We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel All Around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11190, Jordan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sweimah
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel All Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We are loyal Starwood preferred guests but when we realized the Le Merdien is on the Dead Sea but in Israel, not Jordan, we sucked it up and paid to stay at this hotel. My husband found a great deal for $250/nt half board. We were towards the end of our 18-day trip and this was definitely the best hotel we stayed in the whole time.

While the service is still not on par with European or American 5-star hotels, it was so much better than elsewhere in Jordan or in Egypt. They seemed to go above and beyond, for example when we called to make an early wake up call and order a breakfast-box before our day trip, they also offered to bring us coffee and tea and did, along with an English newspaper.

The resort itself is awesome, great public areas, multiple pools, a beach and of course the sea. It was so much fun to do the mud and float in the dead sea, although wear dark colored swim suits as I had to throw away one of mine that turned orange where the mud had touched it. The pool-side service for drinks was excellent as well, definitely a change from our previous stops.

The room was nice, definitely more personality than a Hilton, but still fairly neutral design-wise. It was pretty spacious, had large closets and the bathroom was average sized; good towels though and great bath products. We asked for a second luggage rack and they sent one over right away, something the Sheraton Sharm could not do a week earlier. The TV had a decent selection of English channels as well.

We were especially impressed with the food, usually resort restaurants like this are average at best, but there were numerous places to choose from and every meal we had was good. My husband loved Champions sports bar which seemed pretty authentic and the food was good, but not great.

The Italian restaurant was great too and while they didn't mention it was included in HB, when we asked directly they said it was. We got a 3-course dinner, salad, pasta for me, meat for my husband and then dessert. I had a sensitive stomach after some of these meals though and although my salad was delicious and looked great too, you still need to be careful with salads being washed in local water. My husband also had a salad though and had no issues so it could just depend on the person.

The breakfast was excellent, made to order omlettes and fresh pancakes, lots of choices and definitely filled me up until dinner. Good service here too.

We ate at the steak restaurant as well, although it wasn't included on our half board. Very good service, although seemed like they were trying really hard, wasn't natural. Innovative food, good appetizers and bread, good wine, but we had to send back my husband's steak as it was not cooked to medium rare. Mine was order the same (but different cut of steak) and came out perfect. Just emphasize exactly how you want it cooked b/c even the second steak just qualified as medium rare but a moment more would have ruined it. Regardless, both of us agreed it was delicious.

Even when we ate at the buffet for dinner one night it was good. We got there very late, about 10 and there was still plenty of options and actually a lot more choices (and better quality) than I usually get at buffets. The service for drinks was good as well. Oh and I love all the non-mangy cats cruising the property too! I'm sure you're not supposed to feed them but I couldn't resist!

We used the spa and got the massage and facial combos and both my husband and I had great treatments. In fact, my hot stone massage was the best I've ever had. I think the masseuse's name was Sharim or something like that. She was great. The spa area was excellent as well, the room had the right lighting and music and the larger areas were well done as well. My husband complained that his sauna and steam room were not hot enough though.

The only other slight complaint was the lounge chairs -- they're sectional so the bottom part is always sliding down when you're laying on it, definitely not idea. But it was nice that we had a pool view room with a little patio with 2 chairs so we could be right outside our room.

Also note, Fridays are very busy and lots of people that aren't staying at the hotel pay to come to the pool. There are certain pool that are still reserved just for guests but if you're planning a day away from the hotel, I would leave on Fridays, otherwise get up early to get chairs. We had no problems on other days.

