We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary service!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Jordan Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Jordan Dead Sea Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Jordan Dead Sea Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 18186, Jordan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sweimah
Port Stephens, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Ordinary service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our group stayed her on may 1st,2013. Ater check-in we were left to wander around trying to find an elevator to get to our room. Eventually we asked a staff member who told us where to find one. It was then a very long walk to our room.
The room was really lovely and the amenities were excellent.
We decided to walk down to the beach... Again a really long hot walk.
Breakfast was lovely but we again were not told where to go and came across the breakfast area purely by chance.
Just as we returned from the beach to the pool area a nasty wind storm came up and everyone ran away screaming. Our group of 6 stayed and rescued a large number of umbrellas from being blown away any further. Staff eventually came and we all gathered up blown away large umbrellas. We didn't mind helping at all but a Thankyou would have been nice.
In the evening we went to a bar near the lobby so we could have drinks and a snack as we had had a late lunch. At 9.45pm the TV was turned up so loud for a football match that we couldn't have a conversation. We moved away and made a complaint at the front desk. The manager came and spoke to us saying the football match had been organised for that bar for some time. I understand this but it would have been nice to have been informed of this sporting event when we checked in as well as where the elevator was and where to go for breakfast.
It is a beautiful resort but the staff at check-in need to give new guests more information.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPR_Jordan_DeadSea, Manager at Crowne Plaza Jordan Dead Sea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Ms Paulini
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor in connection with your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea Resort and for sharing your positive as well as constructive comments.
We appreciate your good comments about our rooms and are glad you liked the hotel.
Through your comments we can improve our operation and detect the areas that need further upgrade and training, as our primary goal is to ensure that our guests are always content with the services they receive at our Hotel.
While we had a natural uncontrollable weather event which caused a problem with the umbrellas, we would like to thank you for your kind assistance and genuine help.
We would like to assure you that we are striving to meet and exceed all our guests’ expectations. We will always make sure to deliver a comfortable experience on your future stays, looking forward to welcome you soon at our resort.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    134
    58
    23
    18
See reviews for
175
163
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

i would recommend this hotel to everyone that i know, we took 3 rooms for 2 nights and it was beautiful, staff were great, food is great, pools are awesome, overall i would only visit crowne plaza dead sea as long as there service stays like this, thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pools are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPR_Jordan_DeadSea, Manager at Crowne Plaza Jordan Dead Sea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Sir
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your detailed review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We hope to see you again in the future at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea Resort. Please do not hesitate to contact us in the future if we can be of any assistance with another stay.
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is quite a nice hotel with good location. The staff are terrible! Right from the security guard at the main entrance we were made to feel not welcome. I have a Platinum Membership with IHG and they didn't have a record of my booking at the gate. The checkin was slow and they did not upgrade me. The room they gave us was meant to have a sea view but we just had a view of the pavilion. When we asked them for a drink they said they couldn't serve us because there was a private party that night. Then about 8pm the noise started and we couldn't hear the TV in our room. There was a noise limiter on the TV sound but not on their horrible music! When we rang to complain they didn't answer the phone.

Room Tip: Don't get a Sea View Room - Pool View Rooms will avoid the noisy party music at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPR_Jordan_DeadSea, Manager at Crowne Plaza Jordan Dead Sea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor in connection with your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea Resort and for sharing your constructive comments.
Through your comments we can improve our operation and detect the areas that need further upgrade and training, as our primary goal is to ensure that our guests are always content with the services they receive at our Hotel such as the main gate service, check in, and the noise level.
We would like to assure you that we are striving to meet and exceed all our guests’ expectations. We will always make sure to deliver a comfortable experience on your future stays, looking forward to welcome you soon at our resort.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We are currently at Crowne Plaza DS, I think they have a good service so far, away from that there is no complimentary water in the room all day long, specialy that in Jordan you can not drink from tab water, however there is a restaurant called burj al hamam, it is one of the best places I have been to in Jordan, excellent service, great variety of food selection, even I was impressed with the staff attitude there, the waiter who was serving our table has an excellent attitude, a nice smile, high courtsey, and I think his name was mohammad abu awad as far as i remember, on the other hand the resort's building is spectacular,in addition to that, the coach at the Sea side is excellent,as i was looking for a specific kind of rocks at the beach, he heard me talking to my wife about these rocks ,when 10 min later he came with the kind of rocks im looking for.
I thinks its a nice hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPR_Jordan_DeadSea, Manager at Crowne Plaza Jordan Dead Sea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Miss Natalie

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments in regards to your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Dead Sea Resort.
Though we are glad to hear that your overall experience in staying with us, especially you appreciate our good service, and the food at Burj Al Hamam, and the Hotel staff were delightful to service you.
We hope to see you again in the future at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea Resort. Please do not hesitate to contact us in the future if we can be of any assistance with another stay.
Best Regards

