We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel on the Dead Sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11190, Jordan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sweimah
United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Probably the best hotel on the Dead Sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

There are a number of hotels very close together - Kempinski, Movenpick, Holiday in but, in my opinion the Marriott is probably the best. There are 3 pools and of course a small beach at the Dead Sea. Resturants are plentifull and the Champoins sports bar is as you would expect full of TV screens with as many sports programmes showing than you could shake a stick at, the staff are really friendly and helpfull. Terazzia resturant is a bit pricy but thet do have an authentic wood Piza oven, I was a bit dissapointed with the service though. There is a small cozy bar in the main hotel complex that was really nice. The rooms are classed by view and balcony so dont expect much of a view with the JD85 rate. We stayed in two rooms and both were very clean and functional for a 4 day stay. Overall I do like this hotel and have stayed at the Holiday Inn which is much smaller and has less dining outlets and is more for the business traveler.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    342
    98
    38
    29
See reviews for
262
420
72
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Writing a review of a hotel which i have stayed in more than 10 times is always going be something of a double edged sword. I am going to go for the angle of comparing it to previous visits so if the good people of Marriott are reading then they can put things right.

if you are looking for an objective first time review of the hotel simply know that i have been there 10 times and wont stay anywhere else on the Dead Sea.

The hotel has many of the same staff that i have come to recognise over the years and as ever their enthusiasm and attention to detail does the hotel credit. Investments have been made recently in upgrading the televisions in the rooms, and this is most welcome. The extra capacity added now that the extension is open does not appear to have placed undue strain on facilities, but at high season things could be tight.

The main change i have noticed is a slight hardening of the commercial aspects of the staff's work, and this is not entirely a good thing. Let me explain. In a captive environment where it is often 45 degrees in the shade then there is a big profit to be made in selling water. You cannot be stopped from taking water you have bought in one of the hotel's restaurants away from the table with you at the end of your meal, so Marriott new policy is to impose a full glass at all times rule. Every time a member of staff passes your table they fill your glass, even if you have just paid the bill and clearly are about to leave. if they do this for every customer imagine how many extra bottle of water they can sell. This has also coincided with restricting access to the hotel gym, where an enterprising guest could have in the past dropeed in to refill a bottle. Access now is via the first floor spa reception.

This is just a little matter , and might be explained away as good service, but for those who notice the little things then this is the thin end of the wedge. If the hotel continues to go in this direction then a fews percentage points are added to the hotel's GP figures on food and bev, but the overall guest experience suffers. Marriott hotels in the USA are especially guilty of this.

Overall I like this hotel. hence why i dont want it to go further downhill, but rather to pick up its standards to where they have been for many years. Oh and a final word about the wireless internet charges. This is really dumb Marriott and treating guests as idiots. Take the plunge now, put up your room charges and install free wifi. Dont insult us by charging 10 bucks for 30 minutes, this is 2010 not 1995.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed here last week as part of a 5 day trip around Jordan, ending at the Mariott Dead Sea - we'd been on the go, so the final day was intended to find us enjoying the dead sea and hotel spa, sadly the commitment to allow for an early checkin (although pre-agreed) was renaged upon. Of our 46 guests, rooms were available on arrival for 6 and even at 3pm some guests were still not accomodated - took the shine off the whole trip.
On complaining the hotel manager, he denied the early arrival booking and refused to acknowledge the issue. Jordan's a great place to holiday, but the hotels don't understand the word "service" enjoyed in [some] Western hotels. Take a look around before coming here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

