We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Joy Of Doing Absolutely Nothing.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poovar Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Poovar Island Resort to your Saves list
Poovar Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   K.P. VII / 911 Pozhiyoor, Puvar 695 513, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Joy Of Doing Absolutely Nothing.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had zeroed in for our family holiday @ Poovar Island Resort based on word of mouth from a couple of references.

We split up the holiday into both the Premium cottages as well as Land Cottages. Both are very good rooms - though the Premium Cottage didn't seem to justify the price tag associated. Could not make the full use of the Jacussi in Premium Cottages due to a foul smell coming from the water of the Jacussi @ certain times (which maybe due to the tide of the sea). The balcony in the cottages are good.

The resort is the ideal place to relax, relax and relax. The property is very vast and very well maintained by the dedicated staff. The strategic placing of hammocks, Mango orchards, the kids play area, Yoga centre, Gymnasium, Swimming Pool. Well, there is something for everyone!!


The security was also good - but they could do with more signages in the facility. The staff is very co-operative and tries their best to meet the requirements - be it food, housekeeping or travel arrangements. Thumbs up to their efforts!

The options in food as well as quality could be a tad better.

Accessibility to the resort is via boat only. So plan your trips out of Poovar (if any) accordingly.

Overall - very good experience for us who were looking to be amidst nature and do just nothing!!

Room Tip: Most of the ground floor land cottages have hammocks. So if that is a criteria, check that out Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    220
    90
    44
    48
See reviews for
226
254
20
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

On a lazy Sunday afternoon we landed at Trivandrum airport to attend our six day annual sales meeting of Sun Pharma at Poovar Island resort. A drive through beautiful palm fringed road brought us to the welcome area (jetty) of Poovar Island resort to enter the Paradise of god’s own country.
We were quickly transferred to the Resort through a motorboat. The heavenly experience of the 15 min. boat ride through the beautiful backwaters was amazing. The resort is located on a beautiful island facing the poovar beach. It offers a perfect blend of the serenity of the backwaters and the stirring of the sea. For a moment, we forgot that we are on a business trip. The motorboat ride is available every 30 min. which can connect you to the main land as well to the beautiful beach.
After a warm welcome at the reception we were smoothly checked in to this lovely abode where we were going to spend a week. The cottages are spacious, neat and clean. Each cottage has a balcony and a hammock where you can relax and enjoy the refreshing breeze from the sea. The bathrooms had basic toiletries, the water however is salty. The cottages are tastefully built to create a good landscape across the resort. They also have other facilities such as Ayurveda village, swimming pool, etc.
Although, it’s an ideal destination for Honeymooners, they are also well equipped for corporate meetings. We had sales meetings for 2 groups of 50 & 32 people each. The A/C conference hall is spacious enough to organize a corporate event for approx. 150-200 people. Although the A/C was not functioning on the first day due to some technical issue, it was rectified for the remaining days. The hall is well equipped with a stage, podium, LCD projector and screen. Their sales head – Mr. Sajay and his entire staff ensured that we have a smooth and comfortable meeting, promptly responding to all our needs.
You can relish on the mouth-watering Kerala cuisines (especially if you are non-vegetarian), although it becomes repetitive when you stay longer (as we did). However, the special kerala lunch served on the plantain leaf was awesome.
This beautiful resort at the serene location with warm hospitality and professional management made our business trip a truly memorable one. I am looking forward to visit this place again…but this time as a leisure traveller.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We made a last minute decision to try out Poovar Backwaters during our stay in Kovalam and decided on staying in Floating Houseboats in Poovar Island Resort. We called directly the sales team and were promptly helped by 'Vivek' and we selected the package with all meals included.

The place is just 20 kms from Kovalam, you need to Park your car at the Jetty station and take the boat for 10 mins to reach the Resort. The location is beautiful with Backwaters meeting the sea and you can hear the sea waves from the rooms. The Check-in was smooth, staff was cordial, we directly went to the restaurant and loved the spicy local cuisines. The menu/food is good and Breakfast also has live Egg/Dosa counters. The floating houseboat was spacious and clean and nicely done. You experience peaceful silence with back doors facing the lovely clean beach occupied on one side by local fishermen; this can be scary though especially at night. The property had good space with kids play area, swimming pool, activity centre and some hammocks around the trees.

The only issue was we requested Dinner to be served in the room and were told it can only be served in restaurant as it was part of package! I called the reception and the guy was rude. Finally I called the sales guy 'Vivek' and all was ok.

You must experience the Backwaters ride and visit the Beach which is clean and beautiful. The waters can be rough and we did not see any one trying to take a dip.

Overall good stay with small hitch!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trichy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Isolated beautiful place for relaxation. It is well suited for couples and people wanting some rest. The rooms were clean, spacious and neat. But getting to this place is a bit difficult. The beach is also really good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Best stay one can get in Poovar... best place for honeymooners...Very good staff..you can book premium land cottage. Rooms were clean.Washroom was very big in size.. best part was balcony..
This property is highly recommended for honeymooners..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kollam, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

hi guys...it was a great 1 day holiday for me and family at Poovar island resort.
getting to the resort is the most difficult part of it since its out of town...but once u reach there, its a great hideaway place :)...staff has been so welcoming to us....rooms are clean...n the best part was we got a deluxe floating cottage for around 6.5k including food...which was a good deal...
there is a lot of place to walk around n spend time around of the resort...kids will find it even better to keep walking in a knee height water...

Room Tip: I suggest u shud ask for deluxe floating cottage....its really worth...land cottages might not give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed 1st two weeks in March. The weather was fantastic. The hotels food was brilliant curries to english fayre. We stayed in a land cottage room212 lovely size with a great view. I would like to thank staff members the head chef the guest relations guy sham the pool man and all the waiting staff they were brilliant. Overall if u want to chill out eat good food with a few beers this the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poovar Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poovar Island Resort

Address: K.P. VII / 911 Pozhiyoor, Puvar 695 513, India
Location: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poovar Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped in serene Kerala backwaters, flanked by the Arabian Sea on the East and the majestic towering Ghats to the West, opening out to the ocean and a dream golden beach, Poovar Island Resort is a tropical paradise. Swaying coconut palms, endless golden sands, the ultramarine of the ocean, emerald backwaters, crimson sunsets and lush green vegetation create a magical ambiance around you. It is the ideal remote getaway location for a quiet holiday in spectacular natural surroundings. You can choose between floating cottages and land cottages for accommodation and enjoy a boat cruise along the palm-fringed shores of bewitching backwaters.Poovar Island Resort has 78 cottages offering a range of accommodation options. 56 rooms can be used as triples. The bathrooms come equipped with Jacuzzis, bathtubs or rain showers. 48 rooms come with a hammock in the terrace.(78 rooms - 39 Land Cottages, 10 Ayurveda Land Cottages, 05 Superior Land Cottages, 08 Premium Cottages, 12 Floating Cottages & 04 Ayurveda Floating Cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Poovar Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poovar Island Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Hotel Poovar Island
Poovar Trivandrum
Poovar Island Resort Kerala/Puvar, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poovar Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.