We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience !February 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea to your Saves list
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dead Sea Road | PO Box 815538, Sweimah 11180, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Sweimah
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb experience !February 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

found evrything superb ! hotel rooms, cleanliness, enormous breakfast selection pleasant and helpful staff, resort offers everything you need for a perfect holiday, float in the dead sea, wonder around the resort, and choose from any of the restaurants !!

Room Tip: We had a tour of rooms and all great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

We value your kind words with regards to your recent stay with us and we wish to thank you for sharing your candid feedback here on TripAdvisor. Please note that our team was thrilled to read your review and that your comments are of great motivation to continue and further improve our services and facilities.

It was of pleasure having you as our guest, therefore, please feel free to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    400
    208
    103
    93
See reviews for
313
527
86
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Beautifully appointed rooms with this actual feeling of being in an Arabian castle/palace, great food, great service, and overall a very nice setting.

Just don't let the hotel driver take you to a shop with "good offers" while he drops you at the airport...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

Many thanks for taking your time to share your thoughts of your stay with us. We take pride in presenting you with facilities and services of good quality and we are more than happy that our offers were beyond your expectations.

Please accept my sincere apologies if the driver who took you to the airport was intrusive. I would like to inform you that I have spoken to the manager of the Hertz desk in our lobby and he ensured me that this will not re-occur in the future.

Our team would welcome the chance to be of service to you soon again.

Yours truly,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a weekend break. The hotel was stunning. It had it's own private access to the Dead Sea, a lovely design and it was beautifully clean and crisp. It has two pools; one for kids and another adult pool, with a good bar, shisha and a really cool chill out DJ. My boyfriend and I met a Jordanian guy there that we had also met in Petra and he had mentioned that the Movenpick had the best atmosphere in comparison to the Kepinski. Although didnt have a look at the Kepinski His advice was great. It did have a great atmosphere both for families or couples and the staff were friendly and professional. Well worth the money. Do it! G.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from the Dead Sea!

Thank you for sharing your positive memories of your stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read your recommendation of our facilities and we are more than happy that we were able to satisfy you. We have noted your feedback and shared it with our team to do even better in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea again this Summer to show you a further enhancement of our service.

Best wishes,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Movenpick in the Dead Sea for three nights in December 2013. The hotel is very impressive in terms of facilities and layout- it is huge. However, as I have already passed on in feedback, I thought that the rooms were a bit "tired" and did not appear as nice as the rooms in the Movenpick in Petra.

However, the pool areas are lovely and we spent three days doing nothing really other than swimming and reading. The service was also very impressive. We literally didn't leave the hotel and just ate at the restaurants there- they were pricey but there certainly are some cheaper options.

I would say to most people though that three nights is probably more than you need here but saying that you will still enjoy it.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the Dead Sea are lovely but not essential given the vast pool areas overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your thorough review of your stay with us. We are more than happy to read that our facilities and services have been able to meet your expectations.

With regards to our rooms, we are pleased to inform you that a soft room renovation has been scheduled for this year in order to upgrade and refresh our rooms accordingly.

We do wish to welcome you back to the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea to reload your energy again at the lowest point on earth.

Kind regards,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Room good to some extend and Pools not so good as well as stuff really You need long time for every thing
it have very nice spa but entrance fees 25JD for 1person (already check IN )
every night have good Belly dancer

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Kind greetings from the Dead Sea!

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for taking your time to recommend our Zara Spa and the entertainment we offer.

We have noted your feedback with regards to our service and we have definitely shared your comments with our team to improve the mentioned points. However, I would also like to inform you that we do have a variety of pools – the Summer pool (with sand), the heated Winter pool and the Infiniti pool (only for adults). Furthermore our Zara Spa, which is only accessible for adults, offers the Hydro pool (heated in Winter), the Infiniti pool and two indoor Dead Sea pools. Moreover, if you book a room in our Premium area you will be able to use our private pool – which only 24 rooms have access to – additionally to the Jacuzzi.

We do hope that your next trip to the Dead Sea will bring you back to the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea.