A massive resort with all the amenities, 3 swimming pools etc. After the intense travelling in Petra, this was the ideal place to wind-down. Great rooms. The only negative was the food. The restaurants were bland and the menus certainly lacking creativity.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We spent 3 nights at this fantastic resort with another family with young children and it was one of the best times I have spent in Jordan and I am a frequent traveler to the country. The resort location is amazing and secluded. I will get to the point and give you the Pros and Cons:
Pros:
- Excellent pools. There are a total of 3 big pools with separate built Jacuzzi’s in two of them. The pools are designed as leveled layers, where every time you go down, you find one. There are also waterfalls and jets in certain areas of the pools which makes getting out of them super hard since they are so much fun. The water was clean and the pools areas well maintained (although I found lots tree leaves close to one of them which is not good for a 5 star facility).
- Huge open lobby: The lobby area is well designed with great and comfortable seating areas. At night, the lobby lights are dimmed and hundreds of candles are lit giving it an unforgettable great atmosphere. It is great for a romantic setting and sipping an espresso. It is really quite at night, but not so during the day where people check in and out. The lobby leads to two staircases taking you down to the Buffet restaurant, which is located by the one of the pools with outside terrace seating.
- Breakfast Buffet: huge selection to satisfy all tastes. Food was fresh and service attentive.
- Nice comfortable rooms: There is a trick here. I went with another family one person was a smoker. I realized after both of us checked in that his room had completely different and dated furniture than my room. After asking the lobby, it turned out that the hotel is going through a renovation in phases. They just finished the non-smoking areas, Where I was with my family, but did not work on the smoking ones yet. I gotta tell you, there is a HUGE difference between the 2 rooms. Mine had very well thought design with LCD TV and greatly designed access to rooms. The other smoking room was very dated with old boxy TV and boring colors.
- Access to Dead Sea: although not a beach on its own, it was a nice access where you can plunge in the sea and another Dead Sea mud, which is provided by the hotel, all over your body. Bake in the sun for 30 minutes, and then rinse it off with cold fresh water from the showers by the beach. It was really nice by the sea.
- Night entertainment: available in some venue. We watched a belly dancer and a European band, while sipping coffee and smoking shisha. Amazing setting.
Cons:
- Food is not allowed into the hotel. We just bought some snacks before we arrived to use in the car (remember, I was travelling with kids). We were searched when entering the hotel like we are in an airport going through a body scan. The security would not budge about allowing the snacks into the hotel. I thought it was lame and pathetic way to milk every last penny out of guests. Do not get me wrong, I used the restaurants at the hotel as I don't think a trip to a resort like this is complete without dining in the hotel, but to order people to toss food items before entering is unheard of.
- Hard to find staff by the pools to order drinks.
- Cleanliness of rooms was good but there were dust under the night stands and desk glass.
- Turndown service was not provided. You have to ask for it. This is 5 stars and a resort by the sea. Turndown is very important for guests to come back and relax in their rooms.

All in all, great setting and location and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

This resort has all the luxury and excellent service of an Orientalist fantasy. I took advantage of all the pools, but also took the time to float on the Dead Sea and cover myself in the oily mud that that region is famous for. The spa is amazing. It offers a wide variety of services which allow you to enjoy an old fashioned hamam experience or more modern facilities such as hot, cold, and salt pools, wraps, scrubs, massages, polishes, etc. After spending a few days here, I only wish I could look as good as I feel.

Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

While the hotel itself was clean, the room spacious and well- lit, and the pools beautiful, I found the service to be veeeeeeeery slow. We arrived at the Dead Sea at 2.30 and were told that we could check in at 3, yet our room was not ready till 4 o'clock. Meaning I had to entertain my two young kids in the hotel lobby for over an hour and a half till we were given a room. There was no complimentary drinks or even a hospitality room available for use till our room was ready. Furthermore, when I asked for late check- out when we wanted to leave, the hotel refused. So if the people who were in the room before me had checked out at 12 as is hotel policy, is it possible that it takes room service 4 hours to get the rooms ready for the next group of guests?
After we finally got our room, our stay was pleasent, the kids loved the pools especially the one with the water slide and I loved the spa. I got a full body aromatherapy massage and while it was quit expensive it was well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Address: Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11190, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#3 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#3 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa, Jordan's hospitality ambassador of life's healing grounds is surrounded by rugged purple mountains that subtly change in color as the day unfolds. This is where the spirit of Jordan fills the air and the pulse of history resonates in culture with an endless celebration of life and traditions. The Resort offers anticipatory and warm service that revives the soul, as well as a self contained blend of modern décor and generous space. Service is unparalleled, anticipating every need and the culinary delights are a pleasure to enjoy. The "Spa" is an integral part of the resort. It offers a retreat for guests to unwind, relax and rejuvenate and is designed to offer guests a unique experience and to help re-balance the body, mind and spirit. The treatments are specially prepared to invigorate the body and soul. In addition, the Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa is proud to be the first hotel in the Middle East to switch to solar panel energy for hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jordan Valley Marriott Hotel Sweimah
Jordan Valley Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Jordan Valley
Marriott Hotel Sweimah
Marriott Sweimah
Sweimah Marriott
Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.