facinating. The food, the service, the room and other amenities were top of the line. We will return for sure!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear RogerGCarrillo

Sunny Greetings from The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

It is with great pleasure that we received your valuable comments from which we know that you had a relaxing and memorable stay at our hotel. Our high level of service would not have reached to this level without your valuable comments.

Once again, thank you for your time in sending to us your nice feedback about your visit to the Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    301
    137
    63
    59
See reviews for
272
586
59
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I was a bit skeptical while booking into the Kempinski because it was stretching our budget, but eventually decided to give it a go. I'm glad I did that - we had a wonderful time - got upgraded to a suite (a tad too huge for our needs but hey, who's complaining?!) by an extremely amiable fellow at the reception. The breakfast spread was grand and as varied as it could get and the view, divine! And then ofcourse, you just walk down et voila, the famed dead sea ready to let you in to float!
Overall, a truly memorable experience!

Room Tip: I'd probably think that going off-season helped in the upgrade but also remember, it can get rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Dipti V,

Greetings from The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

We received your comments which great pleasure knowing that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. Our high level of service would not have reached to this level without your valuable comments.

Once again, thank you for your time in sending to us your nice feedback about your visit to the Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed for one night only, middle of the week, in July 2013, during Ramadan. We were upgraded immediately (only later we learned that the main building was closed for renovations). The grounds were beautiful, lush, well taken care of. It was a walk to our room and were driven by a club car. The room was very nice, not the very best ever, but still clean, comfortable, big, nicely decorated. A previous reviewer commented on the scalding hot water, and we had the same issue. Luckily we only stayed one night, because neither me or my daughter could shower or bathe! Internet in the room was only via cable, so that was a small issue for the iPhone and iPad. Otherwise free wifi around the grounds that works well. Free mini bar soft drinks were very nice. So many beautiful pools around the grounds. 2 infinity pools, kid pools, lazy river, etc. The beach was nice and mud was in big "urns" on the beach. Since we went in the week, there weren't many guests at all. The service was very impressive, everyone always wants to go out of their way for you. There is always water bottles in coolers around the pool/beach areas to sty cool! Loved it, and would do it again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Greetings from The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

We received your comments which great pleasure knowing that you and your esteemed daughter had a nice stay in our hotel. Rest assured that your comments are very valuable to us and that we are in the process of finalizing the implementation of the WIFI in all our rooms and suites to make the stay of our dear guests more convenient.

Once again, thank you for your time in sending to us your nice feedback about your visit to the Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had overall a wonderful relaxation spa stay. Kempinski is the best option in this area of Jordan because others are just worse.( I've been at the nearby Movenpick and Marriott just to check out restaurants and spas and I can definitely say that Kempinski is the only option if you are looking for a more or less luxury stay. Other hotels might do only if you like all-inclusive type egyptian holidays. Please have in mind that the service is unpredictable, it seems that they are trying to do their best but still its very jordanian 5stars service no offense.) Beware of the weekends, a lot of local arab families come with an endless number of little children and it could be pretty noisy at any time of the very early morning or at night. Ask for a room change or try to stay outside as long as possible if you will have such a company. SPA at Kempinski is overpriced, I went to the ZARA spa nearby at Movenpick and it was very nice and at least two times cheaper. The best dining was the room service. Wines are expensive but the local ones were good, try the local red, its very very decent. And dont forget to ask for an upgrade!

Room Tip: Junior suits at the main building have they own lawn and you can dine with a sea view. We ordered ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Belkus,

Greetings from The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

We received your comments which great pleasure knowing that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. Our high level of service would not have reached to this level without your valuable comments. As for the Spa, as you may already know it is managed by the international chain Anantara and the pricing strategy is put by themselves however, I will be more than glad to deliver your message to them for their kind review and attention.

Once again, thank you for your time in sending to us your nice feedback about your visit to the Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Whilst the food was simply of the standard that I'd expect from a kempinski, the setting, the service, and the rooms were absolutely superb. My youngest daughter (21) and I have recently enjoyed our 2nd stay at the hotel within a year, and absolutely love it, especially the free mud, and the sunset over the infinity pool. Of course, not a cheap chain, but definitely represents great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear iain c,

Greetings from The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

We received your comments which great pleasure knowing that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. Our high level of service would not have reached to this level without your valuable comments.

Once again, thank you for your time in sending to us your nice feedback about your visit to the Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The grounds are beautiful and the access to the Dead Sea is great. Other than that, our one night there was a waste of $200. The room was a huge, echoing concrete cave filled with IKEA furniture. Half of the lightbulbs in the room didn't work, only one outlet worked, and there were places in the room where construction/wiring had not been completed.

No coffee cups in the room. The shower left a sloppy, sizeable puddle in the middle of the bathroom floor. The door was heavy and poorly hung, allowing for the wind to whistle through, and the sliding door to the balcony was so unmanageable that I had to use two hands and brace myself to make it move.

We got up early to enjoy the Dead Sea, shower, have the free breakfast, and be on our way by the noon checkout. Unfortunately, there was only scalding hot water coming from the taps, so by the time the engineering department fixed it, we had to leave for checkout.

When I asked to speak to a manager to comment on the room, I was stonewalled. The desk clerk wrote down 1/2 of my comments, and offered to make up a to-go box, since it was now 12:30 and we had had nothing to eat. We waited in the lobby for 35 minutes for promised food, then gave up.

On top of all of this, 100 Euros went missing from my passport folder and I have every reason to believe it happened while our luggage was in the hotel's holding room.

Booking at the Kempenski was our big splurge for our trip to Jordan, but it was a huge waste of money. This property is an embarrassment to the Kempenski name.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Grier_R,

Greetings from The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

Allow me to express, on behalf of the entire team of the hotel, our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have encountered at our hotel during your last visit. Rest assured that your valuable comments have been shared and discussed with the concerned department heads in order to rectify the shortfalls that you have experienced.

Allow me again to reiterate on the fact that your feedback allows us to track the hotel areas of improvement in order to make sure that we deliver the 5 star luxury service our guests expect from our hotel.

Once again, many thanks for sparing some of your precious time in sharing your feedback on your previous stay. Should you plan another visit to the Dead Sea, please do let us know to make the Dead Sea experience as memorable as you plan it to be.

Best regards,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

From the moment I checked in to the moment I left, I was stunned by the quality of this beautiful hotel. It's a Kempinski, so it ain't cheap, but it's not too expensive either, at least compared with the prices I pay for hotel rooms in Western Europe. Beautiful rooms, (I was upgraded to a sea view suite); excellent food; more pools than I could count on a bleary eyed morning and the chance to float in the Dead Sea. Wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear JCCMLondon,

Greetings from The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

We received your comments which great pleasure knowing that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. Our high level of service would not have reached to this level without your valuable comments.

Once again, thank you for your time in sending to us your nice feedback about your visit to the Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Address: Dead Sea Road | P.O. Box 941806, Sweimah 11194, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#2 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#2 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar gives you the opportunity to enjoy its riches where Queen of Sheba and Cleopatra once strived to unravel mystery. Situated gracefully on the shores of the largest spa in the world the Dead Sea, unique for its ozone-rich air, mineral sea water and ultra-violet filtered sunshine. Surely there is no region on earth where nature and history have more wonderfully conspired, where so exciting drama has obtained a so beautiful theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Amman
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea Jordan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.