We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for Dead Sea location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea to your Saves list
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dead Sea Road | PO Box 815538, Sweimah 11180, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Sweimah
Isle of Man
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for Dead Sea location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Arrived into Amman on tour about midnight so it was 2-30am by time we arrived. Excellent buffet breakfast- good choice of dishes. The rooms re in main building and then smaller units heading down to pools and ultimately sea at bottom. It was windy and quite rough so we did not actually swim, which may have been a shame. Room was comfortable, nice beds and bathroom but room overlooked the car park. Clearly an hour away from Amman so it is great for Dead Sea but need to travel on for other sights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from the Dead Sea!

We are delighted to read that our team of the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea was able to meet your expecations and that positive memories of your visit have remained with you.

Our resort is 40 minutes from Amman, however, we do have a Hertz desk in our lobby and we are more than happy to arrange any trips all around Jordan for our guests.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home soon again.

Best regards,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    402
    210
    103
    93
See reviews for
313
527
87
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Spent three nights chilling whilst on business in Jordan, got an excellent last minute rate. On the plus side the rooms were well spread out in the style of a village. Plenty of choice in pools and of course an opportunity to take a dip in the Dead Sea. The Jewel in the crown for me was the Infinity Pool so relaxing, with great views over the Dead Sea and fantastic when illuminated at night. I was lucky as I had the pool to myself during my visit, well worth the extra few quid to use.
The meals were good but a little expensive but I would visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for posting your more than kind review here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking your time to recommend our Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea.

Our team looks forward to your next visit and I can assure you now already of our best care.

Yours truly,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We arrived, a party of 114, from Amman airport in wee small hours, luggage being swiftly moved to our rooms, where sandwiches were awaiting us. Early to the water for 'swim' in Dead Sea before excellent breakfast while luggage collected. Party efficiently packed off for Bethany beyond the Jordan. An excellent and enjoyable introduction to Jordan. We may well be back for a stay of a few days.

Room Tip: Ours were down the main route to the pools and the Dead Sea and were modern and attractive with easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

I am more than happy to hear that your group has been welcomed so smoothly and that your stay was overall very enjoyable.

It was of pleasure being of service to you and we wish to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was very shocked to see how poorly this hotel is managed. Foods were horrible with no taste, extraordinary expensive, The outdoor are full of flies all over and waiters are careless. Beach were not well mainteined. Above all, the Herts car service was terrible. Most of cars were over 280,000 miles on it and our car stopped in the middle of desert. We were in the road more than 3 hours, missed the dinner time. The reception did not care about my story, no sympathy. I asked coutersy fruit cut but it was charged as room service with more then $27.00 a plate. It was less than 1/3 of apple on the plate. I will never revisit this hotel and I am telling everyone not to use this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Kind greetings from the Dead Sea!

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with regards to your stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy your stay with us and that you were disappointed with our service and facilities. Furthermore, please note that the car from Petra to the Dead Sea was not charged to you as a courtesy and as an apology for the hassle you had to go through.

Moreover, please note that currently we do not have many flies around our resort and that our pest control is truly doing their best to decrease the number of flies and to avoid any disturbance of our guests.

I would wish that you would give the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea another chance to prove the teams commitment to hospitality.

Yours truly,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The staff at the reception are not professional enough to work at a five star hotel as the movenpick. The prices are super expensive for a very bad quality. Service is poor, food is horrible, not to mention the old fashioned rooms and the dirty pools! Simply, we will not come back again!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from the Dead Sea!

We appreciate receiving your feedback, however, I would be very thankful if you would let me know in details what has occurred during your stay as it seems as if we were not able to meet your expectations at all. I would be more than happy if you would write me an email (Barbara.Steinort@moevenpick.com) in order for us to investigate all matters and find a suitable solution.

Thank you and kind regards,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My favourite hotel has been going down for a while. The most beautiful location and most wonderful set up has lately been attracting the wrong sort of visitors, its rooms are not looked after the swimming pools are full of the clothed swimmers and its prices are sky rocketing. I used to be proud of being a member of the Movenpick club enjoying a coffee and ice cream with my family on the terrace but now I am so sad to see it in that state ...

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker emphasize on that in your request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from the Dead Sea!

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and comments with us here on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to read that you have stayed in our hotel several times over the years, thank you for being a loyal guest to the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea.

Please be informed that we have noted your feedback accordingly and we would also like to let you know that we do have a soft room renovation scheduled for this year, to uprade and refresh our rooms. Moreover, our life guards pay strict attention to our guests using the recreation area and they do politely inform guests, that swimming with clothes is not permitted and request them to change. However, our Recreation Manager will emphasize on this mentioned point even more.

I would very much appreciate if you would let me know personally if you decide to return to our resort in the future, as I will ensure you with our best care.

Kind regards,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Everything looks old in this hotel. The lobby, the common areas and the rooms!! I went for a seminar, and I had a room in the main building. The room was ugly, dusty and very old. I had the water tank trucks under my window the whole night with their engine turning!!! The detergent used in the corridors make the floor slippery ( i had two of my friends falling down!!).
The food in the restaurant is terrible, especially the buffets. Every thing closes early. For The beach and the pools you are not allowed too go walk around at sunset!!!). The spa is ok but not the best I've ever seen.

The staff is young and need a desperate training . Most of them can not direct you to your room i f you are lost.
I would not go back a for a break

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the main building, you can end up facing the highway. Very exotic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Kind greetings from the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

Firstly, I would like to thank you for sharing your comments and feedback of your recent visit at our hotel.

We would like to inform you that our restaurants do close at 10:30pm - 11:00pm, however, our 'Valley Cafe' and 'Al Khayyam Bar' remain open until midnight. Furthermore we do certainly allow guests to watch the sunset from the beach, however, after 9pm we close our pool and beach side to ensure the security of our guests (as no lifeguards are available after this time). Moreover, we do display the layout and design of our resort very well on our website, in order for our guests to have a good insight.

I do apologize that your expectations with regards to your stay were not met. We have noted your feedback of the service, the food & beverage offers and your room. We have shared your review with our team in order to improve the mentioned points and I am truly sorry for any inconvenience you encountered.

I would wish that you would give us another opportunity to prove you our commitment to hospitality and our 5 Star service.

Best regards,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea

Address: Dead Sea Road | PO Box 815538, Sweimah 11180, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#5 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the lowest point on Earth. The Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea and its picturesque village setting are there to fulfill you every wish. The resort features an exceptional environment for business events, one of the largest, most advanced spas of the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Spa Dead Sea
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Hotel Sweimah
Moevenpick Hotel Amman
Moevenpick Hotel Dead Sea
Movenpick Dead Sea
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Jordan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.