We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Movenpick, always use it when visiting Dead Sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea to your Saves list
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dead Sea Road | PO Box 815538, Sweimah 11180, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Sweimah
Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
“Love the Movenpick, always use it when visiting Dead Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My wife suffers from Vitiligo and we need to visit the Dead Sea once a year for treatment which has been most beneficial.

Although some of the party stay at other hotels, we and others always use the Movenpick. It is clean, friendly and we love the 'village'.

The staff are friendly and helpful and make our stay most enjoyable.

The facilities are excellent and I spend my days just relaxing by the pool...bliss!

We are due back in September 2011 and cant wait.

Definitely recommend the Movenpick at the Dead Sea Resort

Bel & Rich

Room Tip: The village rooms all don't have sea views but are still excellent quality, very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas_pezout, Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear valued & loyal Guest,

Greetings from a peaceful corner of the paradise, your second home...

As a long stay guest in our hotel We realy like to thank you for taking your precious time to write on trip Advisor. We appreciate that you share your positive comments.

We are happy to read that we use to succeed in meeting or exceeding your expectations and to know that you give us the opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to hospitality.

Your kind comments are source of great encouragement for the staff and the management .

All of us were delighted to be of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort and Spa Dead Sea in September.
Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    402
    210
    103
    93
See reviews for
313
527
87
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel has no Moevenpcik quality standards at all ,They should name it local Moevenpick ,Gate guys are rude no welcoming although trip to there was long one ,The valet act like there was no one wants to park the car ,Front desk and the guy who checked us in was very slow and there is was a long lane waiting him to finish 3 customers and there was people out of line taking others line !! He didn’t bother to ask or apologies he was just rude and helpless ,They informed us that they will sms me one the room is ready but they never did , I had my room at 4:30 which is one hour and half late ,And they didn’t even offer late check-out and refused it later on ,Pool was like big Jacuzzi which i couldn’t hold swim there ,I've asked for club car but they never show up ,A TOTAL BAD EXPERIENCE

Room Tip: Private rooms is the best and nothing else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas_pezout, Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear valued Guest,

Greetings from Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea,

We have notice your comment and appreciated your feedback.
Your comfort and well-being are always our highest priorities.

Sharing your experience give us the opportunity to enhance our quality and to do better in the future.

I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I could understand that you like more privacy In this regards, I do agree with your recomendation to book a premium room with a private pool.

Especially during a specific time of the year like the last week-end before the Ramadan.
I hope you visit us soon to provide you an enjoyable and memorable stay in our fabulous Jordanian hotel.

All of us were delighted to be of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort and Spa Dead Sea in the not too distant future.

Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

i am a big fan of Moevenpick hotels in Jordan, this why i subscribed to Circle m program and thank god i used the 50 JD voucher to pay part of the room price, because i don't want to go back again, i still have the free one night voucher and i am not planning to use it, i will consider it as a donate to help the hotel to sort their problems and buy some plugs for the rooms kettle(there is no plug for the kettle in my room, i talked twice with the reception to solve this issue).
the only advantage was Aram at the reception, we has very helpful and professional, he was patient and really welling to help.
let me start with our check in nightmare, the check in was very very slow, and the reception promised me that i will get my room at 3:00 pm, which wasn't the case, i got my room at 4:00 pm!!!!!!! and the very funny thing that they left me a note in my room that we want to remind you that your check out is tomorrow before 12:00 pm!!!!! and then i received another reminder, this time by SMS!!!!!!!! my question here is: if all the guests have to leave their rooms before 12:00 pm, and the management is reminding the hotel guests using different channels, why the rooms are not ready at 3:00 pm as per the booking confirmation, why do i have to wait extra one hour to get my room? (some people got their rooms at 6:00 pm!!!!!!) why the hotel asked me to check out before 12:00 pm and want me to commit when there is no commitment from there side to customer service?????
lets move now to the hotel pools, i want to ask the hotel management , if the hotel is fully booked, why you are allowing day use vouchers, why you are allowing people to use the hotel facilities? there was no sun beds available at the pool, the pool was extremely dirty, people were drinking and smoking inside the pool!!!!!!!!!! if the hotel cant afford this huge number of guest then why accepting bookings from the beginning? why do i have to pay a 5 stars price while i am not getting a 5 stars service? why do i have to pay over 100 JD per night while other can pay 50 JD entrance fees and use the same facilities that i use?
what is the main differentiator between guests and day use customers?
finally i will talk about the hotel cafe, my wife and i were very lucky to find a free table, our table was facing the fountain, at the beginning it was great and we really liked it, and there was a minimum charge of 10 JD's per person, and the strange thing was that people set on the fountain enjoying the belly dancer and the singer for free!!!!!! and the most annoying thing that my wife and i couldn't enjoy the show because simply we didn't see anything, a lot of people were setting around the fountain and we couldn't see anything from them, i raised this issue to one of the staff and he didn't do anything at all. the funny thing that i have to pay minimum 20 JD to see the show (which i didn't) and others simply set on the fountain and get a better view for free.

sorry Moevenpick, but you let me down this time

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas_pezout, Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear valued Guest,

Greetings from Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea,

We would like to thank you for your comment and appreciated your feedback.
Your comfort and well-being are always our highest priorities.

Sharing your experience give us the opportunity to enhance our quality and to do better in the future.

I am sincerly sorry that we did not met your expectation. The success of the hotel sometime creates some disapointments. As a circle M member, you have some privileges. We will be pleased to provide your benefit during your next visit, may be during a quiet time.

