We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11190, Jordan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sweimah
shmagic
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Having visited Petra we were happy to have 4 nights relaxing here with stunning views of the Dead Sea across to Palestine.

We arrived and the manager was very kind and helpful as were the reception staff..security was tight understandably ..so no issue with bag check etc. As a gold elite member they upgraded us to a room with a view of the pool and sea and included breakfast for us which was unexpected given it is a resort. Free wifi also was great too.

There are lots of pools terrific for kids and lots of them there but the nice thing was only adults over 18 can use the infinity pool which IMO had the best views and was nearer the beach area. I even had a swim in it unusual for me as I don't like pools other than to sit beside lol.

The food was terrific here..I hardly ate any breakfast in the other hotels we visited usually just had toast or a pastry and some fruit but here they made amazing omelettes and their muesli with milk already added was so nice it is something I plan on doing now back home..usually to me muesli is like cardboard this was creamy and delicious. Lots of choice of fruit etc too and Arabic style breakfast of humous.olives etc.

We also had a couple of snack lunches in the bar ..mezze was good and Champions was the usual American style food.

For dinner we ate in their steak house ..a bit more expensive but well worth it for the quality of food..the following night we chose to eat on the terrace in the Italian restaurant..that too was excellent and the views were to die for across the Dead Sea. Just be aware mosquitoes are very active there so plaster yourself with mossie repellent I had 13 bites just from that one night..sigh.

We had dinner in the steak house again the following night..and my husband ordered wine we had had before..not realizing it wasn't on their wine list the waitress and staff ran all over to find the wine for us we did wonder what was happening..but were so impressed they did this rather than say sorry we don't have any..think the waitress name was Syshelle

On our last night we had the BBQ which was expensive at 40Jd per head BUT the food was fantastic and would have had again..lobster prepared to your taste I love zubaidi which is a fish I have only ever had in the Middle East...then I had lamb and steak..salad etc...too full to eat any desert but ice cream sorbet etc available.

There isn't much to see or do here other than eat and swim and relax my husband had a massage in the spa which was pleasant ..not much in the area other than resorts and the views...which suited us for a few days on a busy trip.

I would recommend and go back if we return again to Jordan.

Room Tip: High floor best as usual...although low floor gives direct access to pool...sea view is nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    359
    104
    40
    33
See reviews for
286
451
77
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

On my trip to jordan, I spent 2 nights in the Marriott Hotel. I have to admit that the service on every level, was exceptionally good: rooms, breakfast, pools, information at the reception, vallet service, service at the restaurants, everything. The italian restaurant, Il terrazo, is not to be missed. Congratulations to the hotel manager! A nice spot to stay for a couple of days to enjoy "floating" in the Dead Sea!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet place, try to avoid the rooms facing the pools: the hotel is very popular with J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The public areas of this hotel and our room were very darkly decorated and had a lot of dark wood everywhere. Added to this, our balcony had high slits rather than a proper opening which made it impossible to look out when sitting down - a very strange design.

The standard of cleanliness was not good: hairs left in basin and toilet seat quite dirty on its hinges.

Good breakfast selection but, during the day, there was nowhere at the resort serving our kind of preferred food (fish-based). Some facilities were closed (e.g. Cascades) and the tables and chairs there had not been wiped for days/weeks.

The key access to the lifts was problematic for several guests and ours was not the only key to have been formatting to cancel out earlier than our booked stay.

Plenty of swimming pool options and a spa which clearly appeal to families. But hundreds of steps down to the Dead Sea itself - understandable, especially given the rate at which its level is falling. But we struck a period when the hotel was reconstructing the area above the sea and there was a really grotty lounging area and a messy/muddy/stony approach down to the sea itself.

Free WIFI in public areas only and limited to 3 hours a day.

Room Tip: Avoid the ones with balconies which have slits rather than openings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muhannad H, Resident Manager at Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Pseudonymity

Please allow me to thank you for choosing our resort and also for sharing your feedback from your recent stay on TripAdvisor.
It is very important to have these comments that will assist us to improve our services where needed.

We depend on on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs, I truly regret that the service you received during your stay was not up to standards as well the cleanliness of your room. Thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances such as the lift card functionality to our attention as this is our best measure to improve guest satisfaction.

Again, thank you for the review and my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience.

We look forward to welcome you back at the lowest place on earth.