Fakhri Hindiyeh
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just came back from a pleasant stay at this hotel which opened only a few months back. Despite staying there during a packed weekend, we still felt we had our own space (rather impressive considering it has 420 rooms and a capacity for more than 1000 guests!).
Our room was right next to the huge central swimming pool which was very convenient. Room itself was clean, modern and a very comfy bed. Wifi is available everywhere. One small nitpick though, the door to the room was very heavy!
Access to the beach was not as maze-like and tiring as is the case with other Dead Sea hotels. The beach is nice and sandy with a nice little makeshift bar in the middle.
In terms of dining, we enjoyed well known Lebanese restaurant Burj Al Hamam and the Latin pool bar immensly. However, Ambrosia was overpriced. Breakfast was quite good as well.
Overall, very recommended and I will be back soon!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a pool view to have a central location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPR_Jordan_DeadSea, Manager at Crowne Plaza Jordan Dead Sea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Madam

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments in regards to your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Dead Sea Resort.
Though we are glad to hear that your overall experience in staying with us, especially you appreciate our nice room, and the food at Burj Al Hamam, Beach facilities and the Breakfast.
We hope to see you again in the future at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea Resort. Please do not hesitate to contact us in the future if we can be of any assistance with another stay.
Best Regards
Fakhri Hindiyeh
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. They charged three of us E600 approx for bed only. We were quoted and extra E40 each for breakfast. The building itself is spectacular and beautifully designed, if a little awkward to get around due to the different levels. There's a lift to the beach and up and down to Reception. We ordered the Signature Burger and a Chicken wrap in the lobby bar and were kept waiting forty five minutes. They were nothing like what was epicted on the menu. When they arrived they were awful Burger cold and leathery in a flaccid bun that was barely defrosted. No cheese no extras. Cold French fries. The Wrap was cold and decidedly unappetising. Beer and wine were horrendously expensive except for Happy Hour 5 to 7 that is policed with a Stopwatch!. Security is tight with steel ramps and security guards and X ray machines. The bedrooms are reasonable but not out of this world. We tried the Lebabese restaurant and the first night it was OK. The second night I ordered a chicken. What arrived was flattened out and grilled. It was suspiciously salty and quite tough. It will live to fight another day. Wife ordered skewers of chicken and 'grilled meat'. Not sure what the 'meat' was. The staff there were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. The life guards who patrol the 20 metres or so of beach are very nice and most helpful, however, they are told to get everyone out of the water at 7.00pm. This is a real nuisance if it's your last few hours and you have been on the day trip to Petra 3 hours drive away. Our lifeguard was very decent and gave us ten minutes. He got given out to for his trouble!! All in all an unforgettable experience if not for the best of reasons!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Jordan Dead Sea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear chumley6,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry about your poor bar and restaurant experience. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed there for one lovely night, check in/out were very smooth, thanks to Mr. A. Hares,

Our room was in the 2nd floor of Building #8 and it was one of the best, it was fair enough size, with nice balcony, with a pool view, very nice one :-), the room has free WiFi. Bathroom was good, curtains are very good, I didn’t use the LCD screen so I will not comment on TV channels.

Swimming pools are great, water was cold though, but freshening in the hot weather, This beach is the best, it is a proper sand beach and the only one that I’ve seen at the Dead Sea, different than other hotels as mostly the beach is rocky, there are showers directly near the sea, which is very useful, beach`s staff are very helpful and friendly.

Breakfast had good variety of food, but in my opinion needs more improvement.

We had lunch at the Latin restaurant; we ordered the burritos and the quesadillas, they were very nice, and the beverage was lovely Mexican beer,

And we had the dinner at Burj Al Hamam – Arabic restaurant, it will always be my favourite, Arabic mazza with Arak is the best.

Finally, we had a very nice and relaxing two days in one of my favourite places, the lowest point on earth, the Deadsea.

Room Tip: All the hotel rooms has very good view, my room was in the 2nd floor of Building #8 and it was one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPR_Jordan_DeadSea, Manager at Crowne Plaza Jordan Dead Sea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments in regards to your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Dead Sea Resort.
We are glad to hear that your overall experience in staying with us, especially you appreciate our nice room, and the food at Burj Al Hamam, Beach facilities and the Breakfast, additional to the Mexican restaurant.
We hope to see you again in the future at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea Resort. Please do not hesitate to contact us in the future if we can be of any assistance with another stay.
Best Regards
Fakhri Hindiyeh
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Jordan Dead Sea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Jordan Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Address: Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 18186, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Business Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Jordan Dead Sea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Jordan Dead Sea Resort & Spa offers 420 guestrooms and suites beautifully appointed and furnished to meet the highest standards, providing superior luxury and exclusive services. Awaken each day feeling revitalized with the comfortable therapeutic mattress and fluffy pillows dedicated to delight the senses of every staying guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Jordan Dead Sea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Jordan Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Jordan Dead Sea Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.