We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and a fantastic time to visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dead Sea Road | PO Box 815538, Sweimah 11180, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Sweimah
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great place and a fantastic time to visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed here about a year ago before the civil war in Syria started to affect Jordan. Tourism is down in Jordan, and good rates are being offered, and if not ASK! So to say the least, it's not crowded, people are being extra friendly, and security is nothing to worry about. For this hotel, like all the hotels on the Dead Sea, bring insect repellent and insect bite relief. If you plan to swim in the Dead Sea (a must and a unique experience) bring swimming goggles because of the salt in the sea. At night they have very good belly dancing and music. Last year, and one time before ,because it was so enjoyable I am going back tomorrow (November 2013) with my girlfriend!

Room Tip: bring insect repellent and protection
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ziad Q, Public Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Dead Sea!

It was of great pleasure welcoming you to our hotel. We are extremely pleased to receive such thorough feedback and to read that you have enjoyed your time in our resort and that positive memories remain with you referring to our employees and our facilities.

Our team at Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea wishes to be at your service soon again.

Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    540
    364
    187
    93
    73
See reviews for
270
475
80
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The novel way of the man pouring juice when we arrived truly welcomed us to this lovely resort.
Superb location on the banks of the Dead Sea.
Rooms were lovely, very spacious and clean.
Resort well laid out with beautiful gardens
Staff at beach outstanding, making sure we all enjoyed the full Dead Sea experience.
The flies are a distraction but that's not the hotel's fault!
Beautiful meal in the Grill.
A great place to end our amazing tour of Jordan

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ziad Q, Public Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Dead Sea!

Your kind feedback is highly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

It was of great pleasure welcoming you to our hotel. We are extremely pleased to receive such thorough feedback and to read that you have enjoyed your time in our resort and that positive memories remain with you referring to our welcome juice, resort design, rooms, garden, staff and food.

Moreover, we were delighted that you recommended us so kindly here on TripAdvisor.

Our team at Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea wishes to be at your service soon again.

Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have been to Moevenpick Dead Sea resort 3 times. Our first stay was in May 2013. Our room was not ready upon arrival (1.5 hours late), beach towels were not replenished, and we were given 2 twin beds even though we had filled out the pre-stay survey letting them know that we are a young married couple. My husband then tweeted about our experience, which resulted in us being promised a much better stay and free upgrade. Our second stay in September 2013 was incredible - our upgraded room was located in Um Qais, an adults-only area with a private pool. We were given complimentary chocolate covered strawberries, a tray of dates, free minibar, a bottle of wine with glasses, extra Trinitae soap and bath items, and chocolates on our pillows when we returned from dinner. It was the most deluxe experience I've had at a hotel. After this stay, we returned in October 2013. This stay did not include all of the 'extras', but as we now realized that Um Qais is the place to be (for young childless couples and singles), we enjoyed our stay thoroughly. The pools are gorgeous and the Dead Sea is lovely. If I could give one feedback it would be to limit smoking of guests by the pool- I was feeling ill and another lady actually got up and left in disgust. Also, like most hotels in Jordan, Moevenpick is quite expensive - not good value for money, but you won't find a better price in the region.

Room Tip: Um Qais - more expensive, but if you want to enjoy a romantic getaway, this is the place! Ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ziad Q, Public Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Dead Sea!

It was of great pleasure welcoming you to our hotel. We are extremely pleased to receive such thorough feedback and to read that you have enjoyed your time in our resort and that positive memories remain with you referring to our rooms, service, and our facilities.

With regards to the pricing of our various services, I would like to inform you that when conducting a recent price survey among resorts of similar standing in the country/region, we found that our services are competitively priced accordingly.

However, I may note that our check-in time is 4pm, which is also mentioned on our website. In case a room is not ready prior to this time we do offer our guests to store the luggage in our luggage room and to enjoy our facilities in the meantime.

Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts of your stay again with us.

Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed for 3 days to attend a conference in the nearby King Hussein Conference Center. The location of the hotel is excellent because it is just a five minute walk to the venue. The room given to me is in Umm Quais which has a private access to a dedicated swimming pool. When we arrived on our first day, the room was not immediately available and I was told to come back to the reception after an hour, a bit dissapointing as I was told they have a full booking and there is not much they can do. I was actually expecting for them to offer a refreshment or at least a bottle of water but I was dismissed by the reception officer as fast as he approached me. The room is big and is well kept the only problem is that there were too many mosquitoes.

The swim in the sea is an unimaginable experience that every visitor to the Dead Sea must experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ziad Q, Public Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Dead Sea!

