We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on the dead sea priced like The Ritz in Paris!I am serious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11190, Jordan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sweimah
paris
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel on the dead sea priced like The Ritz in Paris!I am serious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Hi guys!I have just ended my stay with Marriott Dead sea in Jordan and I can share with u my experience:
Location:5stars,on the shores of the Dead Sea,opposite Israel.
Geographical expl.:hotel on the highest terrace of the hill that represents the shoreline,the beach for sunbathing one level below,the actual shoreline without sand but with beautifully coloured rocks and with the famous treatment mud one more level below.
Cleanliness:5stars
Restaurants:the usual Marriott brands with great quality of food and appropriate service.
Bathroom:5stars with 4 stars ammenities.
Pool area :5 stars
Service:slow, to very slow.Too many Management guys,too few waiters.
Connectivity:free internet in lobby area and some rooms in the lobby vicinity and also in some restaurants.

And,since it seems to good to be true....the bad part..the prices....

HUGE!!!!And I am not joking.The food is priced like inParis.I have actually paid the same price in one of Ducasse restaurants on Champs Elysee,with 2 Michelin stars , like in the Terrazza restaurant in this Marriott.Bottom line:if money is no object this is a great hotel.Otherwise,very poor value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    338
    97
    38
    28
See reviews for
260
415
70
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I had some Marriott points to use so we decided for an extended weekend. We flew into the airport in Amman and made an hour drive to the resort which was nice to do to see the countryside. The resort itself is on the east banks of the Dead Sea near a cluster of other hotels. It seemed to be reasonably maintained and was nice and green while outside it was arid scrub. So it was a bit of an oasis. The location is very good up the hill from the Dead Sea so the views are quite good from the hotel.

The lobby is nice and there are plenty of amenities including decent restaraunts. The pool is large and get lots of use. For kids there is a room called the Jungle Room with vid games and entertainment and also a club for the adults. Overall the resort is nice and given there is little to do outside the resort it is well contained and sufficient if you stay on site.

The rooms were good size and all was well maintained. We had no issues at all. I would say the resort lives up the the Marriott standards. Forgot to mention the staff are all very friendly and helpful. I believe most of the staff were Jordanian and possibly Palestinian. We had one particular waiter in the ground floor restarant called Khalid who was a truly nice guy.

Access to the Dead Sea was good although with its continue decline you have to go further from the resort to access it.

All in all it was a nice albeit brief stay. I highly recommend staying here is you make it to the Dead Sea.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

The hotel back on to the dead sea- the view is stellar!!
The hotel has high security- there is security guards at the main gates that mirror search the underside of your car & look around the car. Once you get to the hotel your luggage is put through an X-ray machine. Once this is done you are lead to reception to check in. We checked in late around 11 pm there was one person on duty & reception was relatively busy, but instead of doing one job at a time the guy on reception attempted to answer his mobile phone, talk to other customers & answe there questions as well as check us in- we were in our room by midnight. While I appreciate the security I can not appreciate the poor level of customer service at reception. My advice serve one customer at a time.
We got to our room which was quite nice & met expectations of a Marriott hotel on the surface. We were tired so we opened our suitcases brushed our teeth & headed to bed.... When we pulled the sheet we noticed relatively fresh blood on the top sheet- the bed did not look like it had been changed. We rang reception & waited 15 minutes & then rang again- this time we had someone up within minutes to our room. They accepted that this was not acceptable & asked if it was ok if they changed the sheets- which we agreed to. In the meantime the duty manager aslso came up & inspected the room & apologised & said did we mind moving rooms which we were happy to do. So we moved to a new room - much better all clean. We noticed that the bedside clockwas broken. We jumped into bed it was now 1:15am & we were rather exhausted. At 1:30am we get a knock on the door - they have brought up a fruit basket - which is a nice touch but seriously it is 1:30am we are exhausted!!
Breakfast is very good- excellent
selection of hot & cold locat & continental breakfast.
The view is beautiful & there is a spa in the report & a number of pools. As the hotel backs on to the Dead Sea you can walk down & float in the dead sea. There is chairs, umbrellas & towels provided so you can chill. Staff are very nice & helpful at the towel booth.
The check out time is 12 noon- we had a call from reception reminding us of this at 10am- which I found a little off putting & funny I think it is best they channel this level of follow up on cleanliness & quicker check in.
This hotel has a lot going for it.... But it lacks some key ingredients Cleanliness & efficient customer service where it counts.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

