We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“miracle at dead sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea to your Saves list
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dead Sea Road | PO Box 815538, Sweimah 11180, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Sweimah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“miracle at dead sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

wonderfull hotel based on sphere, service & great food. everynight buffet with 1001 options,wifi service solution for our samsungs s2 included, except prices at pool service & quality of pina colada zero remarks, miracle environment directly at dead sea in style!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from the Dead Sea!

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. I have brought your comments to the attention of those concerned.

We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea in the future.

Yours truly,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    401
    209
    103
    93
See reviews for
313
527
87
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire lass
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

On checking in my husband asked if they wanted his card details and was told no. That evening we had the buffet meal, which was quite good. On leaving my husband signed the bill and as we were going out the waiter came chasing after us saying we could not charge it as they had no card details! We were taken to reception to go through the process that should have happened when we checked in. The following evening we decided to try another of the restaurants. The waiter stood outside The Grill asked if we would like to look at the menu. We decided we would eat there and said so to the waiter , he then pointed to a sign and said sorry you can't as the sign said no beach wear. My husband was wearing chino type shorts, but he said we still could not go in, so we ate at the buffet again which was their loss as we would have spent more money. On returning to our room we checked the hotel info pack and there wasn't anything in there about a dress code.

Room Tip: If possible have one in the main building as the blocks of rooms looked to be very dark and the near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Firstly, I may thank you for sharing your constructive feedback here on TripAdvisor with us and other travelers.

We have noted that your expectations with regards to your stay were not met 100% and I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered.

It is our standard to ask for a guarantee - by cash or credit card - upon check-in and I am very sorry that this was not the case upon your check-in and that you underwent a hassle afterwards.

Moreover, I would like to note that we do have a dress code for our Grill Restaurant - our fine dining restaurant - and unfortunately we do not allow shorts, however, most of our guests appreciate this and dress accordingly. We have shared your comments with our team and our department heads concerned have taken careful note of your feedback and will ensure to improve the mentioned points.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention. It would be of great pleasure to all our team to welcome you back to the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea in the near future.

Best regards,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have nothing on this hotel..But for for some reason I didn't like the vibe or the atmosphere there! I just didn't like the room(double room)..and the balcony is depressing..the pools..
I'd rather go to Marriot or Crown plaza !

Room Tip: Not the "Garandal" rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

I am sorry to read that you have not indulged in our resort during your stay with us.

However, I would like to propose our Premium Rooms - with private pool and access to the Jacuzzi for adults only - or our Wadi Rum Beach Rooms - with private terrace and stunning views of the Dead Sea - to you, which might suit you better.

We do hope that you might change your mind in the future and that you will return to our resort, as our Arabic Village design usually has many admirers.

Best wishes,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Location is good, but so are all the other hotels as cluster one after the other. The spa is excellent...great services, staff and pools make it the most desirable spot in the Moevenpick "village." With a 25 JD admission, take advantage of the several pools, tubs, dead sea plunge and other amenities with very few other people around (as compared to the non-spa swimming pools...crowded, loud.) On the down side, room service is terrible and the room originally booked wasn't properly cleaned when we checked in and subsequently we were moved to another room after 2 hours for the hotel staff to sort it out. It's apparent that this version of the Moevenpick is hemorrhaging money. It's too big for it's own good. I've heard the Marriott has it's act together. If it's spa is comparable to the Moevenick's, then go there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and other travelers. We are happy to hear that you have truly indulged in our Zara Spa and that you have enjoyed your time there.

However, I was sorry to learn of your concerns with regards to our room service and your room and at the outset would like to offer my sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced. We have ensured to share your comments with our team in order to improve our services and facilities.

Thank you for giving me this opportunity to explain and apologize. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again and we are confident that your next stay will be pleasurable in every respect.