All of us were delighted to be of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort and Spa Dead Sea in the not too distant future.
Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Great facilities, staff and breakfast. The garden where the rooms are located is a paradise. We just find that the room decoration was poor. No bedspread, no carpets, a cheap print in the wall... It´s a resort inspired by the typical arabic construction, but the room was not as cozy as you can expect while you walk through the fantastic streets of the complex. I´m sure that there are different kinds of rooms and we had this one because our late arrival, but that´s no excuse. The price was still high, and we expected a better room.
About the Zara Spa, many swimming pools were under maintenance and the active ones looked old so it´s nice but not worth the price. Nevertheless I´ll never forget my bath in the most salty, dark and hot water I´ve ever been. It was very funny.
Even though, in general the hotel is very good. And the security guy in the beach takes nice pictures!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas_pezout, Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear valued Guest,

Greetings from a peaceful corner of the paradise,

We wish to thank you for taking your precious time to write on trip Advisor. We appreciate that you share your positive and constructive comments.

We are happy to read that in general we succeeded in meeting or exceeding your expectations and to know that you have given us an opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to hospitality.
Your constructive comments are source of inspiration and way of improvment for the management of the hotel.
We are sorry for the maintenance process in two of our dead sea swiming pools in the Spa. This process has happenned during the begining of the Ramadan and will be fixed in the next few days.

All of us were delighted to be of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort and Spa Dead Sea in the not too distant future.
Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I have visited the Moevenpick hotel for the past six years and I’m always looking forward to come back. The hotel is amazing and built like a Jordan village with beautiful gardens and several pools. This is what makes this hotel so special. You have the main building and then the smaller buildings which are lining the path down to the Dead Sea.

My room was located in the main building. Make sure that you are getting a room with has a sea view! It is so relaxing sitting on your balcony in the evening, watching the sunset and the lights from Jerusalem on the Israel side. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable, have a TV with several foreign TV channels and a large bathroom.
The staff is very friendly. Do you have any extra-wishes? Just ask! They make every effort to make you happy. Ask for something once and they will bring it to you on the next day without even asking - immediately when they see you. I’m always impressed how observant the staff is.

Beside the main restaurant where you can find a buffet with a broad range of delicious food you can choose between several other restaurants and bars. So even after three weeks you are still not bored of the food.

For the ones who want to do some sports: You find a gym with modern equipment, two tennis courts, a volleyball and basketball field, table tennis and also a soccer field.

All in all I really recommend the Moevenpick hotel and I am really looking for coming back next time!

Room Tip: Ask for seaside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas_pezout, Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear valued Guest,

Great review, thank you so much. After visiting us during six years, it's a huge gift to our hotel to write such type of comments.

We are really happy to have provided during all this time our commitment to hospitality.

Your kind comments are source of great encouragement for the staff and the management .

All of us were delighted to be of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort and Spa Dead Sea for your next visit.

Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Second time we stayed at the Movenpick Dead Sea resort. First time was with our fours kids and was absolutly amazing. This time again, as a couple, was just perfect. Great room with private swimming pool. Fantastic view and sunset on the Dead Sea. Superb Spa. The staff was very kind and responsive to any demands. And the whole village atmosphere of the resort is very relaxing.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas_pezout, Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear valued Guest,

Greetings from the lowest point on the Earth,

We wish to thank you for taking your precious time to write on trip Advisor and for loyalty. We appreciate that you share your positive comments.

Your note about the efficienty of the staff and the relaxing atmosphere of our village-hotel
are source of great encouragement for the staff and the management .

All of us were delighted to be of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort and Spa Dead Sea in the not too distant future.
Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqaba, Jordan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I was especially impressed by the friendliness of staff and how genuinely they smiled and enjoyed what they do. It was so soon that they made us feel at home but 7 stars home and enjoy our stay to the maximum in very safety hotel. We were also very much encouraged to try out most of the services and activities offered; spa treatments, activities. We really felt like staying there more, so we could not leave before arranging for our next visit. One thing we had to make sure of though, which is to make sure more of our family and loved ones will get to share such a wonderful experience with us.
so if you want to be happy and relax in 7 stars hotel in Jordan just visit Movenpick dead sea hotel you will never forget this hotel

And finally
I would like to thanks all the management & the general manager in this hotel , to chose amazing staff , they make not 5 stars hotel they make 7 stars hotel by this staff
Specially :
Mr. Raaef & Abu Dalw Duty Manager
Mr. Moataz Reservation
Mr. Fouad Valley Coffey
Mr: Abd Al Haleim Front desk Manager

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolas_pezout, Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear valued Guest,

Greetings from Moevenpick Rewsort & Spa Dead Sea,

We wish to thank you for taking your precious time to write on trip Advisor. We appreciate that you share your positive comments.

We would like to thank you especially about your nomination for 7 of our employees. They all recieved recognitions following your comment on behalf of you.

Your kind comments are source of great encouragement for the staff and the management .

All of us were delighted to be of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort and Spa Dead Sea in the not too distant future.
Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea

Address: Dead Sea Road | PO Box 815538, Sweimah 11180, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#5 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the lowest point on Earth. The Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea and its picturesque village setting are there to fulfill you every wish. The resort features an exceptional environment for business events, one of the largest, most advanced spas of the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Spa Dead Sea
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Hotel Sweimah
Moevenpick Hotel Amman
Moevenpick Hotel Dead Sea
Movenpick Dead Sea
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Jordan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.