Your kind feedback is highly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

It was of great pleasure welcoming you to our hotel. We are extremely pleased to receive such thorough feedback and to read that you have enjoyed your time in our resort and that positive memories remain with you referring to our resort rooms and beach

However, I may note that our check-in time is 4pm, which is also mentioned on our website. In case a room is not ready prior to this time we do offer our guests to store the luggage in our luggage room and to enjoy our facilities in the meantime.

Our team at Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea wishes to be at your service soon again.

Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqaba
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We came to spend a romantic day and evening. The hotel has a main building and then they have added something that is suppose to resemble a village leading down to the sea. We got a nice room in the " village" with our terrace door leading straight out to one of the swimming pools. It was great for a morning swim, even if the water was a bit cold. The room had everything you could need for your stay. The down side being that it is a almost 10 min walk down to the sea and the other swimming pools.
We spent the day by the sea and the pool area, and we noticed that it is not easy to actually get in the water, and I think that the hotel should work on making it more easy to get in and out of the water. Clear away the stones, build a rail, there is plenty of things that they could do! Over al, the facilities are nice but it's is not being taken care of as it should and it comes of feeling a bit old and not very clean. At the same time the service could also approve, they where out of towels, long waiting time at arrival, not a very friendly staff ( ex the grill, spa and reception) Small things but if you but them together it gets a bit annoying.
The breakfast was ok, I was not impressed neither disappointed.
For the dinner we went to The grill, and even though the waiters had some problems with pronouncing and recommending wine,they where very service minded and the food was lovely.
The summary of our stay is that It as a great stay but I don't think it should be regarded as a 5 star resort, 4 star is more honest. Some things in the hotel are great, others are good and some of the things needs some work, and if you are expecting a 5 star experience you should look elsewhere, expect 4 stars and it should live up to your expectations.
There is one last thing to consider when booking this hotel. Do not do it in the end of September, beginning of October, the place is full with flies because of the surrounding agriculture. It might sound like a small problem, but when it's about 10 billion of them it can destroy your Holliday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasPezout, Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Greetings from Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea,

Thank you for sharing your supportive comments.

We are happy that you have given us an opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to guest service. It is a great source of encouragement for our team.

We also appreciate your comment about the service and friendliness of the employees as well as your tip to enjoy moreover the hotel.

All of us were delighted to be of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort and Spa Dead Sea in the not too distant future.

Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stourbridge
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Having read some of the negative reviews I was a lttle worried about our 2 days at this resort. I needn't have been. From the moment we arrived we were treated brilliantly. The resort was very quiet, I think it was about 50% capacity. We had paid for a standard room but were upgraded to a premier room with access to a private pool and we had a lovely room with an enormous bathroom. Service throughout was excellent. All of the staff were friendly and willing. We enjoyed the italian restaurant. Not so much the buffet style but it was ok. Prices not too bad for a luxury resort. For good value use the happy hour between 6 and 7 where drinks are buy one get one free. Will definitely return to this resort.

Room Tip: Premier rooms in Um Quais are very quiet and access a very large private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasPezout, Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Greetings from Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea,

Thank you for taking for sharing your suportive comments. it is a great source of encouragement for all our team.

We appreciate your description of our service and freindliness of our employees and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

All of us were delighted to be of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort and Spa Dead Sea in the not too distant future.
Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel is massive and lacks any kind of personal touch.

The hotel security is ridiculous you might as well be boarding a flight in New York on the anniversary of 9/11

The food made my girlfriend so sick that after a few days of D&V I had to take her to hospital.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasPezout, Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

It has been a great pleasure welcoming you to the Mövenpick Resort and Spa Dead Sea. As your comfort and well-being are always our highest priorities, we appreciate receiving all type of comments. They are source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

I was most concerned with the remarks you made regarding the security of the hotel. We have a standard and certified security service at the hotel which is mandatory in all hotel in Jordan for your own safety and confort.

Also, we were sorry to learn that your girlfreind was unwell and that you believe this may be due to a meal served in our hotel. At this time, we have received no other reports of illnesses in connection with meal or any specific reason for such problem. Moevenpick Hotels & Resorts has a very strict food safety policy, which requires standards of food hygiene to be higher than those required by law. It is therefore considered unlikely that the meal you ate was the cause of your illness. We are, however grateful to you for bringing this matter to our attention and do hope that she has made a full recovery.

All of us were delighted to be of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort and Spa Dead Sea in the not too distant future.

Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea

Address: Dead Sea Road | PO Box 815538, Sweimah 11180, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#5 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the lowest point on Earth. The Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea and its picturesque village setting are there to fulfill you every wish. The resort features an exceptional environment for business events, one of the largest, most advanced spas of the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Spa Dead Sea
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Hotel Sweimah
Moevenpick Hotel Amman
Moevenpick Hotel Dead Sea
Movenpick Dead Sea
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Jordan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.