Muhannad Hameed
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

From the moment we arrived, the professional, welcoming and 'can-do' attitude shown by the Front Desk staff, assured us we had chosen the right hotel to end our stay in Jordan. Check-in was swift and we were offered a refreshing fruit drink and cooling flannels upon arrival. The lobby area was luxurious without being overwhelming or ostentatious and free Wi-Fi was offered in the public areas, although disappointingly not in the bedrooms. We had a twin room with two queen size beds which were very comfortable. The room was well appointed with large LCD TV, tea/coffee making facilities, safe and iron & ironing board. Our balcony overlooked the main pool area and also afforded us a partial view of the Dead Sea. The food and beverage outlets were good, particularly the breakfast buffet and the Italian 'Terazzo' restaurant. The lamb risotto is to die for! By far the best highlight for us was our couples massage in the Spa. Everything a spa should be; relaxing, clean, comfortable and luxurious. The staff here are extremely professional and friendly. Lastly, the adult only pool was great as an oasis away from all the rowdiness around the more child friendly pools, and the staff here were again very friendly, pro-active and efficient. Plenty of comfy loungers, fresh fluffy towels and cold flannels and bottled water always on hand. All in all, a true 5-star experience which we highly recommend.
Not one to nit-pick, but complimentary Wi-Fi in the bedrooms should be standard. Would also be nice to have bathrobes in bathroom. Finally, there are lots of lovely bar areas but rather than just serving beverages during the day, perhaps they should also offer a light bar menu (sandwiches, salads etc.)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We don't know why recent reviews criticise this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights as part of a Grand Tour of Jordan (.Jules Verne). My wife has many food allergies & once this was brought to the attention of the restaurant staff nothing was too much trouble. Khalid brought out one of the Chefs who was only too pleased to provide whatever food she could eat that was not provided on the amazing buffet !
The hotel resort is amazing & as we told the staff as we left "a hotel is only as good as the staff & this is a good hotel".

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muhannad H, Resident Manager at Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear jackhor

Please accept my deep appreciation for your great feedback related to your recent stay at the Jordan Valley Marriott Resort and Spa.

It's always our pleasure to see such great comments from our guests and we truly Thank you for this wonderful appreciation.

We all look forward to welcome you back at the lowest place on earth.

Sincerely

Muhannad Hameed
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for our last night in Jordan, mainly to experience swimming in the Dead Sea. The place is very large with lots of swimming pools, restaurants, bars and so on. It seems to be very popular with local people and hosts large weddings.

However, the 'beach' area resembled a quarry. I had to leave my towel and shirt on the dirt as the few rocks available were already being used by others. There was only one shower so there was a long wait to clean off the salty water. All in all very disappointing given this swim in the Dead Sea was to be a highlight of our trip.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muhannad H, Resident Manager at Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Aussie7leagueboots

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa.

We appreciate the fact that the beach was disappointing and below your expectations, however I would like to draw your attention that the beach is one of the most challenging matters in the Dead Sea area due to the water evaporation and continuous water level decline and is expected to vanish in 50 years, currently there are many studies on a high scale to address this issue.

And as you may have witnessed during your stay, we are doing a major scale work on the beach to improve and beautify the area to meet our guests expectations and allow a safe and smooth accessibility and convenient facility.

Once this project is over we will have the most beautiful beach in the area.

Again, we appreciate your concern and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced on the beach, we look forward to welcome you back at the lowest place on earth.

Sincerely

Muhannad Hameed
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel is the best hotel in the dead sea area. The service is great, the breakfast is magnificent , everything was excellent and Many thanks to the front office team for their kindness and their professional service specially Tamer.

Room Tip: Rooms that has access to the swimming pool is the best rooms for the families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Address: Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11190, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#2 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#3 Business Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa, Jordan's hospitality ambassador of life's healing grounds is surrounded by rugged purple mountains that subtly change in color as the day unfolds. This is where the spirit of Jordan fills the air and the pulse of history resonates in culture with an endless celebration of life and traditions. The Resort offers anticipatory and warm service that revives the soul, as well as a self contained blend of modern décor and generous space. Service is unparalleled, anticipating every need and the culinary delights are a pleasure to enjoy. The "Spa" is an integral part of the resort. It offers a retreat for guests to unwind, relax and rejuvenate and is designed to offer guests a unique experience and to help re-balance the body, mind and spirit. The treatments are specially prepared to invigorate the body and soul. In addition, the Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa is proud to be the first hotel in the Middle East to switch to solar panel energy for hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotel.de, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jordan Valley Marriott Hotel Sweimah
Jordan Valley Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Jordan Valley
Marriott Hotel Sweimah
Marriott Sweimah
Sweimah Marriott
Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.