We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Costs A Lot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11190, Jordan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sweimah
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
401 helpful votes 401 helpful votes
“Luxury Costs A Lot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Well, for $700/night for the 2 bedroom suite, you really know how the other half lives!! This hotel is a luxury resort hotel. It's a bit difficult to find from the road. First, you have to bring your reservation in order to gain entry to the parking lot. They check under your car for bombs too, which is very nice. Entry to the hotel also involves metal detectors, but they aren't so fussy about those.

But this place is beautiful!!

The 2-level, 2-bedroom suite was beauitful. Downstairs was an open plan with a very comfortable living room and balcony overlooking the pools. Upstairs were 2 bedrooms with ensuites. Beds were very comfortable and luxurious.

The restaurants were quite expensive, but there was a wide range of dining cuisines available. Some had live entertainment. The pools were fantastic, including an infinity pool overlooking the Dead Sea. There were also different temperature pools. Finally, walking down through the sun chair area, the hotel had a private beach on the Dead Sea. Staff provided dead sea mud in large pottery containers, which you could smear yourself with (and well worth the effort!). Then you could float in the Dead Sea, which was an incredible experience!!

Breakfasts were very good, but make sure it's included in your package, otherwise that might lighten your wallet a bit more. Otherwise, on entry of the breakfast room, you are asked what your room includes. There is a huge assortment of pastries, fruit, juices, breads, hot foods that are prepared by the chefs for you, etc. Breakfast is a very busy and noisy affair, lots of large families with children, so it's quite a jostling experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    342
    98
    38
    29
See reviews for
262
420
72
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

First a warning: I’m a Marriott Platinum member (75+ nights/year in Marriott hotels) and so my experience might not be representative for all travellers.

I arrived on an overcast day in February late in the afternoon driving down from Mount Nemo. Probably due to a lack of reading I didn’t realise that the hotel was actually part of a complex with all the other western chains – including new hotels being built next to the Marriott so all you get is their different branding on the same view/beach/sea. Gaining entrance was the toughest security I’d had yet in Jordan – my name was checked against a list of today’s arrivals, as well as the usual check of the car. I’d decided to stay here as it was only slightly more expensive than staying in central Amman and apparently just as far to the airport for the next day with my hirecar, but without Amman’s traffic (which is apparently terrible though I didn’t experience it). I was here at the end of a longer trip around the country.

I had a pleasant check-in, upgraded to a suite (from a standard corporate rate room) which was a nice touch, though I suspect that the hotel was very quiet at this time of year. I mentioned unfortunately leaving early the next morning for a plane so wouldn’t get chance for a breakfast – the receptionist said they could do me a breakfast box if I’d liked – I said I’d think about it. I thought nothing of it until the next morning at 5am when I checked out and was handed a breakfast box, if that’s indicative of their level of customer service then it’s a good thing.

Room was large, with 2 kingsized beds and a large balcony with a view of the pool and sea that stood out to me - also a sofa and TV – though not a flatscreen. I was happy enough for my few hours there – the bathroom had a nice deep bath and the Marriott Jordan toiletries (Shampoo/Conditioner/Body Lotion/Shower Gel with Dead Sea minerals). I thought the room was fine really, probably in need of a refurb to get a better TV – at least there were 40, mostly international, TV channels to compensate for the TV itself.

Wandering around the complex for a little while I started to appreciate that it is actually very large, including 3 pools, long beachfront and lots of room for deckchairs. I wasn’t there on the best day and it wasn’t sunny so it didn’t show its best. First impressions were good – nice pools (a shame one of them was closed for refurbishment), some nice looking bars/restaurants, well landscaped gardens and areas leading down to the beach. Even the beach looked nice, if very artificial – actually the beach was my major surprise. One major point – if you’re going to make an artificial beach why use gravel rather than sand? The beach itself was rocky, and only some of the areas have steps down to them – it even looked as though one set of steps had collapsed and not been repaired. My feet suffered badly walking from the sun loungers to the beach and back. The Marriott did however offer modern looking sandals (along with the towels) I really should have used. There was Dead Sea mud there which others enjoyed, plus lots of showers to get rid of the brine. I think it should have been a good place to relax with sun (just missing a beach café). However, if you are coming here for a beach holiday you should really think about what you want – if its sand and sea go elsewhere, if it’s something different then this might be for you – but come in summer!