Best regards,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We received a VIP reception. A fruit basket in the room. General room condition and bathroom was average for a 5 star but it was clean. Some maintenance work need to be done. I had problem with my internet in the room which helped point out the lack of communication between staff. Restaurant staff need training, although helpful. Still very expensive to eat and drink there. Had a pleasant talk with the manager and informed me they were working on renovations. In general it was a good stay

Room Tip: If staying in village rooms and you can't go upstairs you must mention that you need a ground ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Kind greetings from the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

Firstly, I may thank you for returning to our hotel and for being a loyal customer

We are more than happy to note that we are already in the preparation for our soft room renovation in order to upgrade and refresh our facilities.

Moreover, we have taken careful note of your constructive comments and we do look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in order to showcase you a further improvement of our services.

Yours truly,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Fantastic resort! When you visit the Dead sea, just pick the Mövenpick. Seriously. Don't consider anything else. We couldn't have asked for a better ending to a perfect trip.

We were originally booked to a cheaper alternative next door which was quickly cancelled with the 2 hour experience we had. We ended up driving to the Mövenpick next door and it was the best decision we could have made.

The only negative thing we can say is that you should grab your breakfast early, it does get busy, but the selection is very thorough.

We could go on and name all the fantastic amenities and the great time we had, but seriously just try it, you won't regret it.

Once you are checked in, pop by guest relations and say hi to Barbara and Amer. Two of the most understanding and helpful people we have ever met. They will go out of their way to make your stay an experience you won't forget.

Room Tip: If you are looking for peace and quiet, they have rooms which share a private pool away from all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We are thrilled of your more than kind review of your stay at the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea! Many thanks for informing other travelers of your experience at our hotel.

Moreover, thank you for singling out Amer's and my service attitude, this is of great motivation to all our team.

It was a pleasure to note how much you have enjoyed your visit to the Dead Sea and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued support.

Best wishes,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We deliberated quite a bit between making a day trip to Dead sea vs staying overnight. The extra cost of staying in a resort in dead sea in the end was totally worth it and will highly recommend this for folks visiting Jordan. Spend at least a night here. The sunset is indeed magical and the resort is stunning. The facilities are very good and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. You will enjoy a lot of privacy and the views even from the rooms are worth the cash spent.

Floating in the Dead sea is a must do... try it when its a bit calm and not too much waves and u can float v comfortably....the mud there is also pretty good and u can apply it and relax before heading for a shower. Like countless folks have mentioned before, dont ever get some in ur eyes (stings real bad) or worst still - get a taste of it... its yuck!!!!!!!! You are not adviced in any case to be there for more than 20 mins... relax later in any one of the numerous pools....and definitely enjoy the sunset...

The breakfast needs a special mention and was simply outstanding. You will be literally spoilt for choices...

The only issue we had with this stunning resort was the service. And this was a very big let down. It seems like after they check you in, they just forget u exist. We called 3 times requesting help to fix the wifi which wasnt working. Every time some one assured us they were on their way but strangely no one even bothered to even call, let alone come to the room. Worst still was checkout experience. After calling numerous times and asking for assistance in carrying the luggage to front desk (and its a decent walk), post waiting for half an hour still no one materialized and we had to lug it ourselves to the front desk. If only the service improves, this can be a perfect & magical experience. Some of the staff near the sea were very helpful with towels and drinks and this needs a special mention.

Overall, try to put up with the lack of service and do go ahead with your stay as the experience is totally worth it.

Room Tip: Choose a room as close to the sea (even standard rooms are available closer to sea). If possible get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

We appreciate receiving your constructive feedback and we wish to thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts with other travelers.

Moreover, we are happy to read that you have indulged in our facilities and that your vacation has been enjoyable.

However, we have taken note that you were not satisfied with our service. Please rest assured that we have shared your comments with all our team in order to improve our services. I may apologize for the disappointment you have expressed with regards to the action taken upon bringing the issues to our attention.

We are grateful for your support and would like to thank you, once again, for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Yours truly,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea

Address: Dead Sea Road | PO Box 815538, Sweimah 11180, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#5 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the lowest point on Earth. The Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea and its picturesque village setting are there to fulfill you every wish. The resort features an exceptional environment for business events, one of the largest, most advanced spas of the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Spa Dead Sea
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Hotel Sweimah
Moevenpick Hotel Amman
Moevenpick Hotel Dead Sea
Movenpick Dead Sea
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Jordan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.