We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Poovar Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Poovar Island Resort to your Saves list
Poovar Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   K.P. VII / 911 Pozhiyoor, Puvar 695 513, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Lucknow, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Well my husband and I hail from Mangalore, so the sea side was not new to us. So the wow factor in terms of living on an "island" was never there. But going by the tariff a l ot was expected of the place. Few cons:
Hot water in small quantities even thought we had a Jacuzzi in the room. we had to fill it by waiting in intervals.
As soon as we entered the room wanted to order room service. The phone was not working.
The door lock was jammed.
Major language issue, the servers don't know anything else other than Malayalam.
Decent food at the restaurant.
They mixed us up with some other couple and falsely told us that the food is free for three days.
These are few things that come to mind. Believe me there were many. Please avoid at all costs!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poovar_gm, General Manager at Poovar Island Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are distressed to note that we have failed to provide you the expected experience. I have no excuses to offer, but certainly believe that we have not been able to fulfill the promised experience on this occasion.

Please may I also request you to provide us your contact details to enable us get in touch with you.

Kind Regards
jaykumar
General Manager
M.09895095883
E: gm.poovar@aitkenspencehotels.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    199
    80
    42
    44
See reviews for
202
225
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed in Poovar for 2 days and our stay was awesome. This is a place where you can enjoy both the backwaters and the sea. Resort is well maintained, food was ok ( could not find anything authentic Kerala style ). Overall a great place, will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Though we live in trivandrum a keralite ,myself, I take the sight and sound and food of Kerala by granted. We were two families to visit Island Resort at Poovar, near Trivandrum, India. They stay and food were very good and we enjoyed every moment of our stay at the resort. We had to depend on a boat provided by the resort to reach the beach across the creek and had to return by ^ o cloak but no complains.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Ismier, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Located on a island insulated from the mainland by a mangrove populated with beautiful birds, the Poovar Island resort is a best kept secret in Kerala. It provides most comfortable accommodations (the rooms has surprisingly huge and nice bath rooms) in a lush vegetation park, with two swimming pools and all it takes to rest and relax with or without children.
The Ayurveda center attracts demanding Indian and International visitors (I met several of them from Germany) who can undergo a full therapy, combining oil massages, yoga and meditation, swimming and exercise, and rejuvenating medical treatment in complement.
I warmly recommend this resort where I stayed two days only at the end of August 2013, regretting not being able to stay longer this time. I look forward to come back at the earliest opportunity.

Room Tip: Chose a larger floating bungalow as the smaller ones may be a little bit narrow if you carry several...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poovar_gm, General Manager at Poovar Island Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

It pleases us to receive such a gratifying feedback during your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your comments on our efficient service, delectable cuisines and the overall hospitality received at our Resort.

We have shared your comments with the entire team and it has been a great source of inspiration.

We appreciate your recommendation's of our resort and look forward to welcome you in Poovar Island Resort .

Kind Regards,
Jaykumar
M.09895095883
E.gm.poovar@aitkenspencehotels.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Poovar Island Resort is a great property in terms of location and economy. Scenic because it is off the mainland, and one needs to take the hotel boat to reach - its a 10 min backwater type of experience! The floating cottages looked great but some people may not be able to take the sea smell when the tide recedes...the property is lovely and one can spend the day at the hammocks by the sea and then take the hotel boat to the beach. The best part of the resort is the Ayurveda Massage Centre. The staff are very good and the ambiance of the Centre just blows the mind! It is also great value for money. The restaurant food is good.
The management could do more to increase the indoor games and beach games facilities as well as clean up parts of the property.
While the resort is rated 3/5 for me, what made it awesome was the Ayurveda facility.
A great getaway!

Room Tip: Any room is worth it though one could try the Ayurveda Village cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poovar_gm, General Manager at Poovar Island Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Poovar Island Resort Family !

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us on trip advisor community .

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guest's enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us .

Your feed back is very motivating and inspires the team to strive harder towards excellence .

We greatly Value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Poovar Island Resort soon .

Kind Regards

Jaykumar
General Manager
Poovar Island Resort
Mob: 09895095883
gm.poovar@aitkenspencehotels.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The boat ride to and back was really good, although there was a long wait, it was fully worth. I went with my friends for lunch and tea. The staff were friendly and polite. My friends knew what they were ordering but the food were amazing. I will definitely stay there on my next visit to Kerala. The Poovar Island Resort is beautiful and is a true Trivandrum experience. i can't wait to get there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poovar_gm, General Manager at Poovar Island Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Poovar Island Resort Family !

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us on trip advisor community .

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guest's enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful on your day trip with us .

We greatly Value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Poovar Island Resort soon .

Kind Regards

Jaykumar
General Manager
Poovar Island Resort
Mob: 09895095883
gm.poovar@aitkenspencehotels.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in this resort for 2 days. For reaching this resort, you have to travel by boat(around 10 minute travel time) which Resort management runs at every half an hour(from morning 7 till evening 7). Even before reaching this place, we were very happy by the scenic natural beauty around it. Best option to stay there is floating cottage. There are a lot of land cottages also available there which some people may prefer. Restaurant was very good in terms of food quality and options. Beach is just in front of resort, separated by a water stream and during evening time resort management provides boat to go to beach as well. We also tried kerala massage there and their ayurveda village is really huge with some 27 cottages specially reserved for people who come for such therapies(they offer discounted rates for such cottages).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poovar_gm, General Manager at Poovar Island Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us . Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor community .

We are delighted to read your fantastic review and sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our resort, restaurant and services.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team who were delighted to note that their efforts were so well recognized. Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of great inspiration and will encourage us to strive for even higher standards of service.

I thank you once again for your compliments on our resort and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Kind Regards
Jaykumar
General Manager
E:gm.poovar@aitkenspencehotels.in
T:+919895095883
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Poovar Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poovar Island Resort

Address: K.P. VII / 911 Pozhiyoor, Puvar 695 513, India
Location: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poovar Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped in serene Kerala backwaters, flanked by the Arabian Sea on the East and the majestic towering Ghats to the West, opening out to the ocean and a dream golden beach, Poovar Island Resort is a tropical paradise. Swaying coconut palms, endless golden sands, the ultramarine of the ocean, emerald backwaters, crimson sunsets and lush green vegetation create a magical ambiance around you. It is the ideal remote getaway location for a quiet holiday in spectacular natural surroundings. You can choose between floating cottages and land cottages for accommodation and enjoy a boat cruise along the palm-fringed shores of bewitching backwaters.Poovar Island Resort has 78 cottages offering a range of accommodation options. 56 rooms can be used as triples. The bathrooms come equipped with Jacuzzis, bathtubs or rain showers. 48 rooms come with a hammock in the terrace.(78 rooms - 39 Land Cottages, 10 Ayurveda Land Cottages, 05 Superior Land Cottages, 08 Premium Cottages, 12 Floating Cottages & 04 Ayurveda Floating Cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Poovar Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poovar Island Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Hotel Poovar Island
Poovar Trivandrum
Poovar Island Resort Kerala/Puvar, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poovar Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.