We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine of its class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poovar Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Poovar Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poovar Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   K.P. VII / 911 Pozhiyoor, Puvar 695 513, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Puvar
Kodaikanal, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine of its class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were referred by our friend in kanyakumari have to say we didn't have any regrets. Beautiful float house with awesome view from the sitout. Well maintained piscine with very good cuisine. Infrastructure is good..blessings of this land * God's own Country * is truly unique

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    171
    75
    40
    41
See reviews for
177
206
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We (4 families) stayed here for 2 days in April. The place has been very calm and you can enjoy the beach and back waters. They have some good outdoor games but not mush to engage the kids. The food was really good and the service provided also reasonably good. We had a decent oil massage and staff's at the massage center were kind and able to server well.

The let down was they closed one of their swimming pool during our visit and they didn't inform us while booking. Also they allowed us for swimming in the other pool for a specific 1 hour window which is not good. No dress code was mentioned in prior for the pool and they forced us to buy the swim suit at their shop and the shop also closed in the morning so we have to wait around one hour to get the appropriate dress.

Overall it was a decent stay for us. Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Reached after half an hour journey on water but i felt very worst in service and food only the location and the backwaters beauty still remain all other things seems worst this is the first time i felt worst service and food totally damn it there

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have been conducting several official functions at different locations for the past 8 years and this time we decided to have the celebration at this resort. Unfortunately we are very disappointed with their service & co-operation. Lot of new conditions and charges will be imposed later one without any prior notice. The food they provided are not as per the menu what they have promised during booking. Accommodation is limited to small group. Even they don't have sufficient tables to have food. During the lunch we could see food shortage. From our end we have provided the head count and all the necessary information in advance. But from their end there was no hint on anything. We experienced poor service & co-operation. We have to sacrifice a lot there. We may not get the food whatever we wish, we have to take whatever they insist. & lot more...

Strongly we do not recommend to anyone.......

Room Tip: Site seeing: If you wish to go for site seeing, contact other local boats operators, they will charg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On the behalf of Whirlpool Cochin team it was an excellent three days at your resort, all the team members were well attended. amenities were great. The stand out thing has been the food ... was excellent.
Will like to share the details of this hotel to friends& family too

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernakulam, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On behalf of Nauru Delegation we would like to thank the Poovar Resort Management and Staff for your excellent hospitality and providing comfortable stay. Your cuisine cover the food from every part of India and world. We also would like to convey our special thanks to the Chef for providing the Japanese style food and hosting a wonderful dinner at the floating restaurant. We also experience your Ayurveda wellness program and we would like to convey our special thanks to the Ayurveda Doctor who have examined us before providing the wellness massage which made us fresh and energetic. Overall it was a wonderful and fabulous experience.

With Many Many thanks from Nauru Delegation

Room Tip: You can choose any room since the rooms we stayed are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An hour drive from Trivandrum airport followed by a breath taking 15 mins of boat ride to the resort through the back waters. The resort is neat and rooms are good, spacious. Two swimming pools meant basically for kids and non-swimmers as the maximm depth is 4.5 feets. Best part is the many hammocks in the resort where you can lie and enjoy a book. overall a good resort.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the pool or first floor rooms which opens to the back waters and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poovar Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poovar Island Resort

Address: K.P. VII / 911 Pozhiyoor, Puvar 695 513, India
Location: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Puvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poovar Island Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped in serene Kerala backwaters, flanked by the Arabian Sea on the East and the majestic towering Ghats to the West, opening out to the ocean and a dream golden beach, Poovar Island Resort is a tropical paradise. Swaying coconut palms, endless golden sands, the ultramarine of the ocean, emerald backwaters, crimson sunsets and lush green vegetation create a magical ambiance around you. It is the ideal remote getaway location for a quiet holiday in spectacular natural surroundings. You can choose between floating cottages and land cottages for accommodation and enjoy a boat cruise along the palm-fringed shores of bewitching backwaters.Poovar Island Resort has 78 cottages offering a range of accommodation options. 56 rooms can be used as triples. The bathrooms come equipped with Jacuzzis, bathtubs or rain showers. 48 rooms come with a hammock in the terrace.(78 rooms - 39 Land Cottages, 10 Ayurveda Land Cottages, 05 Superior Land Cottages, 08 Premium Cottages, 12 Floating Cottages & 04 Ayurveda Floating Cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Poovar Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poovar Island Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Hotel Poovar Island
Poovar Trivandrum
Poovar Island Resort Kerala/Puvar, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poovar Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.