We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good food, at a fair price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dead Sea Road | PO Box 170, Sweimah 18186, Jordan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sweimah
Dubai
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great location, good food, at a fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed there for one night after arriving in the country that morning, and we then departed for Petra the next day. Our reason for staying at the Dead Sea was to experience swimming in it and also to enjoy the lovely setting, and also to visit Mount Nebo and the Baptsim site which are both nearby.

Like all the main resort hotels in the area, the Holiday Inn is now perched well above the sea level, which has fallen dramatically over the past few years, but that is not their fault. The beaches are far from lovely, but with some beach shoes (strongly recommended) the hotel beach provides a good a location as you can get anywhere for a swim (or float).

The layout of the hotel is great, with tiered pools leading down to the beach, and the rooms are just what you would expect froma 5 star hotel - fresh, clean and everthing worked.

We ate in two resaraunts '393' was the steak/fine dining restaraunt but we found it also did some very reasonably priced bar type meals. The main buffet restaurant provided a great breakfast buffet. Ours was included in the room rate, which I strongly recommend, as it would be expensive otherwise.

I have noticed a few comments crtical of the staff training and standards. We didn't have any major issues, although did need to ask twice for the third bed in our room that we had pre-booked, and again for a third set of towels. However, this was not a major issue and would not put me off staying here again in the future.

As I am sure most people do, I compared the prices of the main hotels, (Movenpick, Marriot etc) on the same strip, and the price we got here was significantly cheaper, and having stayed at the others before, I didn't feel that we had downgraded by staying at the Holiday Inn

Room Tip: It is worth paying the relatively small supplement for a sea facing room - approx 10JD
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    346
    132
    66
    28
See reviews for
279
379
67
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We checked in in November 2011. We had paid for a pool and sea room, a flexible tariff including breakfast. It all went down hill from arrival at the hotel. We wwere treated as part of some conference that was taking place, allocated a standard room with no views above extractor fans, and told our rate / reservation didnt include a pool/sea view. Despite booking exactly tat on the hotel's own web site.

Dining in the property was a mitigated disaster. Half the options were never available on the a la carte me nu, the choice was restricted to one restaurant every night as the conference had taken over the other options, management were unwilling to help.

What should be a lovely property and hotel was let down by inadequate and unfriedly and unhelpful staff. Having visited the Dead sea over 10 times in the last 5 years I will revert to the Marriott or Movenpick.

Room Tip: Rooms are adequate, as long as you get the room type that you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed 1 night on way from Petra to Amman. tight security on check in, lobby large and neutral. Rooms spread out quite far from reception. Room large, good amenties etc, nice colour scheme. Private sandy beach to access Dead sea. Dinner at small restaurant in hotel, nothing outside hotel areas. beds comfortable but some noise from upstairs- book an upstairs room to avoid noise. Staff helpful and friendly.
This hotel would be great for families- lots of pools for kids and areas for kids to run around in. For a new hotel, i was suprised to see some broken and repaired tiles in the bathroom ( rather than replaced) and when you look closely the hotel is already needing some attention to bathroom tiling etc. We got a good deal and were happy- there is no 'infinity pool' as advertised, real shame as the view to Israel is amazing. Really nice breakfast with jordan style food- worth a visit. At night lobby full of chain smoking Arab men- maybe avoid!

Room Tip: upstairs better- we got some noise with someone upstairs as there is bare floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

The hotel was really lovely with great facilities - many pools (one heated for the "winter"), a nice beach area, spa, restaurants, etc. The room was lovely and the staff pleasant. Which is good because there really is nothing else around this area. We also arranged to collect our Hertz hire car here, which was helpful. When we collected it I notice they could also offer you taxis to Jordan other tourist locations (Petra, Aqaba, Amman, Jerash, etc.) which I wish I had of known before I arranged a hire car. One down side, on either side of the hotel, around the beach area, there was a lot of litter and we suspected there might have been a sewerage outlet near the hotel due to the odd whiff of smells we caught on occasion.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We went there in October 2011 and it was fantastic. The weather at that time of year is amazing and the hotel's 5/6 pools (i forget) means that you'll always have ample swimming space to yourself. My favourite part of it all is you can walk down the private beach to the dead sea which is by far the best private access to the sea we've seen on both sides of the border (we have been to the dead sea from the israeli side as well a couple of years ago). The hotel provides a bucket with dead sea mud that you can apply all over yourself. Better yet you can find mud on the sea bed yourself and use that instead.

We had food at the Jordanian restaurant at the bottom in the evening (they make an amazing lemon and mint drink) and a drink at the open air bar overlooking it later.

The hotel seemed to have been recently refurbished - the rooms were pretty nice and clean and we had one with a great view over the pools and the dead sea beyond.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, UK
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed two nights at the end of October at £75 per night B&B for the room, which we judged fantasic value.

We loved everything about the hotel. The design decor and layout were excellent. The public bar and lounge areas were spacious and relaxing. Our room (free upgrade to pool view as it was our first time staying) was stunning. The pool area was huge, well designed, relaxed and beautifully kept. The private beach was lovely with plenty of free mud. The breakfast selection was superb. The spa area facilities were limited but spotless. The staff were well trained and courteous and friendly.

We liked the fact the hotel was within very easy walking distance to independent restaurants so we weren't stuck eating at the hotel all the time.

So much better than most of the hotels on the Israeli side in terms of facilities, upkeep and service. However the view is better from the other side!

October was a lovely month to visit - temperatures just nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I spent a couple of days at this hotel, it was very nice and clean.
we got upgraded immediately as member of the priority club card.

the restaurant is not great so no point to go there, there is a small restaurant that is much better. do not even think of taking a burger at the pool bar, they are awful.

private beach and swimming pool are great!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea

Address: Dead Sea Road | PO Box 170, Sweimah 18186, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trio of interconnecting, palm-fringed swimming pools leads from our contemporary Arabesque-style hotel to the warm therapeutic waters of the Dead Sea. Enjoy sea and mountain views from the balcony or terrace of your room and indulge in mineral-rich Dead Sea salt treatments in our cozy & relaxing spa. You'll find the family-friendly Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea just 40 minutes by taxi from Queen Alia International Airport. You can host events from gala dinners by the pool to conferences in our 4 modern meeting rooms. Surf the web with complimentary wireless Internet in the chic marble Lobby, or log on to PCs in our Business Centre. The resort also offers complimentary valet parking. Enjoy a relaxing yoga class in Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea's MiniGym while fun activities and a trampoline keep the kids amused. You can listen to live music while sipping cocktails at beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea Hotel Dead Sea Region
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea Jordan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.