We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peace & love” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friday's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puvar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Friday's Place
Puvar, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Puvar B&B and Inns
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“peace & love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

an amazing stay with wonderful hosts.
i would highly recommend staying here for some incredible R&R

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Friday's Place was one of the highlights of our three month trip around the South of India. The beauitful and natural design of the architecture is a great feat and the place has an environmentally friendly ethos that is hard to come across in rural India. We were looked after with the upmost care. Mark, the owner, employs a great team of locals and so the project feeds back into the surrounding community. We were enlightend with a flood of infomation about India's culture, landscape and history from Mark who has been immmersed in India for over two decades. The area is naturally beautiful, directly on a river and close to the sea. A wonderful place to stay for all kinds of traveller wanting to discover something a bit more truthful.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

We spent the first 3 nights of our honeymoon in Kerala at Friday's Place in Puvar.

As promised Mark was there to pick us up from the airport in Trivendrium at 4am and after a shortish drive the holiday began with a nighttime trip down an enchanting river to the eco-lodge.

Both myself & my wife loved the place. I can imagine that it might not be to everyone's tastes, but we were able to kick back, fully relax, enjoy the great homecooked food (the food we had here was amongst the best over our whole honeymoon), have a massage at the local large hotel, and also had a great guided trip to a vast lake about an hour away south of Puvar where we did some hiking, visited a tribal school and swam in a gorgeous lake.

We stayed in the Tsunami Honeymoon Suite which was visually lovely, and an interesting if ambitious idea. The resort is eco-friendly, but this isn't a major imposition (there is power all day and western toilets) and the resort is situated in a very picturesque system of small canals over the main river which is comparitively clean. Food is served communally (i.e. around a central table) which leads to a lovely friendly atmosphere - whilst we were staying there other guests were mainly couples and one small family.

The only disadvantage was that to go anywhere you had to take a boat provided by Mark and co., but this was generally arranged in an easy and prompt manner.

Overall I would highly recommend this to couples or groups that are happy to kick back and aren't looking for nightlife and so on.

  • Liked — Beautiful peaceful location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

If you want an alternative backwaters experience try Friday's Place near Kovalem. There are five cottages, all crafted by the owners and local craftsman from sustainable hardwood, and the Tsunami House, a sort of Noah's Ark sitting a top a tower with beautiful view of the forest canopy.

Friday's Place can only be reached by boat, and if you blinked you would miss it, so well do the buildings blend into the surrounding coconut palm gardens. The atmosphere is more house party than hotel, and the owner Mark is a fascinating host, leading a small, friendly team who are delighted that you have come to stay. All the delicious, vegetarian, meals and drinks (other than alcoholic beverages) are included. You have no worries to disturb your languishing in a hammock, with one eye open to spot the kingfishers. Occasionally the music of distant neighbours permeates the peace....so you have to remind yourself this is India, afterall!

The eco-credentials are really impressive. Friday's Place is completely solar-powered. Drinking water is taken from the surrounding canals and filtered by reverse osmosis, so it is completely safe to drink. Water for washing is also taken from the canals and filtered, so occasionally brackish.

This secluded sanctuary started as an experiment, long may this retreat remain.
www.fridaysplace.biz

  • Liked — Tsunami house view of canopy
  • Disliked — No toilet paper takes a while to get used to!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

If you've ever watched a David Attenborough documentary and wished you could be in it, this is the place for you! We stayed four nights in the Honeymoon Tower and ended up staying another night as we loved it so much. True, the place isn't huge, but that's the beauty of it, this is a place to sit, relax and ponder - you can sit and watch the world go by on the river or just wander around the garden and wildlife spot. We saw chameleons, herons, three types of kingfisher, snakes, crabs and all manner of beautiful wildlife just from sitting on the jetty and pootling around the garden. This is a wonderful place to relax and take in the beauty of southern India and its wildlife. An early morning boat trip up the river was absolutely magical, everyone came running down to the river to wave hello - from children to grannies! And the music in the middle of the night that other people have referred to is from the local churches - Kerala is a very religious state (mixed Hindu, Christian and Muslim) and, as most Indians arise at around 4 or 5am, they start to sing and play music. We just popped our earplugs in and slept right through it. We also encountered the same thing in other parts of Kerala. Just remember your earplugs. Poovar is also a good base to make trips down to the famous wooden palace and to the Neyyar Dam.

  • Liked — The back to nature feel but in luxury style!
  • Disliked — Nothing really, felt that it was a very special place and we were lucky to have found it.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

FRIDAY'S PLACE

Book to write? Books to read? Thinking to do. Place to unwind. Place to talk. Place to be silent.

Consider Friday's Place in Kerala State. This is the place to wake up to bird song and be dazzled by the greens and scarlets of the gardens. Spend the early hours on the verandah of the cottage listening and watching , and looking at life on the river.

Friday's Place is an eco friendly place to recharge. Its carbon footprint is miniscule drawing power from the sun, water by osmosis from the surrondings and disposing through a septic field. It supports the local scene by providing training and employment in hospitality and eco stewardship, and purchasing in on the local markets.

The place is clean and safe, the food is of excelent quality and in quantity and provided with smiling, gentle kindness.

  • Liked — natural setting, friendliness
  • Disliked — very out of the way
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

Terrible, think the owners have the right idea with trying to make it an eco place but the wrong attitude and I didn't like they way they seemed to imply that the locals couldn't do a thing if they were not there. There was also the implication that somehow they place was not clean because it used ecological products. Obviously a dust pan and broom are not ecologically friendly. If you want to stay in a smug place which you can walk around in 5 minutes with loud screeching music that gets louder and louder in the night then this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Beautiful view
  • Disliked — NOISE
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Friday's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday's Place

Address: Puvar, India
Location: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Puvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fridays Place is Kerala's first true Eco Lodge. Best described as a 'Robinson Crusoe' experience in comparative comfort, you are looked after personally by the UK owners Mark and Sujeewa. Great food, serenity, moonlight swimming in the river, all conspire to give you a memorable stay in this beautiful part of Kerala. Yoga in the mornings should you wish and first class Ayurveda is available at the Island Resort just down river. Private and exclusive! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Friday's Place Kerala/Puvar, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friday's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Friday's Place to your Saves list