I would 100% recommend this hotel and wish we could've stayed longer, it was great!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    342
    98
    38
    29
See reviews for
262
420
72
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piraeus, Greece
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

The hotel is perfect in every aspect! Great rooms with beautiful furniture, beds that you don't want to get up from, very nice lobby and common areas,perfectly clean. It feels like heaven,the garden is very well preserved,there are three swimming pools and of course the beach to the dead sea! Breakfast and food is also of high quality. The staff is frindly and kind. A dream place,very highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

Awesome, beautiful hotel, this is a 5-star by any country's standards. The service was impeccable from check-in to check-out, we really felt well taken care of and pampered. The room was beautiful, looking over the pools and a gorgeous ocean view. The pools themselves are spectacular, there are at least three of them with lots of places to sit and beautiful views of the Dead Sea. The food at the various restaurants was excellent as well. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Service was excellent and staff was efficient and friendly. Rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. We were lucky to catch a Marriott promotion and paid JD79 (before tax) per night which includes buffet breakfast. The facilities were simply gorgeous. We used the free spa facility after dipping in the Dead Sea. The spa offers jelly slippers that you wear into the Dead Sea as it's full of rocks and can be quite uncomfortable walking without any footwear.

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our Jordan trip. In retrospect, we should have stayed here at the end of our trip as we desperately needed the relaxation (in the Dead Sea) after visiting Petra and Wadi Rum.

We did not eat in the restaurant as we have read the prices are quite expensive. We ate out the whole time as we have a car with driver. There is a local restaurant called Chilli Ways about a few minutes drive away. They offer local as well as western fares at very reasonable prices.

There is not much you can do in the area if you do not have a car.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

This resort was a wonderful end to our Jordan trip. The hotel was immaculate, the staff were very pleasent and helpful and the beds were like sleeping on a cloud. Now if you are on a small budget this might not be for you, or do what we did and book it anyway as a nice relaxing treat. Which was well worth all the money we spent here. there are many restaurants to choose from, which are all very nice. Be careful at the buffet though, because you may end up paying more then what you thought you would for a buffet meal. The pools here are nice and clean, and it's a short walk down to the dead sea where you can take a dip or cover yourself with the black mud. (both are recommended). This place allowed us to relax and prepare for the next leg of our journey.... I highly recommened this place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

We decided on the Marriott for value, location and services. The Jordan valley Marriott surpassed our expectations. Extremely helpful and friendly staff............stunning location.........really lovely resort.....quite a surprise.....i'd return in a heartbeat.
Our room could accommodate two adults and two young children ...no extra room needed so for budget conscious travelers with kids, this is great news...and loads of room, two queen size beds with a balcony overlooking the pool and the dead sea...heaven.
Like other TA members have said, great food, several restaurants so most tastes are catered for even the picky eaters.
Loved everything about it.... quick tip.....pack a pair of gel sandals for the dead sea...the shore line is very stony and its a bit tricky to get in and out...it just makes life easier.
Have a ball!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We started our trip of week to Jordan at the Dead Sea, in the Jordan Valley Marriott Resort. It is only 45 min drive from the airport. Should you want to go south from the airport (even if you arrive late) I would advise to go to the Dead Sea straight away. And then take the Marriot Resort as a starting point! We had an excellent room, wonderful breakfast and in the afternoon (after a mud bath and a 'dive' in the dead sea) we had a wonderful massage in the spa. The staff in the hotel and spa were excellent!

Only one downside: you can have no arabic food for lunch or dinner even thought the hotel has 9 (!!) restaurants. So great for two nights but no longer than that since it is not easy to get off the hotel grounds if you don't have your own car. Of course a taxi would be possible but we prefer walking to nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Address: Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11190, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#3 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#3 Business Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa, Jordan's hospitality ambassador of life's healing grounds is surrounded by rugged purple mountains that subtly change in color as the day unfolds. This is where the spirit of Jordan fills the air and the pulse of history resonates in culture with an endless celebration of life and traditions. The Resort offers anticipatory and warm service that revives the soul, as well as a self contained blend of modern décor and generous space. Service is unparalleled, anticipating every need and the culinary delights are a pleasure to enjoy. The "Spa" is an integral part of the resort. It offers a retreat for guests to unwind, relax and rejuvenate and is designed to offer guests a unique experience and to help re-balance the body, mind and spirit. The treatments are specially prepared to invigorate the body and soul. In addition, the Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa is proud to be the first hotel in the Middle East to switch to solar panel energy for hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jordan Valley Marriott Hotel Sweimah
Jordan Valley Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Jordan Valley
Marriott Hotel Sweimah
Marriott Sweimah
Sweimah Marriott
Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.