After a week in busy Jerusalem we wanted nothing more than to sit in the sun and float in the Dead Sea. This resort perfect for both - and the cultural mix of guests just added to the people watching fun. Series of pools seemed to go on forever until you reached the beach which featured Dead Sea mud for spreading on before your float. A steal at 25,000 Marriott points per night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Really nice resort, just a little far from everything, security is very tight when going to this hotel. Kind of need a better menu because the hotel food is not all that good and does not have a variety of choices. Hotel service is really not that good and they need to teach them how to properly attend to guests. Pool area is really nice and if you go down by the dead sea they have really nice mud for your facial mask.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights on a business trip. The resort is quite large with an abundance of pools, both outdoor and indoor, excellent landscaping and areas to meander around. The rooms are spacious with all the regular amenities one can expect of a Marriott. I found the room service slow...30 minutes for a bottle of water.

WiFi is free in the lobby areas, but chargeable in the room, which is bit of a downer, considering how important WiFi is today.

Food in the Italian restaurant was pretty mediocre, the all day dining, buffet breakfast was quite large with many options and the food generally good, though not excellent. Nice sports bar Champions is available for those Football lovers with a great ambience.

The best is the huge Spa area where one can use very nicely appointed Saunas, Steam Baths, Whirlpool, an indoor fresh water pool and a indoor Dead Sea pool filled with the water from the Dead Sea. If you want to float around without getting worried about stepping on rocks, then this is a good option. There is a paid option as well if you want to use the other features of the spa.

All in all, a good resort considering there are not many choices around.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott for 4 nights this June as part of a conference.
This is a great resort, with beautiful vistas of the Dead Sea and you can expect the standard comfort of the Marriott brand. The morning buffet breakfasts were delicious and the staff were very friendly and always helpful.
There is free wifi all over the hotel, but I was disappointed to find that they didn't have wifi in the room that I had booked. The staff said they were in the process of getting it installed for those set of rooms. Since I was there on work, it was definitely a big issue for me and they were very helpful in ensuring that my room had working wifi (although it took 2 days).
The other issue was that I was using the gym in the early morning (around 6 or 7) and there wasn't any drinking water in the gym. Lastly, they don't serve you any food by the pools and you can only order drinks. So if you plan on lounging by the pool with a good book and a beer and few snacks - think again.

But overall i still give it a 4 out of 5 because how comfortable and beautiful the property is.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Address: Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11190, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sweimah
#3 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#3 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa, Jordan's hospitality ambassador of life's healing grounds is surrounded by rugged purple mountains that subtly change in color as the day unfolds. This is where the spirit of Jordan fills the air and the pulse of history resonates in culture with an endless celebration of life and traditions. The Resort offers anticipatory and warm service that revives the soul, as well as a self contained blend of modern décor and generous space. Service is unparalleled, anticipating every need and the culinary delights are a pleasure to enjoy. The "Spa" is an integral part of the resort. It offers a retreat for guests to unwind, relax and rejuvenate and is designed to offer guests a unique experience and to help re-balance the body, mind and spirit. The treatments are specially prepared to invigorate the body and soul. In addition, the Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa is proud to be the first hotel in the Middle East to switch to solar panel energy for hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jordan Valley Marriott Hotel Sweimah
Jordan Valley Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Jordan Valley
Marriott Hotel Sweimah
Marriott Sweimah
Sweimah Marriott
Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.