Best wishes,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapallo, Italy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This resort is right on the Dead Sea and is nestled in a remote & peaceful area. If you're looking for a place to enjoy the unique qualities of the Dead Sea, this is it! We were a party of three (self,spouse & friend) touring Jordan and this was our first stop. A great way to be introduced to the Jordanian countryside before going on to the extra-special Petra! (See my review of Petra)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

We are delighted to read such praise for our hotel. Many thanks for taking your time to post your positive memories and thoughts of your stay with us here on TripAdvisor.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back to our resort, we truly hope that your travels bring you back to the Dead Sea, maybe even in the warmer Summer months.

Best regards,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at 3 movenpick hotels last week - Petra, Dead sea & Aqaba. Movenpick Deadsea was the worst out of the three. Though the resort looks good from the outside on the inside it is not. There were many dissatifactions. To name a few
- Check in ! we were kept waiting for atleast 1hr to check in. the staff was dead slow investigating our passports ! and then another long wait for the shuttle to get us to our room. ok if u have big crowd get more people to help check in. this isnt an airport !
- The plumbing/ bathroom facilities (sink was blocked, the marble top cracked, the lavatory looks old) overall its all old and starting to look dirty
- At the breakfast buffet the staff are in a hurry to send us out. Ok u dont let anyone in after 10.30am tats understood. but im sure you're supposed to see off the people who are still eating inside. you should probably say not allowed in after 10am and tat ud close at 10.30 irrespective of if uve eaten or not so tat would justify clearing things at sharp 10.30am!
- Most of the plug points in the room dont function
- we went to the pool and we come back (in dripping cold bathing suits) to find we cant back into our rooms ! the cards dont work. and before u ask..no we didnt have mobiles with them. we didnt even take our mobiles! when we call up the only question your staff keeps asking is are you staying for 1 or 2 days ! You should know that! we took 2 days. and im assuming ur staff doesnt know tat and just went ahead and deactivated our card after 12noon ! to forcibly check us out !
- the bedding looked old and worn out. the comforter or quilt is all floppy and old and so doesnt fit the cover tightly.

Overall we didnt like our stay at your hotel or rather didnt feel it worth the money we paid. And compared to the other 2 hotels - Petra and Aqaba you are barely a 2/10. Both the other hotels were a wonder to stay at and very customer friendly. We had chosen a normal double bed room but both the hotels upgraded us up to suites, we didnt ask for it. they did it by themselves. these are value additions that have surely caught our attention (we r not asking the same but just making u understand tats the kind of care we got at your other hotels). You need to pull up your socks cos on comparison to your other hotels there is a stark difference. Its not like dead sea lacks hotels.
We wudnt come back to this particular hotel nor recommend it until you renovate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear valued guest,

It has been a great pleasure welcoming you to the Mövenpick Resort and Spa Dead Sea. As your comfort and well-being are always our highest priorities, we appreciate receiving your constructive comments over TripAdvisor as well as from our guest survey. I have just replied to you via email, however, I would like to express my apologies once more for the inconvenience you have suffered during your stay and the disappointment with our services and facilities.

I would like mention again that I have discussed your assessment of our guest service with the department heads concerned. Our Chief Engineer and his team will be checking your room in order to avoid the issues you encountered in the future. Our breakfast at our ‘Al Saraya’ restaurant does close at 10:30am during the week, however, our restaurant team points out to guests that the buffet will close at 10:30am in order for them to be able to go to the buffet again before it is being cleared. Moreover, I would like to inform you that you had booked a Superior room and you were upgraded to a Deluxe room in the Village area.

Thank you again for all your feedback, we are grateful to obtain our guests comments. Please be so kind to inform me personally (Barbara.Steinort@moevenpick.com) if you decide to return to the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea and I will ensure that you will have a flawless enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea

Address: Dead Sea Road | PO Box 815538, Sweimah 11180, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#5 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the lowest point on Earth. The Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea and its picturesque village setting are there to fulfill you every wish. The resort features an exceptional environment for business events, one of the largest, most advanced spas of the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Spa Dead Sea
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Hotel Sweimah
Moevenpick Hotel Amman
Moevenpick Hotel Dead Sea
Movenpick Dead Sea
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Jordan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.