We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-Star Prison” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11190, Jordan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sweimah
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“5-Star Prison”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed here in the end of January which is the low season with only a little amount of guests. The water of the Dead Sea was still warm, so we could enjoy the "seafront" all by ourselves and be the only ones floating around.

The hotel is huge and I don't want to imagine what it is like during peak season. What turned out to be the biggest problem here (this accounts for all the resorts next door: Kempinski, Hilton, Moevenpick) is the lack of absolutely any kind of shop in the surrounding areas / walking distance. For 10km in both directions there is not a single shop / supermarket / restaurant. This means you have to eat all your meals in the hotel. Not that the food is not good, but during our stay only two restaurants were open (low season). Unless you bring your own stuff in advance and don't have a rental car you have to drink from the mini bar (5 USD for a can of Pepsi, compared to 0.30 USD for a can of Coke in a shop / supermarket).

There is free Wi-Fi in the public areas. The breakfast buffet is very good. We stayed for 2 nights which was still okay but a third night would have been too much.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    366
    110
    42
    40
See reviews for
292
465
80
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed for two nights and was very disappointed. Location is wonderful at the lowest place on earth but I had a room with a damaged toilet seat and a balcony of an allegedly no smoking room with a cigarette end on it. On the final morning was leaving early and asked for an early morning call and a breakfast box. In the event received neither - shocking service for a five star hotel. I also object to being treated like a terrorist suspect having to go through a security scanner every time I decided to dare to enter the hotel. The signs at various points in the grounds indicating the depth below sea level were wrong showing a complete lack of understanding of maths. We were not at -415 m below sea level we were at 415m below sea level or -413m below sea level. I would advice people to give this one a miss.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

we stayed here for the last night of our october trip, a luxurious treat for us as swanky hotels like this are not usually on our agenda.
service was efficient and friendly. room was huge and had large balcony where i watched sun rise over israel. magical moment not to be forgotten.
breakfast was amazing, our teen sons were in heaven.
i found access to dead sea difficult as i have ankle problems, would have liked to have seen something like a boarded path into the sea instead of having to hobble over stones.
we ate at the italian restaurant in the evening and had 2 large pizzas to share between the four of us. waiters were very friendly and chef came to say hello. watched the lights in israel flicker as we ate, another magical moment.

Room Tip: corner room has huge balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Stayed here for some of our honeymoon. Food and drinks were wonderful, and the sea was definitely therapeutic. Breakfast was a major highlight for us. Amazing food.
Only complaint is lack of clean water to drink. It's like when I've been to Africa: you are responsible for your own clean water. Basically you get a couple of complimentary bottles a day, and then you purchase the rest at a large amount of $$. Holy. Don't even get me started on how expensive this place is. So we finally bought a bunch of huge bottles from a convenience store off of some highway to last us for days and save us a huge chunk of change. But the experience was worth the cost. We really miss being there and remember it fondly. Wonderful and romantic place. But, most of Jordan in our experience had delivered the same (besides the usual few shady characters you come across-such as certain taxi drivers in Aqaba) -wonderful country to visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Hotel was top quality, room was very nice with great view of the Dead Sea. We used room service which was fast with a courteous waiter. The only down side for us was that access to the sea was rather difficult.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

right on the dead sea it cannot get better. there is plenty of dead sea mud that you can bathe in and u can swim in the dead sea or in their really nice pool. the rooms are luxurious with a nice view. i would definitely recommend staying there

Room Tip: choose the ones with the pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Nice hotel in the "hotel area" on Dead Sea on Jordan side. Lots of open space and 3 pools. The spa is large and excellent. There is a restaurants section closer to the water which had really nice ambience.

The access to the Dead Sea is a bit inconvenient though because you have to go past the three pools, and walk down the hotel, down the "beach" to get to the sea level to reach a small patch of land on the water. Its quite a hike to come back up.

Small indoor pool with Dead Sea water was a nice touch since the Sea itself was very choppy during our stay.

Free wi-fi in the lobby but the rooms don't have wi-fi access (even paid)

Room Tip: Stay in the main building or at ground levels in the wings - ground level rooms have direct access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Address: Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11190, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#3 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa, Jordan's hospitality ambassador of life's healing grounds is surrounded by rugged purple mountains that subtly change in color as the day unfolds. This is where the spirit of Jordan fills the air and the pulse of history resonates in culture with an endless celebration of life and traditions. The Resort offers anticipatory and warm service that revives the soul, as well as a self contained blend of modern décor and generous space. Service is unparalleled, anticipating every need and the culinary delights are a pleasure to enjoy. The "Spa" is an integral part of the resort. It offers a retreat for guests to unwind, relax and rejuvenate and is designed to offer guests a unique experience and to help re-balance the body, mind and spirit. The treatments are specially prepared to invigorate the body and soul. In addition, the Jordan Valley Marriott Resort & Spa is proud to be the first hotel in the Middle East to switch to solar panel energy for hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jordan Valley Marriott Resort And Spa
Jordan Valley Marriott Hotel Sweimah
Marriott Jordan Valley
Marriott Hotel Sweimah
Marriott Sweimah
Sweimah Marriott
Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.