The mention about summer (or peak season) comes from one other thing – the resort was very quiet and a lot of the restaurants/kids area were closed (this is advertised on the website for some, but others not). I actually ate in the main restaurant that evening as the buffet was ~22JOD (inc tax/service) whereas room service was looking like costing nearer 40JOD – much more than the other Marriotts in Jordan for an equivalent meal (i.e. Mezze was 3.5JOD in Amman, 5JOD in Petra and 7.5JOD here). Unfortunately I’d forgotten to check, as I expected Arabic, but the buffet was actually Italian that evening. It was fine as buffets go with regards to quality – with a good selection of deserts to finish with. However the large restaurant was almost deserted, I was outnumbered by the staff (~10 staff, ~8 guests) – though it did mean the service was very good. I’m guessing that during the summer there might be more choice but even in the quiet times there were 5 salads, 6 mains and 1 soup – plus lots of typical Jordinian nibbles (Olives, Tomatoes, Cucumbers etc).

Next morning I left at 5am and it took an hour (exactly) to get to the Airport via the motorway (sticking to the speed limit), though I may have taken a longer route – I just followed Amman signs till there were signs to the airport. Would I come back – yes, but when its hotter, busier and for longer than one night – I’d bring my wife as I think the mud would appeal to her more than me!

PS: As a final thought – do the Dead Sea before Petra – blisters plus salt water is just painful!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

The airport pickup was great but then we found out at the end that they put a surcharge on the price advertised. If we had paid direct to Hertz, there would have been no extra charge. All meals were very fresh and the staff was exceptional. The spa change rooms could use a good cleaning however, and the prices advertised for treatments were not what was charged - they wanted 5 JD more on everything. The spa staff were very professional and helpful. So, it is the place to stay but keep on top of them when needed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Too awesome for words. Best resort I've ever been to.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahrain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

My family (including my husband, 9 year old son and 10 year old daughter) vacationed at this resort in April 2009 and stayed for 4 nights after a 5 day stay in Cairo. The rooms here are cheery, fresh, new and clean. Our room overlooked the Dead Sea and offered the most amazing sunsets ever! The evening music entertainment had a mediterranean flair and made the evenings relaxing and enjoyable. The Pools are fantastic - clean with lots of seating available. One of the neatest things at this location was going down to the Dead Sea and giving ourselves Mud Treatments daily. It was quite steep getting to and from the water, but hey, we needed the exercise anyways. The food was good, not exceptional. Overall, this resort was a very nice getaway. We would like to go again as the Dead Sea is really a neat place to visit and the Jordon Valley Marriott Resort & Spa was perfect for our family needs.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

Fantastic place to chill and kick back! I can't wait till I go back there again, n again n again!

Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

I have been traveling in business and leisure for the past 10 years nonstop, and this is one of the most and best resorts i have ever stayed in.

The staff are very friendly, amazing views, unforgettable dinning experience, especially the italian restaurant, dont miss the steak house also.. yummy..

The rooms are fine but ask for pool view rooms, (a bit higher price but worth it)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Address: Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11190, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#3 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#3 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa, Jordan's hospitality ambassador of life's healing grounds is surrounded by rugged purple mountains that subtly change in color as the day unfolds. This is where the spirit of Jordan fills the air and the pulse of history resonates in culture with an endless celebration of life and traditions. The Resort offers anticipatory and warm service that revives the soul, as well as a self contained blend of modern décor and generous space. Service is unparalleled, anticipating every need and the culinary delights are a pleasure to enjoy. The "Spa" is an integral part of the resort. It offers a retreat for guests to unwind, relax and rejuvenate and is designed to offer guests a unique experience and to help re-balance the body, mind and spirit. The treatments are specially prepared to invigorate the body and soul. In addition, the Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa is proud to be the first hotel in the Middle East to switch to solar panel energy for hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jordan Valley Marriott Hotel Sweimah
Jordan Valley Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Jordan Valley
Marriott Hotel Sweimah
Marriott Sweimah
Sweimah Marriott
Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.